Help Installing Windows 7 - OEM/RETAIL

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jdunk, Sep 7, 2011.

1. jdunk

jdunk MDL Novice

Sep 7, 2011
    Alright I read all the guides, and keep in mind I am a bit new to this.

So basically, can I...
    1. Download a copy of Windows 7 Pro/Home Premium which would be a retail version.
    2. Change a certain file???
    3. After installation enter the OEM Keys ( One of the ones you have listed, or one of my own)
    4. Validate it...
    5. And then I have Windows 7?

Is this correct?

2. jdunk

jdunk MDL Novice

Sep 7, 2011
    And just to clarify, I will download Windows 7 from Digital River or online and then BURN it. But I am hoping from what I hear, that I can use a OEM key on a Retail without having to do anything.

3. hbhb

hbhb MDL Expert

Dec 15, 2010
    Hey J,
    Go ahead and download win 7 with SP1 included, so u dont have to do that update manually. Please specify what kind of machine u intend to put this on? u gotta check if it has slic 2.1 using slic tool.
    And by the way, if you can, use a USB memory for install, it is much quicker and you wont have to burn a CD/DVD;
    So specify hat kind of machine and specifications:D

4. jdunk

jdunk MDL Novice

Sep 7, 2011
    Well I plan to install it on a HP Pavilion Dv60o0 it has Windows Vista on it. But just to make sure? I can use a OEM key on a regular Win 7 cd?

5. uffbros

uffbros MDL Senior Member

Aug 9, 2010
    Use the Daz Loader..It will do it all for you and is the easiest way.

6. jdunk

jdunk MDL Novice

Sep 7, 2011
    Well it is compatiable...... So basically I need to run the loader? So I cannot just put Win7 dvd in and use one of your OEM Keys? or Volume Keys?

7. jdunk

jdunk MDL Novice

Sep 7, 2011