How to create official Windows 7 MSDN/TechNet ISO's - FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by prxprx, Aug 12, 2009.

  1. groundXaero

    groundXaero MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2009
    30
    0
    0
    The hash should change from Ultimate to Home Premium. Did you cross check with the hashes on the MSDN site?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. yunus

    yunus MDL Novice

    Jul 21, 2009
    11
    0
    0
    thank you very much digitec for the information
    I use 02:29:38 and same date
     
  3. Bloodygamer

    Bloodygamer MDL Novice

    Nov 4, 2009
    15
    0
    0
    I have a problem. Yesterday I wanted to do this but the cdimage can not run on my computer. Does it working on Vista only?
     
  4. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    801
    891
    30
    #104 Boops, Nov 11, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
    Please, ¿and N Version?:), don´t work?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mimorqleko

    mimorqleko MDL Novice

    Nov 8, 2009
    25
    12
    0
    #105 mimorqleko, Nov 11, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2009
    But you still can't create an infected ISO and claim it's original?!?!:eek:

    right??
     
  6. racky29

    racky29 MDL Senior Member

    Aug 2, 2007
    285
    91
    10
    #106 racky29, Nov 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  7. groundXaero

    groundXaero MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2009
    30
    0
    0
    #107 groundXaero, Nov 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Boops

    Boops MDL Addicted

    Jan 5, 2008
    801
    891
    30
    Ok, for -07:00 hours....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. draconis

    draconis MDL Novice

    Nov 13, 2009
    8
    0
    0
    Thanks for very useful info :)
     
  10. ljprg

    ljprg MDL Member

    Dec 27, 2008
    191
    30
    10
    Thanks prxprx,

    But this doesn't work for me!

    I'm using pp_windows_7_ultimate_x86_dvd_x15-65947.iso original MSDN and want to make a pp_windows_7_home_premium_x86_dvd_x15-65758.iso.

    Did all the steps but any of the hash values matchs!

    Maybe its the date/time zone? I don´t know!

    Can anybody help me?
     
  11. Pooh the Pirate

    Pooh the Pirate MDL Junior Member

    Sep 30, 2009
    61
    0
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. kdo2milger

    kdo2milger MDL Senior Member

    Jan 5, 2010
    372
    25
    10
    have you tried windows7_iso_image_edition_switcher ?
     
  13. ljprg

    ljprg MDL Member

    Dec 27, 2008
    191
    30
    10
    That tool gives me "Unexpected File size" error! I believe it only works with English Language ISOs!
     
  14. Andrew180

    Andrew180 MDL Novice

    Sep 30, 2009
    32
    1
    0
    Nope, SK ISO here and it works.
     
  15. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,097
    1,891
    210
    Then your ISO is buggered

    The tool does NOT care about language, as it only changes UDF properties (it knows nothing about language etc)

    sebus
     
  16. MaJo24

    MaJo24 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 19, 2008
    57
    50
    0
    I don't think that's exhaustively correct. I can verify that the tool "windows7_iso_image_edition_switcher" linked above does in fact not work with a known correct german Windows 7 Professional x86 ISO (SHA1 d57c8fee033e0aecdb8baaeb9213a4647eadedb4).

    (By looking at the patch files in a hex editor, I highly doubt that this tool works for anything else than english language ISOs. Maybe there is a different tool around than the one linked in this thread?)

    @pjrg: When setting the time zone before image creation, make sure that not only the GMT offset is correct, but also the state of daylight saving time. Since the Windows 7 ISOs were created in July, you must make sure that the time zone on your PC is not "Pacific Standard time", but "Pacific Daylight Saving time"! (You can do this by setting your system clock back to July 2009 or something similar ...)
     
  17. ljprg

    ljprg MDL Member

    Dec 27, 2008
    191
    30
    10
    MaJo24, thanks very much! That was the problem! Change the date back to July 16, 2009, change the time zone, and its done!

    Again thanks!