Intel EFI (Bios) Mod for Slic 2.1

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by tapmal5, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. will5

    will5 MDL Senior Member

    Jun 21, 2007
    260
    38
    10
    So, what intel bios can be modded? newer ones, too?
     
  2. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    497
    180
    @endevour

    It is curious that some may flash and others wont. The presentation gives an explanation, sort of. The mechanism they use is too complex for mass bios modification. Each bios would have to have a pointer configured based on hardware, mostly memory....

    I will see if I can find any Fortran folks..I have not had a Fortran class in many, many years, and at that it bored me to tears...I am not a programmer, ya know???

    The lock is very easy to understand, difficult to bypass. Intel and their signatures. I guess the proprietary nature makes this implementation easy for them. AMI and Award cannot afford this with conventional bios, we will see about the EFI and UEFI bios. These allow for much more individual programming by OEM vendors..

    -Just my opinion...from what I have seen:cool:


    I am curious about the leak of these EFI tools, additional programming knowledge may prove useful in these.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. anmg

    anmg MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    304
    307
    10
    Never say never.
    It is a question of time and leak of tools.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. endeavor

    endeavor MDL Member

    Aug 9, 2009
    150
    14
    10
    Thank you very much 911medic for the reply and interesting reading and info, and your willingness to check your inner circle of contacts with other modders you know.
    Thank you.....!

     
  5. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    Signature is really a problem for intel bioses. i also talked with yen for modding new intel EFI bioses. he says that there is a way by opening BIOS in ITK and then access it in physical memory via WinHex. I checked it myself but the sad thing is that the table is completely empty. so we also have to generate an SLIC table for ACPI string. so we may insert it in BIOS and save the .BIO file through ITK.
     
  6. tapmal5

    tapmal5 MDL Junior Member

    Sep 17, 2008
    62
    18
    0
    intel bios mod for slic2.1

    this seems promising
     
  7. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    497
    180
    Find the RSDT/XSDT and change IDs in the bios as well as insert the slic code. The table is present. I have seen this in testing, but I have no way of verifying it. I had this idea after the Insyde find. You can modify the strings and save the file in ITK.

    You have to have the necessary anatomy to then test the bios...:D:D

    Or the hardware..I have one, but it is not the hardware.....:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    @911medic
    what should we have to do now?? i have two intel motherboards, D865GBF (AMI BIOS), DQ35JO (EFI BIOS), i am willing to test them. 1st we have to find a way to flash modded bios. then we have to try to mod EFI bios because without flashing modding is useless.
    i also tried to flash modded bios for D865GBF but it also failed(same as endeavor).
    Another thing i want to ask if we use 7 loader and emulate slic 2.1, can we use its table from RWEVERYTHING and use it in EFI bios??
    (and thank you for your interest in intel bios modding)
     
  9. endeavor

    endeavor MDL Member

    Aug 9, 2009
    150
    14
    10
    #90 endeavor, Aug 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  10. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    #91 07ee17, Aug 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  11. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    And one thing i forgot to talk about is that i checked both bioses
    1st downloaded from forum
    2nd modded by myself
    but both failed to flash, dont know what to do now.
     
  12. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    497
    180
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    Today i tried another approach. i opened my modded bios in ITK and added custom OEM information(no modding, just info change) and then generated the new .BIO file through ITK (intel toolkit), my approach is that may be the ITK will sign the new .BIO file itself and then i can flash.
    But when i started flashing, same happened to it(flash failed). Now i'm thinking about removing the BIOS jumper and then flashing the unsigned modded bios
    hopes it work.
     
  14. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,097
    1,890
    210
    #96 sebus, Aug 31, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  15. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,097
    1,890
    210

    E.F.I. .F.i.r.m.w.a.r.e so not yet possible

    sebus
     
  16. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    497
    180
    #98 911medic, Aug 31, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. 07ee17

    07ee17 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 7, 2009
    98
    9
    0
    #99 07ee17, Sep 1, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2017
  18. sloozer

    sloozer MDL Member

    Apr 25, 2007
    112
    2
    10
    I have the same mobo and busykid was kind enough to mod it in two different ways. sadly both failed to flash. I've tried so many different ways off flashing, even tried recovery flash.