DIY: Server 2022 to workstation post install settings

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by damianfox, Nov 15, 2021.

  1. mhoude

    mhoude MDL Novice

    Oct 5, 2011
    27
    30
    0
    Ok thanks,

    I guess I can get the needed files via the uupdump page right ?
     
  2. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,056
    693
    60
    #185 acer-5100, Jan 15, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2022
    Computer Management / Manage / Management (whatever is called in your language) NOT Properties!

    You can also check Add remove programs ---> Windows features (server opens server manager)
     
  3. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
    Sorry. My mistake.
    Now it is working.:sorry:
     
  4. dorfd1

    dorfd1 MDL Member

    Sep 10, 2015
    202
    56
    10
    Where is the branding folder in windows?
     
  5. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
    C:Windows/Branding :)
     
  6. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
  7. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
    Does anyone know why on server 2022 - after switching to the client, writing on keyboard does not work for me?
    On server 22538 - everything works fine - the drivers are the same.
     
  8. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,056
    693
    60
    it was discussed earlier in this thread, from my quick test seem that not updated .1 images are unaffected. but i didn't investigate further

    BDW the problem is related to input.dll (see errors on eventviewer)
     
  9. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
    Can you fix it?
    Now I use a workaround - on the server I save what I need in the notepad - and after switching to the client - copy / paste. :roflmao:
    The mouse works.
    A bit funny - but you have to manage somehow.:roflmao:
     
  10. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,056
    693
    60
    Wait the problem we have observed was limited to cortana/search fields, not general.

    Easy to workaround using classic shell.
    Do you mean that keyboard is not working in general?
     
  11. zbigniew59

    zbigniew59 MDL Senior Member

    May 14, 2016
    277
    111
    10
    #197 zbigniew59, Jan 27, 2022
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2022
    Yes, keyboard is not working on the client, it works again after switching to the server.
    Keyboard on usb.
    Commands i need copy / paste to install the store. To install from the store I also have to copy / paste.
    Commands prepared as .txt on the server.
    Actually, I'm on the server all the time - so it doesn't bother that much - but I'd like the keyboard to work on the client as well. :)
    On the server 22xxxxx it works - no problem - on the server 2022 it does not work.
     
  12. acer-5100

    acer-5100 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2018
    1,056
    693
    60
    Frankly I did few tries replacing input dll with older versions and alike, and nothing helped

    Now I'm not on that build given i need the remotefx vgpu that ms removed after 1904x.868, I'll look again to it when I have more time but don't hold your breth

    P.S. perhaps the problem is there even building the client ISO using the "proper way"

    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/th...struction-project.80939/page-321#post-1719543

    So hardly the problem is due to a missing package
     
  13. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    486
    109
    10
    i suppose that's because the driver isn't installed in server
    switching sku won't change that
     
  14. maur0

    maur0 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 3, 2012
    69
    8
    0
    #200 maur0, Feb 5, 2022
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2022