Freeze and restart

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by M0rriss0n, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    #1 M0rriss0n, Nov 25, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2012
    Once every few days I get a freeze followed by a restart of the system.
    This is random and cannot point it to a single proccess or driver.

    Eventviewer shows me a critical event:
    A fatal hardware error has occured.
    AMD northbridge error
    Bugcheck 0x00000124
    WHEA
    ntoskrnl.exe 52a489

    I Googled this error and found that it could be anything.
    Hardware related
    Software related
    Driver related

    So did a clean install of:
    Windows 7 Ultimate x64
    Windows 8 Enterprise N x64
    Windows Server 2012
    Booting a damn small Linux distribution ( restarts with no explanation )

    The freeze and restart happened with all OS.

    What I did:

    Update BIOS to v2401
    Check BIOS settings (all auto)
    * Played with voltages (memory and northbridge)
    Memory check
    Update drivers
    Replace harddrive
    Check for blown capasitors
    Check for dust
    * sfc /scannow (it suddenly finds uncorrectable corruptions)
    Reapplied thermal paste
    * New PSU
    * New memory
    * Uninstalled videodrivers one by one (nvidia)


    Specs:

    ASUS M4A77T
    AMD Athlon II X2 250
    Corsiar VS2GB1333D4 x2 =4096 MBytes @ 9 9 9 24
    Club 3D Geforce 8500GT silent
    HKC Power Supply SZ430PDR PSU 430W
    Watts calculater states 334W needed


    Really can use some help on this one
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. bp1

    bp1 MDL Member

    May 11, 2009
    208
    50
    10
    Have you got a spare PSU. If not see if you can borrow one. I think your PSU is failing
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    also try no videocard nvidia.. plain onboard ? and check memory timings in bios to be correct.. not slower
     
  4. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Board has no onboard video
    Timings are default @ 9 9 9 24 1.5V
    Played with the voltage a bit, but nothing helps
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    #5 M0rriss0n, Nov 25, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2012
    (OP)
    Must get one to test
    On another system with this PSU all is well, but second system has 250 Watts so I cannot swap
    On another forum this issue has been discussed, the man tested with 3 PSU and still has the same error
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    had a friend with similar issues in msi board same chipset.. he switched to 7 x86 (32 bit) it worked.
    but he booted linuxmint in usb and no problems.. in your case.. uhh damsmall might not have proper support for amd northbridge. or there is an isue with hardware. psu or ram usualy.. try 1 ram stick at time ?
     
  7. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Tried everything with RAM, must be ok
    PSU can be the problem, cannot change it now but as soon as possible
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,390
    1,464
    180
    also try x86 32 bit win7 as u only have 4 gb.
     
  9. gabris[LT]

    gabris[LT] MDL Senior Member

    Nov 6, 2010
    434
    243
    10
    I suspect chipset overheat or it may be just too overclocked if it is overclocked at all...
     
  10. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    #10 M0rriss0n, Nov 30, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
    (OP)
    **Update**

    On Monday 26th disassembled the computer.
    I noticed the thermal paste between processor and cooler was minimal.
    Cleaned everything and reapplied normal amount of paste.
    Assembled computer again and works fine till today.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Today Dec 1 has the same error.
    Freeze and restart, after 6 days of 24/7 use.

    Bummer
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. bp1

    bp1 MDL Member

    May 11, 2009
    208
    50
    10
    My advice same as previous.
    Have you got a spare PSU. If not see if you can borrow one. I think your PSU is failing
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    The PSU is stable in another system.
    All was well for 6 days, doing everything I normal do.

    Got a message from ASUS forum

    "This is usually a problem with the BIOS and its memory training routines... the restart is a reboot that gets memory properly configured.. Corsair never qualified any memory on an M4A77T board... so apparently from time to time, the BIOS can't get the memory properly initialized... "

    So maybe need another PSU and memory to be certain.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Ok, I'm done.
    Twice the reboot today.
    I just ordered:
    Seasonic M12II 520W
    Kingston HX blu 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz CL9
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. bp1

    bp1 MDL Member

    May 11, 2009
    208
    50
    10
    Please comeback and let us no how you get on when you get delivery. I am still pretty sure its the PSU so try that first.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Okay, I'm back.
    Today recieved PSU and memory.
    First installed PSU and after 1st boot 1st browser session, reboot.
    Then installed new memory, reboot.
    Now I'm looking for other solutions.
    I will stay tuned.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    Had the most weird experience.
    Wanted a clean "vanilla" install of Windows 8 Pro VL.
    "Network cable unplugged" after install, this happened 3x.
    Maybe motherboard is the problem.
    Already bought new PSU and memory, so a sabertooth Z77 with a i7 2600K for Christmas must give me a stable system!

    Thanx all, and beautifull wishes to everyone
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. RJARRRPCGP

    RJARRRPCGP MDL Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    235
    22
    10
    Looks like a northbridge issue. The motherboard may be undervolting the CPU-NB.

    Increase CPU-NB voltage in the BIOS and try again.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. M0rriss0n

    M0rriss0n MDL Senior Member

    Sep 17, 2011
    318
    96
    10
    I allready played with the voltages, for memory and northbridge.
    Little steps to see if that worked, nothing worked.
    Before I posted this thread I was allready 2 months figuring out what could be the problem.
    Google only gave me 2 identical problems with ntoskrnl.exe 52a489, and no solutions.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Madison23

    Madison23 MDL Novice

    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    0
    0
    Stay tuned and tell us how you solve this problem at the end.