[DISCUSSION] Windows 10 Build 10240

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by murphy78, Jul 15, 2015.

  1. cuteee

    cuteee MDL Guru

    Oct 13, 2012
    4,232
    592
    150
  2. Yasser Da Silva

    Yasser Da Silva MDL Addicted

    Mar 15, 2015
    523
    2,563
    30
    It's not a feature, it's a bug and it is Fixed in later Preview builds

    the first line is special (it's a separate code) this what explains that you can't resize it and you can't change the other lines shortcuts.
     
  3. cuteee

    cuteee MDL Guru

    Oct 13, 2012
    4,232
    592
    150
    It didn't fixed in build 10532.
     
  4. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    424
    64
    10
    I downloaded this Windows 10 ISO SHA1: 0053B7A8E2CFAF3E553AB1E3A344B1C0AF48B1B6
    & mounted it on a virtual drive, but the name on the virtual drive was just "Windows" !
    I wanted to change its name to "Windows_10_AIO_x86_x64" So I opened Ultra ISO and changed it, and mounted the iso on the virtual drive, now it shows "Windows_10_AIO_x86_x64" on it.

    But now when I checked its SHA1, its changed to "SHA1:f8199a42c7a50a20b7619ea1e87c6ba84926ade4" ! o_O
    Is this normal ?
     
  5. xinso

    xinso MDL Guru

    Mar 5, 2009
    4,248
    5,523
    150
    #8787 xinso, Sep 13, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    The image in created ISO may be in .esd or .wim. They are compressed with recovery parameter nontheless.

    Firstly open the Windows.iso with Windows explorer, and it will be mounted to a Drive letter. e.g. X:

    To view:

    x86
    install.wim (actually it is compressed in esd format)
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:X:\x86\sources\install.wim
    
    部署映像服務與管理工具
    版本: 10.0.10240.16384
    
    映像詳細資料: X:\x86\sources\install.wim
    
    索引 : 1
    名稱 : Windows 10 Pro
    描述 : Windows 10 Pro
    大小 : 9,343,966,034 個位元組
    
    操作順利完成。
    
    C:\windows\system32>
    x64 install.wim (actually it is compressed in esd format)
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:X:\x64\sources\install.wim
    
    部署映像服務與管理工具
    版本: 10.0.10240.16384
    
    映像詳細資料: X:\x64\sources\install.wim
    
    索引 : 1
    名稱 : Windows 10 Pro
    描述 : Windows 10 Pro
    大小 : 13,736,528,128 個位元組
    
    操作順利完成。
    
    C:\windows\system32>
    To export:

    x86
    install.wim to 32.wim
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:X:\x86\sources\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:D:\32.wim /compress:Max /CheckIntegrity
    
    部署映像服務與管理工具
    版本: 10.0.10240.16384
    
    正在匯出映像
    [==========================100.0%==========================]
    操作順利完成。
    
    C:\windows\system32>
    x64 install.wim to 64.wim
    Code:
    C:\windows\system32>dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:X:\x64\sources\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:D:\64.wim /compress:Max /CheckIntegrity
    
    部署映像服務與管理工具
    版本: 10.0.10240.16384
    
    正在匯出映像
    [==========================100.0%==========================]
    操作順利完成。
    
    C:\windows\system32>
    [Note]
    1. For detailed information on dism usage, please use command dism /?
    2. Personally I delete both install.wim in Windows.iso, and save as AIO.iso for future use.
    3.
    Usually, to prevent confusing, I export x86 install.esd/install.wim to 32.wim, and x64 to 64.wim.
    4. For one image, we can use 32.wim/64.wim. For AIO, there should be more images. SO we had better rename them respectively. e.g.

    x86

    32Cor.wim
    32Edu_Ret.wim
    32Edu_N_RET.wim
    32Edu_VOL.wim
    32Edu_N_VOL.wim
    32Ent.wim
    32Ent_N.wim
    32Ent_LTSB.wim
    32Ent_LTSB_N.wim
    32Pro_RET.wim
    32Pro_N_RET.wim
    32Pro_VOL.wim
    32Pro_N_VOL.wim

    x64

    64Cor.wim
    64Edu_Ret.wim
    64Edu_N_RET.wim
    64Edu_VOL.wim
    64Edu_N_VOL.wim
    64Ent.wim
    64Ent_N.wim
    64Ent_LTSB.wim
    64Ent_LTSB_N.wim
    64Pro_RET.wim
    64Pro_N_RET.wim
    64Pro_VOL.wim
    64Pro_N_VOL.wim
     
  6. zmeul86

    zmeul86 MDL Member

    Jun 17, 2014
    164
    62
    10
    Thank you very much master xinso !
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,577
    536
    120
    The first column can't be resized.
     
  8. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,990
    7,148
    240
    Yes, Mr. da Silva pointed that out just yesterday and now I'm confused why the lines below can be resized - it makes no sense to me and I think it is an unwanted bug though.
     
  9. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    424
    64
    10
    How can we change the inside name of the iso without changing the iso's SHA, MD5 file code ?
    :g:
     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,704
    15,944
    340
    You can't; it is part of the ISO itself so any change will result in new hash.
     
  11. jime1

    jime1 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2011
    424
    64
    10
    :(So... will that be OK ? cuz nothing else was changed, just the puny name..
     
  12. Bakersfield

    Bakersfield MDL Junior Member

    Feb 7, 2012
    69
    5
    0
    #8794 Bakersfield, Sep 22, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Could someone then help clear something up.

    If there are infact VL iso's available on msdn, what is the purpose/difference of having VLSC versions?

    If VL Iso's are available through msdn, whats the point of duplicating via the VLSC platform?
     
  13. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,990
    7,148
    240
    VL versions are no more available on MSDN except enterprise. MS has changed policy upon their distribution of that kind of files, so they do it only on VLS channels now
     
  14. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,577
    536
    120
    Is MSDN not supposed to be mainly for partners rather than the general public? I won't be surprised to see volume license removed from other versions other than Enterprise.
     
  15. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,990
    7,148
    240

    MSDN is for subscribers of any kind. You can select your level of subscription upon your leisure and load what ever you want if it shows available on the site for you. Volume customers are treated otherwise spending funds over to Redmond :D
     
  16. Bakersfield

    Bakersfield MDL Junior Member

    Feb 7, 2012
    69
    5
    0
    Okay - so to use MTK - what type of office release/version would someone have to source?
     
  17. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,990
    7,148
    240

    any office 2013 can be loaded in x-files, see sig
     
  18. Druboo_666

    Druboo_666 MDL Novice

    Jul 7, 2013
    21
    2
    0
    i have these issue
    ht.t.p://s12.postimg.org/fo533r8nh/Capture111.png (windows 8.1)
    ht.t.p://s12.postimg.org/kbb55iw0d/Capture.png (windows 10)
    can any one help me or give me a clue what wrong i cant post direct link because of post count