[DISCUSSION] Patch WMC to run on Windows 10 final & possible alternatives

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by ricktendo64, May 8, 2015.

  1. Gareth North

    Gareth North MDL Junior Member

    Jan 27, 2016
    67
    21
    0
  2. kryger1961

    kryger1961 MDL Novice

    Nov 26, 2015
    3
    0
    0
    Hi Gareth

    Thanks for posting this, it's about time for me to change design on WMC.

    Best regards
    Michael
     
  3. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
  4. paulsk58

    paulsk58 MDL Novice

    Jan 25, 2009
    30
    4
    0
  5. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    Looks like I need to re-enable my insider updates!

    Can I ask which other versions you tried? Did you try V13 with the workarounds?

    It is interesting that it is kernelbase because we've seen issues with that when metadata downloading is enabled in WMC.
     
  6. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    HMMM, same error about kernelbase for me I'm afraid.
     
  7. paulsk58

    paulsk58 MDL Novice

    Jan 25, 2009
    30
    4
    0
    I know you are smarter than I regarding WMC, I hope you can shed some light on this.
     
  8. Carl Schneider

    Carl Schneider MDL Novice

    Aug 24, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Hello All, I'm new here but possibly this is an easy one? I have a Win 7/64 setup that I use as a CD jukebox with WMC. I love it and wanted to make another for some travel use. I bought a Dell laptop and put a 7/64 image on it and installed my WAV files and to my dismay MS stopped giving album art for it just a few weeks before. After some consideration I updated it to 10/64 and then the album art appeared in WMPlayer. I have done everything I can see mentioned here (I'm not a programmer) but I still have an issue. WMC starts fine and if I run a slide show of images it works fine. If I load the Music section it starts to work and the art even shows up but I then get a "Windows Media Center Has Stopped Working" pop-up and it shuts down. Any thoughts?
     
  9. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
  10. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    137
    9
    10
    #9591 Bigal, Aug 25, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
    Im running winver 1903 18632.295 which was updated from 1809
    im using 8.8.3, i have manually updated the dll's and may have some other tweeks from earlier versions like fix thumbnails, ehtray and systray in the startup leftover from the previous windows ver.
    I had the same problem and I don't like having artwork disabled as it doesn't download movie info.
    Try installing the latest ver of ModernMedia.UI+.Setup.1.1.3 you can uninstall it afterwards
     
  11. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    @Bigal, I don't understand.

    Are you saying that 8.8.3 doesn't crash when you have download artwork enabled but 8.8.4 does?

    I've had this problem on every version of WMC since Windows 10 1709.
     
  12. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    137
    9
    10
    #9593 Bigal, Aug 25, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
    I thought i was clear in my post, I have edited it, hope its clearer.
    i haven't tried 8.8.4 because 8.8.3 works for me
    Let me know if you want more info, like file versions ect, be specific on exactly what you want
     
  13. WkWk

    WkWk MDL Novice

    Aug 14, 2016
    6
    1
    0
    Hi all,
    as a long time media centre user the last windows update was the last straw...
    I thought I'd share that after testing alternatives media portal was the way forward it's simple enough that non tech users can use it. Thought I'd share it as my last post on here before signing off to wmc
     
  14. savman

    savman MDL Novice

    May 12, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    I tried not running in full screen and also tried jcf launcher. It seemed to make the problem worse.

    Anyone else having this issue? It's strange it's only happening on 2 HD channels out of 5.
     
  15. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    I assume you have tried all the workarounds - upgrading/downgrading graphics driver, changing high dpi settings, disabling game mode, focus assist, full screen optimisation, enabling compatibility modes, copying ehome to different folder?

    None of these work for me on the one PC that has problems but other people say they do.
     
  16. savman

    savman MDL Novice

    May 12, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    I've tried it all appart from running ehome from another folder. I'll try that
     
  17. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    #9598 technodevotee, Aug 31, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2019
    Yeah, having re-enabled insider updates, my testbed went to 18963 and then to 18970.1001 and it is exactly the same.

    Worrying because read somewhere that 18363 is the next RTM so I guess it is time to lock down all the other PCs!
     
  18. Gareth North

    Gareth North MDL Junior Member

    Jan 27, 2016
    67
    21
    0
  19. Fudsey

    Fudsey MDL Novice

    Dec 12, 2015
    41
    0
    0
    #9600 Fudsey, Sep 2, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019