[FIX] Windows 10 1511 (TH2)/ 1607 (RS1) Isos-Edition Chooser Show UP

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by LightDestory, Nov 13, 2015.

  1. peck1234

    peck1234 MDL Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    115
    9
    10
    #21 peck1234, Nov 14, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2015
    Correct this applies only to certain machines "OEM" like Dell; that have a system key in the bios and thus will auto select home and bypass the screen. (also it could auto select pro depending on your bios)

    If you have a self built PC or a basic bios the RTM ISO will work as intended and give you a choice of Pro/Home.
     
  2. LightDestory

    LightDestory MDL Junior Member

    Apr 7, 2015
    76
    47
    0
    I used Pro because using the DISM tool the Index was Pro.

    I install this ISO many times but I never got the insert key form ._.

    I got Windows 10 Home installed and it was Activated.
    I got Windows 10 Pro installed and it was Activated.

    I got licence by upgrading from Win8.1 Pro to Win10 Pro-
     
  3. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,023
    3,371
    300
    Think this forum is going backwards we have had all this ei.cfg file discussion before :confused:
     
  4. MrG

    MrG MDL Expert

    May 31, 2010
    1,055
    303
    60
    #24 MrG, Nov 14, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2015
    This is a home built rig, its test rig 2
    It was a clean install after wiping the W10 b10240 RTM partition.
     
  5. LightDestory

    LightDestory MDL Junior Member

    Apr 7, 2015
    76
    47
    0
    This discussion is for win's install problem with a clean install... The EI.cfg file is a fix as others way (as example editing the iso's index)
     
  6. jpeni

    jpeni MDL Novice

    Oct 27, 2015
    3
    0
    0
    #26 jpeni, Nov 15, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2015
    ei.cfg does NOT work with Windows 10

    LightDestroy said:
    " TEST WITH ISO FROM MSDN... WORKING
    TEST WITH ISO FROM TECH BENCH... SOON"

    I tested ei.cfg with the Tech Bench iso - it did NOT work.
    Where do I get an MSDN version other than paying for a subscription on TechNet?

    Is the version created by the MediaCreationTool an MSDN version?

    What is the difference between the Tech Bench and the MSDN release?
     
  7. jpeni

    jpeni MDL Novice

    Oct 27, 2015
    3
    0
    0
    urie: I tried searching for ei.cfg before I added a new post, but the Search engine would NOT accept "ei.cfg" as a search option so I could NOT locate any earlier posts about ei.cfg. Plus I dont know if earlier posts would not address any ei.cfg issues with the TH2 release of Windows 10.
     
  8. DRSayedAbdElsalam

    DRSayedAbdElsalam MDL Junior Member

    Aug 25, 2015
    98
    24
    0
    Me too, Don,t have this problem with MSDN ISO, Unfortunately can,t upload image for you before 20 posts
     
  9. sr3tlaw

    sr3tlaw MDL Novice

    Jun 26, 2013
    37
    8
    0

    Alright I'm hella confused. I've got my hands on a Win 10 Pro "Multiple Edition" ISO. My simple goal is to take the ASUS laptop just purchased from Micro Center that came with Windows 10 Home and put Windows 10 Pro on it. I succesfully burned ISO to USB disk but no "Edition Chooser" popped up and nor is there an "ei.cfg" in the source folder.

    From what @peck1234 said, since this is in fact a consumer grade laptop it automatically installed the Home version (without the bloat that came with). Activating Win 7 Pro was a breeze with the toolkit.

    Can anyone school me on this
     
  10. shamu726

    shamu726 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 29, 2012
    51
    22
    0
    #31 shamu726, Nov 16, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
    Did u even read the first post? It clearly gives instructions. U can use software like UltraISO or PowerISO to edit the iso file.
     
  11. sr3tlaw

    sr3tlaw MDL Novice

    Jun 26, 2013
    37
    8
    0
    Yes I'm very aware. After I manually added the ei.cfg by creating a new text document under the source folder still shows installs home.
     
  12. shamu726

    shamu726 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 29, 2012
    51
    22
    0
    #34 shamu726, Nov 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Did u try:
    Code:
    [Channel]
    _Default
    
    [VL]
    0
     
  13. sr3tlaw

    sr3tlaw MDL Novice

    Jun 26, 2013
    37
    8
    0
    #35 sr3tlaw, Nov 16, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Just to be clear - I'm opening the USB via Windows Explorer which already has the bootable image on it, opening a new text file add the code you mentioned above, then saving it as ei.cfg meaning it will not be saved as a text file. Ultra ISO is giving me BS 300 MB trial limit.
     
  14. peck1234

    peck1234 MDL Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    115
    9
    10
    Correct. Drop ei.cfg in the sources folder. No need to edit the image if your using a usb installer. Just drop it in the folder.

    Also I would install windows 7 ultimate with daz loader then do an upgrade. That way you obtain a llegal activation.

    No bs KMS
     
  15. shamu726

    shamu726 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 29, 2012
    51
    22
    0
  16. Scor1pan

    Scor1pan MDL Junior Member

    Sep 18, 2015
    50
    4
    0
    win 7 ultimate > upgrADE then clean install afterwards?
     
  17. peck1234

    peck1234 MDL Member

    Jan 16, 2010
    115
    9
    10
    yessssir thats the way
     
  18. shoteye04

    shoteye04 MDL Junior Member

    Oct 17, 2014
    50
    5
    0
    #40 shoteye04, Nov 20, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Is this EI.cfg correct?I have created ISO from ESD file and got multiple Edition (pro/home).I have key of windows 10 pro by upgrading from windows 7 ultimate activated by daz loader.now i want to clean install win 10 th2 but my bios has win 8 oem key for home,so it detect and install win 10 home.

    Code:
    [EditionID]
    Professional
    [Channel]
    Retail
    [VL]
    0