[DISCUSSION] Patch WMC to run on Windows 10 final & possible alternatives

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by ricktendo64, May 8, 2015.

  1. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    #9701 technodevotee, Oct 2, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2019

    I don't want to use ModernMedia UI.

    I didn't ask for more details because I don't play music or DVDs with WMC (or Media Player for that matter) so it doesn't matter to me whether metadata downloads are on or off. I've also been pretty busy with other things.

    However, as part of my investigations into all the issues that people have, I have tried it with every recent version of Windows 10 (including 32bit) and every version of those DLLs I have. My conclusion was that replacing the DLLs made no difference. In any case, I don't believe that the DLLs we are changing are used for music, only for video.
     
  2. Malle Pietje

    Malle Pietje MDL Novice

    Oct 6, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Thank you, thank you, thank you ^1000
     
  3. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    137
    9
    10
    #9703 Bigal, Oct 9, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019
    the last windows update has broken live tv and recorded file playback in WMC, WMP is ok. WMC still recorded ok.
    on my system the following were changed to c:\windows\system32\CPFilters.dll 10.0.18362.418 & MSVidCtl.dll 6.5.16299.15
    I used wmc_multi_tool.cmd and close option 1 but it only replaced 1 file, CPFilters.dll .
    This worked though, thanks again technodevotee
    how come it only replaced 1 fille?
     
  4. Kévin Chalet

    Kévin Chalet MDL Novice

    Apr 11, 2019
    36
    20
    0
    The KB4517389 was installed on my machine yesterday and I can confirm the CPFilters.dll in System32 was updated. Luckily, it has no impact on those who use 8.8.4 (that embeds its own copy of CPFilters.dll).
     
  5. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    #9705 technodevotee, Oct 10, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2019
    @Kévin Chalet, I am using 8.8.4 on one of my PCs with the DLLs you provide in ehome and the latest versions of DLL in system32. A recent update broke WMC and I had to roll back CPFilters in system32 to fix it. Others have reported similar problems.

    What I don't understand is why it is different for different people? Maybe it depends on what came before?

    @Bigal, You are still using V8.8.3 aren't you?

    But are you are still using the original version of WMC Multi Tool?

    The latest WMC Multi Tool only replaces one DLL at a time so you know what fixed it.
     
  6. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    137
    9
    10
    @Kévin Chalet , thanks for explaining.
    @technodevotee , yup im still on 8.8.3, I got your latest ver of WMC Multi Tool, thanks for the explanation, I only ran it once and WMC worked so I wont change the MSVidCtl.dll file.
     
  7. bootloop

    bootloop MDL Novice

    Jul 3, 2016
    17
    3
    0
    Ditto here for V8.8.3 one of my x64 machines, all others have V8.8.4. Can't recall what precisely i'd previously changed to keep WME running on it however it's fine with KB4517389 installed. Curiously Windows insisted on installing it again the next day for some reason.
    WinUpdates_Oct19.jpg
     
  8. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    I'm curious - Is there a reason you haven't updated that one to 8.8.4? I suspect that you will need to keep on replacing CPFilters.
     
  9. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    From what you posted, that DLL doesn't need replacing anyway.
     
  10. bootloop

    bootloop MDL Novice

    Jul 3, 2016
    17
    3
    0
    Pure laziness is the basic reason i guess. I'll update it eventually for sure but while it "ain't broke .....etc." ;)
     
  11. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    Sorry for my ignorance... I have a fresh copy of Windows 10 pro (all recent updates 1903) and installed WMC ver13. It installed ok but I dont see windows media center in my programs. Is this just a service pack? and do I need to get the base WMC program from somewhere?

    Thanks in advance
     
  12. bootloop

    bootloop MDL Novice

    Jul 3, 2016
    17
    3
    0
    @imkiwi
    You could use technodevotee 's tools to 'tune up' V13 (look for the link in his signature such as #9708 a few posts back) or if you're not too game to fiddle around just properly uninstall V13 using Uninstaller.cmd then install V8.8.4 by Kévin Chalet which has all the fixes built-in. You can find a link in his post #9486.
     
  13. jgmack

    jgmack MDL Novice

    Sep 10, 2015
    49
    1
    0
    Sorry for my ignorance... I have a fresh copy of Windows 10 pro (all recent updates 1903) and installed WMC ver13. It installed ok but I dont see windows media center in my programs. Is this just a service pack? and do I need to get the base WMC program from somewhere?

    Thanks in advance

    Did you search for "Media Center" Should be there. If so right click and run as administrator. Try looking in Windows Accessories.
     
  14. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    So 8.8.4 is a later version than V13?
     
  15. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    I did look both places and its not there. Sorry to bother you all.
     
  16. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    @imkiwi

    Both installers put a shortcut on the desktop and in Windows Accessories.

    V8.8.4 has the workarounds for most issues built in but it doesn't work for *everyone*.
    V13 has add-ons that can be run to workaround problems as they are encountered.
     
  17. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    Nope not there.
     
  18. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    I was unable to find a version of 8.8.4 32bit and V13 didn't create any shortcut on desk top or anything under windows accessories Does anyone have a step by step for installing WMC on fresh copy of Windows 10 1903?
     
  19. imkiwi

    imkiwi MDL Novice

    Jul 12, 2019
    8
    2
    0
    Could not find article
     
  20. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    250
    47
    10
    #9720 technodevotee, Oct 16, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019
    The only version of WMC that will install on 32bit Windows 10 after 1803 is the one I created and named V13.

    I have installed it a dozen or so times and it always creates a shortcut on the Desktop and in Windows accessories and I haven't had anyone else tell me that they don't have any shortcuts.

    There is no need for a step by step guide. You run Installer.cmd and use one of the shortcuts to launch it. If there are no shortcuts then I reckon there must be something wrong with your Windows installation or where you put the installer (path is too long).

    Try running c:\windows\ehome\ehshell.exe and if that works, create a shortcut to it by right clicking the file and choosing send to, desktop (Create Shortcut).