Got SLIC 2.1 and cert, upgrade to Ultimate?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by JBenal, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. JBenal

    JBenal MDL Senior Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    431
    157
    10
    #1 JBenal, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
    This may have already been answered, but I can't find it though I searched. :eek:

    I have Windows 7 Home Premium retail installed and activated - I bought it. Now I'd like to upgrade to Ultimate on a Dell Inspiron 1720. I've patched the BIOS and got SLIC 2.1. I added the Dell certificate. Can I just change the product key to get Win 7 Ultimate? Or do I need to install Ultimate and enter the OEM key during installation? Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. 69218

    69218 MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2009
    109
    31
    10
    Try windows anytime upgrade with ultimate oem slp key. :)
     
  3. wyrman

    wyrman MDL Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    244
    1
    10
    You could use Dazs loader in Advanced mode. Put in Dell cert. and serial and install.
     
  4. JBenal

    JBenal MDL Senior Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    431
    157
    10
    Sorry, I don't understand. Why would I need a loader when I already have SLIC BIOS installed? Aren't loaders just for when you can't mod the BIOS? I've already entered the cert.

    What would happen if I entered the Ultimate OEM key now in my current setup? Would it unlock the features of Ultimate? Or do I have to re-install? I have the Ultimate OEM disk - can I just do an upgrade from within Windows? Thanks.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. lifedigital

    lifedigital MDL Novice

    Feb 20, 2009
    20
    2
    0
    #5 lifedigital, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
    Yep. This one works. I did it yesterday this way. I already have Slic Bios Mod and windows 7 home premium installed and activated.
    All you need to do is click windows anytime upgrade( if you have internet connection) and install ultimate keys when ask. It reboot
    may be twice and take about 15 minutes or less. :D:D:D
     
  6. NoJuan999

    NoJuan999 Experienced SLIC Tool Operator

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,919
    1,930
    300
    Just install Win 7 Ultimate during installation choose upgrade existing installation if that option is available.
    Use an OEM SLP Key , you may need to reinstall the certificate in Win 7 after you upgrade.

    You Don't need a loader, it will interfere with the Bios Mod.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. wyrman

    wyrman MDL Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    244
    1
    10
    My bios is modded as well. I did use Dazs loader to install the cert and serial for my Asus board.
     
  8. JBenal

    JBenal MDL Senior Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    431
    157
    10
    #8 JBenal, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
    (OP)
    So would I change the key before doing anytime update, or during? If I do it before, should I use "slmgr -ipk" in a command window, or enter it into system properties where it says "Change product key"?

    By the way, I'm trying to avoid a clean install, because I have a lot of software and tweaks and don't want to have to do all that again.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. wyrman

    wyrman MDL Member

    Nov 21, 2007
    244
    1
    10
    #9 wyrman, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    I've never tried anytime updating. I used the loader to install the serial and certificate after a fresh install on a modded bios. If you open up Dazs loader page you will see what I mean. "Install Certifiate and Serial"

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8632
     
  10. PAYMYRENT

    PAYMYRENT MDL Developer

    Jul 28, 2009
    1,462
    419
    60
    #10 PAYMYRENT, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    i did an anytime upgrade and i think it asked for the key before it could continue



    BTW: if you want to avoid a loader then use one of these to install the key or cert

    My Digital Activator

    Key-Cert-Branding Tool
     
  11. Servi

    Servi MDL Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    111
    1
    10
    There is no need to avoid Daz loader, because Daz loader doesn't work as a loader when set to advanced mode. It just installs cert and key. ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. NiHiLisT

    NiHiLisT MDL Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    214
    14
    10
    Where did you found the DELL 2.1 cert?
    I want that one also.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    There is no Dell 2.1 cert that seems to be a bug in slic dump toolkit.
     
  14. PAYMYRENT

    PAYMYRENT MDL Developer

    Jul 28, 2009
    1,462
    419
    60
    if he just want the key and cert then he can choose what he wants. a program bundled with a loader or two that arent
     
  15. JBenal

    JBenal MDL Senior Member

    Nov 2, 2009
    431
    157
    10
    I got link to the cert right here on MDL. It's in one of the Phoenix BIOS threads.

    I did the anytime upgrade and it worked. I didn't want to do that because I can't imagine why M$ would allow an OEM key to be used for an upgrade. Think about it. Anyway, it did work. Thanks for the help guys!
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...