ESD <> WIM Conversion batch

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by liliactr, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
    Use Win 8 or 8.1 setup files
    meaning, get win8/8.1 iso, delete install.wim and place your win7 install.esd
     
  2. mattew

    mattew MDL Member

    May 5, 2013
    106
    15
    10
    how can I change the message from windows 8 to windows 7 ? Thanks
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    7,184
    14,737
    240
  4. alshibly

    alshibly MDL Novice

    Apr 7, 2016
    3
    0
    0
    hi.
    every one.



    if %_source%==ESD if exist "%CD%\install.wim" goto :E_WIM
    echo ===============================================================================
    echo. Options:
    echo. 0 - Quit
    echo. 1 - Export 1st index
    if %images% gtr 1 echo. 2 - Export all indexes
    if %images% gtr 1 echo. 3 - Export single selected index
    if %images% gtr 2 echo. 4 - Export consecutive range of indexes
    if %_admin% equ 1 echo. 5 - Apply selected index to another drive
    echo =======================================================================


    is it possible if you could add another option above which I tried to do but I couldn't for example
    if want to select index 2 and 4 only or 1 and 3 only , not range.

    thanks
    best regards.
     
  5. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    32,889
    52,840
    450
    #85 Enthousiast, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
    You can do it one by one with the "export single selected index" option, as long as the target install.xxx is the same each run.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. alshibly

    alshibly MDL Novice

    Apr 7, 2016
    3
    0
    0
    Thanks. Enthousiast.
    I don't know if that will work in my case .
    You see
    I got Windows 10 image (install.wim) contained four indexs
    Index1, index 2 ,index 3 and index 4
    I want to export index2 and index4 to single Install.ESD .
     
  7. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
    #87 abbodi1406, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    copy install.wim next to convert.cmd
    open cmd prompt in the same directory (you can use the upper File menu)
    now execute:
    Code:
    bin\wimlib-imagex delete install.wim 1 --soft
    bin\wimlib-imagex delete install.wim 3 --soft
    now run convert.cmd and export all the remain indexes

    you also can use Gimagex to do the same job

    ---
    or if you want to preserve install.wim images, you can re-arrange the indexes
    Code:
    bin\wimlib-imagex export install.wim 2 install2.wim
    bin\wimlib-imagex export install.wim 4 install2.wim
    bin\wimlib-imagex export install.wim 1 install2.wim
    bin\wimlib-imagex export install.wim 3 install2.wim
    move /y install2.wim install.wim
    now run convert and export a range 1-2 or 3-4
     
  8. alshibly

    alshibly MDL Novice

    Apr 7, 2016
    3
    0
    0
    Thanks abbodi1406
    I used the delete method and it's worked .

    Thanks again .
     
  9. subido

    subido MDL Member

    Aug 14, 2013
    104
    19
    10
    Trying to convert wim to esd by using esd2wim-wim2esd on windows 7 64bit pc and always crashes. Always i try either by pasting install.wim inside the tools folder or when i try with the command prompt get error and cmd closes. Any alternative?
     
  10. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
    #90 abbodi1406, Apr 15, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    What crashes exactly? pc or cmd window?
    you could hold Shift + mouse rith click to open cmd window in the script folder, then execute:
    Code:
    bin\bin64\wimlib-imagex export install.wim all install.esd --compress=LZMS --solid
     
  11. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,785
    767
    60
    wimlib use one core to apply image
    its hit the 200mb per sec when applying
    is there a way to make it faster ?
     
  12. AsaadSoft

    AsaadSoft MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2015
    341
    92
    10
    #92 AsaadSoft, Jun 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2016
    hello people
    plz I need your help
    I'm trying to export install.wim to install.esd
    of a win8.1x64.iso downloaded from microsoft techbench (does have wim image)
    I'm running windows 8.1 x64 (4GB RAM) on my pc when i get this error also I tried on another pc with
    windows 7 sp1 x64 (4GB RAM) and same problem happens

    I tried with dism from ADK 10.0.10586 (latest adk from microsoft)
    dism /export-image /SourceImageFile:c:\Wim\install.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:c:\Esd\install.esd /Compress:recovery /CheckIntegrity


    then I tried with the tool provided here at scripting section (ESD2WIM-WIM2ESD-dism-2.7z)
    I got the same error exactly in 18% (Dism.exe stopped working)
    I tried with the tool ESD2WIM-WIM2ESD-5.zip which based on wimlib-imagex
    and also i got an error but not at 18%, sometimes after that and sometimes before

    for information I already did the same with win10_th2.iso both x64 & x86 and I didn't face any problems at all
    with dism, and also with win8.1x86.iso it worked perfectly with no issues
    also I tried with another version of win8.1.iso before (having esd image) and I did succesfully export install.esd to
    install.wim using dism and vice versa after unmounting the wim and no problem at all

    the problem happens only with this win8.1x64.iso frm techbench and only the x64 edition
    I don't know what's the problem, I'm going insane because
    of that for days now same problem over and over


    I checked the install.wim it's in good condition and using getwiminfo it's fine too

    what should I do plz ??

    screenshot: www2. 0zz0.com/2016/06/28/04/927126006.png (remove space after www2.)
     
  13. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
    #93 abbodi1406, Jun 28, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    check the wim file integrity
    open cmd in script directory, then execute:
    Code:
    bin\wimlib-imagex verify c:\Wim\install.wim
     
  14. 100

    100 MDL Expert

    May 17, 2011
    1,346
    1,557
    60
    Time to rule out a corrupt source file by verifying hashes.
     
  15. AsaadSoft

    AsaadSoft MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2015
    341
    92
    10
    #95 AsaadSoft, Jun 28, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    [WARNING] "c:\Wim\install.wim" does not contain integrity information. Skipping integrity check.
    Verifying metadata for image 1 of 1
    [ERROR] Failed to decompress data!627 MiB (73%) done

    ERROR: "c:\Wim\install.wim" failed verification!
    ERROR: Exiting with error code 2:
    Failed to decompress compressed data.

    that was the one I modified
    and for the one in the iso untouched

    ERROR: Exiting with error code 13:
    The WIM file is corrupted (failed integrity check).

    seems that the iso is corrupted and I have to download another one
     
  16. AsaadSoft

    AsaadSoft MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2015
    341
    92
    10
    yes I did a verify and the WIM file failed the integrity check
    I need to download a new iso
    anybody have a trusted torrent source for the latest rollup nov 2014 of windows 8.1 ??
     
  17. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
  18. AsaadSoft

    AsaadSoft MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2015
    341
    92
    10
    I redownload using a magnet link found in some post here
    thank you for help
    finally I converted the iso i downloaded to an iso with esd successfully

    is there a command to verify wim or esd images using dism ? and not wimlib-imagex ??
     
  19. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    11,453
    50,001
    340
    No

    only while exporting
     
  20. AsaadSoft

    AsaadSoft MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2015
    341
    92
    10

    you mean /checkintegrity ??
    is it useful ?
    because I used it when i had the problem and dism still was crashing !!