HP replacement motherboard flashing issues

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by gamergomer, Aug 27, 2011.

1. gamergomer

gamergomer MDL Novice

Aug 27, 2011
    I'm a computer tech, but I don't work on HPs much. So my grandma's motherboard died on her HP a6750f desktop computer which has a MS-7548 motherboard. When I replaced the motherboard with one I ebayed (which was supposed to be a new motherboard), the new computer wouldn't boot. I figured out that I think the the 5.11 bios won't work with the x4 9650 that was originally in it. I stick an older AMD processor in and it boots great. Slow, but works.

So I tried the bios update from HP but it fails with a "Your system does not meet the minimum requirements for this update. Update has been cancelled. (9996)." I also notice that my Vista needs to activate.

After digging, it's my guess that the the new bios needs to be tatooed.

So I find the only version of iso dmi tool I can find that's still available and I run it. It seems to think it works, but doesn't help me at all.

My DMI info according to the tool:
    Vendor: Hewlett-Packard
    Product: PPPPPPP-CCC#MMMMMMMM
    Version:
    Serial:
    (I never checked the above until after I tried to run the tool once so I'm not really sure what it was originally)

I don't think I care about the DMI as long as I can activate vista with the key on the computer. Do I really need the DMI to run vista? Am I going to have to reinstall vista to activate or can I just activate and continue along now?

But I still then have the problem of how to flash the 5.13 bios. I unpacked the bios update executable and have the 5.13 bios file. I read somewhere about people using a newer version of winflash to update in windows 7. Would a newer version of winflash help me? Any hints on where to find it if so?