DMI Boot CD for Award-AMI-Intel BIOS (Add SLP1.0 w/o modding)

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by 911medic, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    #1 911medic, Jul 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    Thanks this will be really handy:D
     
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
  4. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    Thanks for this 911Medic and Suicide Solution,

    Can I ask a couple of question? Let's says I tattoo the bios with HP SLP, later if I wanna tattoo with Asus string I just use this tool again over the previous tattooed bios or better I flash the original bios and then manual tattoo over the original ones?

    What the differences between Type 1, Type 2 and Type 3 (I refer to the 4th pic)?

    Thanks in advance.... and cheers to you all
     
  5. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    ASUS wil not work for this. It is not valid in DMI. You need to manually enter this. ASUS bios usually have one of two strings in already.


    If you enter ASUS_FLASH with this tool, it will not activate..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    Thanks guys for the information...
    So nobody ever tried to use this tool twice to enter string? Will it replace the tattooed string or add it so the bios get 2 SLP string?

    I guess I will try this tools when I get a chance :)
     
  8. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    I use it all the time. You can enter strings in all three sections, each a different string. You can tattoo the bios to emulate an HP Pavilion model of your choice. I have a bios with EMACHINES, Hewlett-Packard, GIGABYTE, and LENOVO for posterity..just for testing.

    You can put additional SLP strings in the model, etc. If you think, for whatever reason, you may want to use more than one oembios set or test cds..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    To be honest I haven't got a chance trying modding bios to add SLP for activating XP, just Vista until now. Since I know this site only a couple days ago and overwhelming of the information on it... I just try to catch up and read a lot of quality post that all of you guys wrote.

    I know that we can have multiple SLP 1.0 on BIOS, I just don't know how (like what is that section thing and mem address things) yet :p, and now you've provided a tool so I don't have to flash the bios anymore to add SLP it will be great for my learning process. And I thanked you guys for that :)

    So I will try this CD when I get a chance ;)

    Oh and one little tiny thing to make sure I get this right... Using this CD is 100% safe from bricking my mainboard right? cause its only tamper with DMI in bios?
     
  10. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,894
    1,780
    180
    #13 sebus, Jul 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Correct, ASUS_FLASH does NOT work in DMI area, BIOS needs to be modified (ie with Andy's tool)

    I have the explanation from some Pajero's reply:

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/9751

    For the case of ASUS, the address range is 0x000FC000 - 0x000FFFFF, and you have to put the string there. Unlike IBM or HP or Compaq, so far as ASUS goes, even if you input the string in "DMI Area" by using dmicfg.exe or dmi_b24.exe, SLP will never work. Because the DMI info is usually situated in the range of 0x000F0000 - 0x000F1000 or around there, depending on the kind of BIOS, but far lower than the valid range stated above.

    sebus
     
  11. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    #15 bgage, Jul 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    So only ASUS is different than the other brands? Then the FreeStyler's list of Asus address range is not correct? I'm more confuse now :confused:
     
  12. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Just know it doesnt work..There are many brands that do not work in DMI. Dell and MSI for two...:D:D

    If you have an ASUS board, you probably have at least one ASUS string in the bios..

    AMI bios are cake to modify for slp..Five minutes and done. AWARD are a bit harder, but still possible. Andy's tool will do most of them within a certain memory range. You can use the tools for either type to get the job done most of the time..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. ciscokid

    ciscokid MDL Member

    Jun 3, 2007
    219
    24
    10
    I use "Hewlett-Packard" (without the quotes), works every time because you can pretty much put the HP strings anywhere in the bios.

    To me, Dell is the hardest to get working. :(
     
  14. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Not with andy's tool..does the work for you. The only thing it doesn't do is flash it for you...Not to give him anymore ideas..LOL :D:cool:

    Any SLP with valid DMI value will work with SuicideSolution's disk..Dell does not qualify..:p

    I am very glad these tools are being used..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. ciscokid

    ciscokid MDL Member

    Jun 3, 2007
    219
    24
    10
    I want Andy's tool to flash the bios for me, install Windows and cook me some eggs in the mornin', lol. :p
     
  16. bgage

    bgage MDL Senior Member

    Jul 7, 2009
    421
    1
    10
    To sums it up.. whenever I want to put Asus, Dell and MSI better to use Andy's Tools but I had to flash the bios, and for most of the brand like Hewlett-Packard, GIGABYTE, and LENOVO using this CD to tattoo the BIOS on the fly...

    Thanks for the informations 911medic :)