Genuine Windows Validation to get KB2852386

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Carl_In_WA, Dec 12, 2013.

1. Carl_In_WA

Carl_In_WA MDL Novice

Dec 11, 2013
    I am really a novice. I finally got Daz'z loader installed and i am now running squeaky clean. I missed the KB2852386 update that free up disk space for Win 7 SP1.
    I now have to go through the Genuine Windows Validation process and install/run the tool. the question begging for a answer from the experts is, do I or do I not? Will Daz's loader withstand MS's scrutiny? From what I have gathered and now experienced it will, but please do comment. see inserted screenshot.

Should i validate.JPG

2. Humphrey

Humphrey MDL Expert

Dec 13, 2011
    #2 Humphrey, Dec 12, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
    I believe that it will.

But there are ppl (me) that have made mirrors for this file.
    I will try to find it.

Couldn't find it but I downloaded them myself and have PM'ed you the download link.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Carl_In_WA

Carl_In_WA MDL Novice

Dec 11, 2013
    Thank you H. I actually got lucky: MS sent it as an "Optional Update" late last night. I installed and shaved of nearly 2g from the hard drive!:rolleyes: disk clean up busy.JPG I will check out the PM any ways thank you. Is there a thread that discuss the sorting out of the hundreds of download one gets from MS and which ones is good to install and which ones is not?

4. oldsh_t

oldsh_t MDL Expert

Dec 23, 2009
    #4 oldsh_t, Dec 13, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013
    Just to let you all know, Daz's loader will pass this Genuine Windows Validation tool that you download and run. I just tried it and passed and I was allowed to download the KB2852386. I used IE first but passed OK with it, so I then used FireFox and there I had to download and use the checking tool.

Keep this in mind the next time you run across this. You should pass.