How to install Windows 7 from a USB 3.0 Thumb Drive (FAST installation!)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Rakeesh, Feb 26, 2012.

  1. Rakeesh

    Rakeesh MDL Novice

    Feb 25, 2012
    21
    34
    0
    #1 Rakeesh, Feb 26, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    As most of you know, Windows 7 does not have built in USB 3.0 drivers, so normally you can't install Windows 7 from a USB drive if it is connected to a USB 3.0 port, and your fast USB 3.0 thumb drive has to install at slow 2.0 speeds. However I have figured out how to solve that problem.

    Create a directory anywhere named "winpe" and inside of this directory create a directory named usb3 and another directory named mount.

    Download the USB 3.0 driver. You can obtain it here:

    EDIT: I can't post links yet, sorry. Just go to the gigabyte website and look for the USB 3.0 driver for any of their motherboards. I would post the links to VIA, TI, etc but alas I cannot post links

    Although that driver is provided by Gigabyte for their motherboards, it should work on pretty much any motherboard or USB card based on Renesas/NEC. It works fine on my MSI p67a-g45. The reason I picked the Gigabyte driver is because it is the only one I can find that doesn't stick the drivers inside of an installshield package.

    Rename the file to have a .7z extension and open it with your favorite archiver. 7-zip, WinRAR, and WinZIP all work.

    Inside the zip, you'll want to navigate to usb3\Files\x86 for 32-bit, or usb3\Files\x64 for 64-bit. If you are using an All-in-One setup that includes 32-bit, just use the 32-bit driver. Take all 6 files from your chosen directory and extract them to the winpe\usb3 folder you created earlier.

    Next you'll want to grab the sources\boot.wim file from your Windows 7 ISO image or flash drive and put it in your winpe folder.

    Open an administrative console, navigate to your winpe folder, and execute these commands:

    Code:
       dism /mount-wim /wimfile:boot.wim /index:2 /mountdir:mount
    
       dism /image:mount /add-driver /driver:usb3\nusb3hub.inf
    
       dism /image:mount /add-driver /driver:usb3\nusb3xhc.inf
    
       dism /unmount-wim /mountdir:mount /commit
    
    Now just copy the boot.wim file from your winpe directory over to your sources folder on your flash drive, and you're ready to go! Connect to your USB 3.0 port and boot it up. My install time is down to about 5 minutes with my Patriot Supersonic USB drive and my OCZ Vertex 3 SSD.
     
  2. vilhelm

    vilhelm MDL Novice

    Feb 29, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    #2 vilhelm, Feb 29, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
    Thank you for posting this! I'll be building a new system in the next couple of weeks and will want to try this out. I'll post if I'm able to get it working.
     
  3. mjgr33n

    mjgr33n MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2008
    43
    16
    0
    #3 mjgr33n, Aug 2, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. mjgr33n

    mjgr33n MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2008
    43
    16
    0
    #4 mjgr33n, Aug 2, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    And you can do the same with the ASMedia ones -

    Code:
    dism /image:mount /add-driver /driver:usb3\asmthub3.inf
    
    dism /image:mount /add-driver /driver:usb3\asmtxhci.inf
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    I think you should mention.

    Image Index: 1 is Microsoft Windows PE (x86)
    -------------------
    Image Index: 2 is Microsoft Windows Setup (x86)
    -------------------
     
  6. mjgr33n

    mjgr33n MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2008
    43
    16
    0
    #6 mjgr33n, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You can also use
    Code:
    dism /image:mount /add-driver:"usb3" /recurse
    instead of individual driver add commands to add all drivers in a folder :)
     
  7. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    100
    10
    sorry for my stupid question
    but just copying boot.wim from win8 and replace win7 boot.wim would not work?
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    No it wouldn't work.
     
  9. joshcloud9

    joshcloud9 MDL Novice

    May 7, 2013
    1
    0
    0
    #9 joshcloud9, May 7, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Great post! Trying this for Asmedia drivers and getting errors

    Hi there,

    Great post! Trying this for Asmedia drivers and getting errors:

    ----------------------------------------------

    C:\WinPE2>dism /image:mount /add-driver /driver:usb3\asmthub3.inf

    Deployment Image Servicing and Management tool
    Version: 6.1.7600.16385

    Image Version: 6.1.7600.16385

    Found 1 driver package(s) to install.
    Installing 1 of 1 - C:\WinPE2\usb3\asmthub3.inf: Error - An error occurred. The
    driver package could not be installed.
    For more information, check for log files in the <windir>\inf folder of the targ
    et image.

    Error: 2

    The system cannot find the file specified.

    The DISM log file can be found at C:\Windows\Logs\DISM\dism.log

    C:\WinPE2>

    ----------------------------------------------
    I found the Asmedia drivers in a System32 folder named:

    asmthub3.inf_amd64_neutral


    Which is mentioned in the log files, if that's a clue?

    Any ideas?
     
  10. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    981
    60
    #10 Humphrey, May 28, 2013
    Last edited: May 31, 2013
    Post deleted for another
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    981
    60
    #11 Humphrey, May 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. nesmetamal

    nesmetamal MDL Novice

    Apr 17, 2013
    10
    1
    0
    that is realy worked ty baby i love u muaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah
     
  13. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    981
    60
    #13 Humphrey, May 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. nIxiIe

    nIxiIe MDL Novice

    Jun 1, 2013
    25
    1
    0
    Wow this is awesome to know, many thanx for the nfo :worthy:
     
  15. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    Without wishing to go too :offtopic: I thought I would mention you can integrate SATA controllers using the same methods above for those that have issues seeing their drives after booting unless I am mistaken :rolleyes:

    HTH
     
  16. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,494
    15,280
    340
    Windows 7 already contains generic SATA/AHCI drivers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Evgeniy

    Evgeniy MDL Member

    Apr 23, 2010
    173
    10
    10
    Dont know about that but i installed from usb 2.0 stick under 5 minutes connected to usb 3.0 interface(obviusly 2.0 speed) on ssd drive runing gigabyte board and intel 3770k. We were all supriesed with speed so i dont see the point in slipstreaming 3.0 driver.

    But good info.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,494
    15,280
    340
    I think you have made a small mistake. :D

    Windows 7 doesn't support USB3 controllers out-of-box. Thats why you can't install Windows 7 if the media is plugged in in a USB3 port unless you have slipstreamed the drivers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Humphrey

    Humphrey MDL Expert

    Dec 13, 2011
    1,458
    981
    60
    Is there a universal USB 3.0 driver I can slip into mine or will the Intel 3.0 drivers I did add only support intel?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,494
    15,280
    340
    They only support Intel.

    You have to integrate all the drivers of available controllers.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...