Install windows 8 on pentium 4 Socket 478 error

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Tidus FFX, Nov 11, 2012.

  1. Tidus FFX

    Tidus FFX MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2012
    58
    4
    0
    Hello forum, I am writing because I wanted to install windows 8 on my pc ... but since it is a Pentium 4 with a 3.2...motherboard ASUS P4C800, motherboard only supports Socket 478 and Socket 478 with no pentium 4 supports specific XD "no eXecute" .... there is no way to bypass this control? :bye1:
     
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,749
    1,959
    210
    #2 pisthai, Nov 11, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2012
    I had Windows 8 running on an Asus P4P800E-Deluxe with Preskot 3.2 GHz Pentium CPU. Unfortunately I gave that MB with CPU to an friend and didn't have it anymore.

    I had Windows 8 Enterprise 32bit installed and that were working quite well with 2 GB Ram and 8500GT Nvidia Card.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Tidus FFX

    Tidus FFX MDL Junior Member

    Nov 11, 2012
    58
    4
    0
    like you used to use windows 8 on the motherboard P4P800E-Deluxe it is always a Socket 478? there are Pentium 4 with Socket 478 processors that support the XD "no eXecute" ....
     
  4. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,749
    1,959
    210
    I'm not sure the Preskot CPU 3.2GHz will support XD or NX, I haven't checked that! I was just run last month, before I gave the MB and CPU to my friend, Windows 8 Enterprise were running. And it did it well by the way.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend MDL Senior Member

    Feb 10, 2010
    361
    112
    10
    Prescott support XD, but the whole series is too hot :p I mean it was fantastic in papers but their thermal envelop was too high practically. If Prescott succeeded in its era, we might had 12 GHz processor today instead of dual/quard/core series :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. rasgyle

    rasgyle MDL Novice

    Nov 8, 2011
    1
    0
    0
    Someone has two of that CPU available on ebay. All the rest seem to be the 775 version. Why would Intel do that to people? o_O
     
  7. anarchist9027

    anarchist9027 MDL Expert

    Oct 30, 2010
    1,320
    667
    60
    Because they want people to buy new hardware. It sucks but thats the name of the game...
     
  8. aarongreater

    aarongreater MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2009
    19
    3
    0
     
  9. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,636
    2,143
    90
    #10 moderate, Dec 1, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
    I've two pieces of its latest version SL8JX Core Stepping G1 here on my desk...
    ...the chip has Prescott core, NX bit and it is even x64 as I confirmed with Sysinternals coreinfo.exe :)

    If anyone wants them, I can send them to you, they are in warranty for 2 years as I bought three of them for fun for testing and one ended in my legacy notebook running W8 now...

    P4_478_XD.jpg
     
  10. aarongreater

    aarongreater MDL Novice

    Oct 17, 2009
    19
    3
    0
    #11 aarongreater, Dec 1, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
    I am so sorry for my last reply. But I am so sure to believe that your processor supporting NX and EM64T. They are not the mass production product, very few with very special purpose when Intel released it. The very first Pentium 4 supporting NX and EM64T is Pentium 4 F series with stepping D0 released one day before 2004 Olympic Games. I could not identify the release date of SL8JX, but must after Pentium 4 63x released. You are so amazing to own those most special things.

    Prescott is great! Even though over 32 stages pipelining with more than 200% transistors than it in Northwood, with so many undiscovered mysterious stories behind it which Intel did not want it be known. Greatest Heat always drove people one question what does it do every time even when idel?
     
  11. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,636
    2,143
    90
    it is only one CPU supporting socket 478 and NX bit and x64...
    ...still I've installed W8 x32 on the legacy laptop as I have only x32 drivers for the legacy devices (ATi Mobility, Agere Modem :)), Sigmatel C-Major Audio, etc...) :))
     
  12. vze2mp9g

    vze2mp9g MDL Senior Member

    Oct 13, 2012
    284
    37
    10
    I'm in the very same situation. If I obtain this chip, I would be using the 64-Bit OS correct? Lastly, so you have any idea when I can obtain this Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 511 (1M Cache, 2.80 GHz, 533 MHz FSB) chip? I would really appreciate it because I would like to try Windows 8 out for myself. Will my PC be slower when upgradeing from a 3.0GHz chip?
    Thank You.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. vze2mp9g

    vze2mp9g MDL Senior Member

    Oct 13, 2012
    284
    37
    10

    You have this Intel® Pentium® 4 Processor 511 (1M Cache, 2.80 GHz, 533 MHz FSB) chip? If so, how much will it put me back? If I was working and had the money, I would build a new PC with i7 core. I would appreciate it very much.
    Thank You.
    Dave

    ___________________________________________
    OS: Windows 7 x32 Ultimate V6.01 Build 7601 Service Pack 1||MoBo: ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe || CPU: Socket 478 for Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 (Northwood) 3.00GHz [D1]|| Ram: 2GB of 400MHz Dual DDR RAM (Corsair)
    GPU: Radeon HD4650 2Gb || Monitor: Acer H274HL (HDMI) || HDD: 1Tb Western Digital Black Drive || DVD ROM: SONY DVD RW DRU-830A ATA Device || Blu-Ray DVD ROM: LG HL-DT-ST BD-RE GBW-H20L
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. rjc862003

    rjc862003 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 4, 2009
    78
    12
    0
    anyone attempting to run Anything Newer then Windows XP is wasting there time and effort the machine is just to slow for it to matter one way or another not even gonna get into driver support of witch there is none for for such old hardware in windows 7+
    just don't // don't even try use what you got or replace it
     
  15. de051

    de051 Guest

    Hey Moderate,

    Do you still have any of these 2.8 ghz prescott pentium cpu's left ?

    I would be willing to purchase one from you.
     
  16. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    did you waste a thought about Ebay? Not to turn away some biz off moderate but ...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,749
    1,959
    210
    Want to build a new Dinosaur? If you interested in one let me know, I should still have and an 3.2GHZ Prescott also! You could PM me.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. de051

    de051 Guest

    Yes all ready looked there previously. But I did decide to 'waste' some time replying to your mundane question.
     
  19. de051

    de051 Guest

    C'mon really....... If you had bothered to read the thread you would know a 3.2 GHZ Prescott wouldn't work.