[DISCUSSION] Patch WMC to run on Windows 10 final & possible alternatives

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by ricktendo64, May 8, 2015.

  1. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    What file type are you talking about when you say movies?

    Does it still refuse to play them from within WMC?
     
  2. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10082 Bigal, Jun 20, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    I have a folder called Movies, which contains all my movies recorded from tv over the years, all in individual named folders... 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003), containing 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003).dvdid.xml, 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003).wtv / 2 Fast 2 Furious (2003).dvr-ms, some are named with Part 1 / part at the end, folder.jpg, some have movie.nfo in them
    they play eventually ater the hang goes, just after the first initial try when opening WMC
    i only have
    fix_thumbnails
    replace_dlls
     
  3. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    When did you download that then?
     
  4. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    15/06/2019
     
  5. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    there's been quite a few changes since then :)
     
  6. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10086 Bigal, Jun 20, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    you should name them with.1.2.3 etc then lol, there's me thinking i got the latest version.
    I just downloaded from your link again and i can see the other files.
    ty
    Any difference from what i have installed?
    i just saw the changes in this version file
    any point in me using this one?
     
  7. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    The only things that have changed are the install script and the add-ons. The core files are still the V12 ones so I don't do version numbers.

    Anyway, people seem to know when I've changed anything because I seem to I get a whole load of downloads afterward. I assume they must be using some sort of version tracker?

    I just tell everyone to download it again - same with all my add-ons and tools.
     
  8. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    :):) I try to keep reading this thread and must have missed it, even though i use 8.8.4, i still try to get the latest versions of things and keep the old ones just in case.
    i didn't know if i "the changes in this version file" was referring to from v12 or the last v13
     
  9. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    I do update the 'changes in this version' file when there's a functional change but there hasn't been anything like that recently - just correcting typos/semantics and adding a few words of warning.
     
  10. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    :):)
    Does anyone know if this can be done using shark007?
     
  11. j.c.f.

    j.c.f. MDL Junior Member

    Mar 1, 2016
    99
    9
    0
    #10091 j.c.f., Jun 20, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    Maybe your previous recordings are the cause of the problems, I periodically have to kill hung WMC processes, prime one being ehvid.exe:
    rem kill process likely to interfere with synctoy when they touch recordings

    taskkill /F /IM mcGlidHost.exe
    taskkill /F /IM ehvid.exe
    taskkill /F /IM ehome.exe
    sc stop ehsched

    tasklist /fi "imagename eq ehvid.exe" | find ":" > nul
    if errorlevel 1 goto didntkill
    pause
    exit

    : didntkill

    echo appears we didn't actually kill the video analysis proceccess(es), perhaps run as admin otherwise manually kill 'em
    pause
     
  12. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10092 Bigal, Jun 20, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    They all play ok after the first hang, when i say hang, i mean WMC stays busy with the ring for a couple of mins, then its ok after, i didn't have that on 8.8.4
    I used to use a little program called killtask :)
     
  13. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    did you roll back system32\cpfilters.dll at any point?
     
  14. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10094 Bigal, Jun 20, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2020
    no, i didnt think i needed to as i wasnt having the problems associated with it
    "WMC may crash when trying to watch Live TV or play recorded TV."

     
  15. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    WMC has started hanging again when canceling a scheduled program from 1m to 1m30s
    it was good whilst it lasted and back to what im used to
    i haven't done anything to windows since installing WMC
    whan i am in the mood, i will do a clean install of windows and not make any changes to it and change things bit by bit, will mean not having a usable system for a while :mad:
    thanks for all yr help

    edit
    its back to normal again?????
     
  16. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    so let me get this straight.
    you can't play movies from movies in WMC so you go into explorer and click play with WMC and it takes a couple of minutes to start playing

    is this with WMC open or shut down?
    does the same thing happen when you play dvr-ms files?
    is the delay starting to play the same amount of time that WMC freezes when you delete recordings from the schedule?
     
  17. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10097 Bigal, Jun 21, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2020
    i can play movies from WMC, after the first try and waiting. don't need to go to file explorer, just have to wait for WMC, only for the first time after opening WMC.
    only happens the first time i try, doesnt matter what type of file, dvr-ms, wtv
     
  18. technodevotee

    technodevotee MDL Senior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    395
    68
    10
    Sounds like it is loading/reading the database to me.

     
  19. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    i did some timing

    no opened programs, closed WMC every time, no problems after letting WMC play a movie.

    defragged
    windows.edb 136mb
    mcepg3-0.db 197mb
    tvthumb.db 147mb

    SSD & HDD indexing off
    indexing options
    freshly rebuilt and only WMC listed
    102,751 items

    playing any movie .DVR-MS or SD/HD.WTV
    play 4 mins
    restart 6:30
    resume 6:20

    deleting a scheduled recording
    avg 9 secs

    opening schedule after watching a movie 2:36 - 4:40
     
  20. Bigal

    Bigal MDL Member

    Mar 4, 2011
    206
    13
    10
    #10100 Bigal, Jun 22, 2020
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2020
    Found the problem, long story short
    I deleted all 1357 dvdid.xml files from the movie directorys to the recycle bin and movies now play straight away in WMC
    now got to figure out what's the cause...
    not permissions
    not corrupt files, deleted first half, then restored them and deleted the last half, no change
    if i restore anymore than 20, the delay starts
    22, took 2 secs
    58, took 2 secs
    59, took 6 secs
    60, took 6 secs
    62, took 5 secs
    65, took 6 secs
    79, took 10 secs