Internet connection and MS account REQUIRED for windows 11 home...

Discussion in 'Windows 11' started by zaphod77, Jul 1, 2021.

  1. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Expert

    Mar 15, 2014
    1,080
    962
    60
    When I clean installed 11, I chose to use MS account without entering the password, but before I could confirm the phone authorization, it timed out and 11 asked me to use a local account, so I had to finish the setup creating a local account.
     
  2. crypticus

    crypticus MDL Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2015
    286
    94
    10
    ALT+F4 not working anymore. use unattended.xml instead
     
  3. Xtreme21

    Xtreme21 MDL Addicted

    Jun 21, 2021
    688
    998
    30
    Does this not work anymore?
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,490
    450
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. crypticus

    crypticus MDL Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2015
    286
    94
    10
    btw i entirely removed wlan and lan adapter in vmbox and still it didn't work. i didn't try the shift+f10 method but i am suspicious about that one too. best method seems to be using unattended.xml
     
  6. Xtreme21

    Xtreme21 MDL Addicted

    Jun 21, 2021
    688
    998
    30
    Just a quick FYI.

    Build 22000.160 released earlier this evening. Shift+F10/Disable network method as in above post, still working fine, just clean installed it in a VM.
     
  7. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    Slightly off topic, but
    1. What happens when you try to login using a Microsoft account when there's no internet - say the internet is down or you're traveling outside network coverage?
    2. Should one create an offline account beforehand so you can use that instead under those circumstances?
    3. If you use a previously created offline account to login when there's no internet, can you still access your files (My Documents, etc.) that belong to your Microsoft account?

    Back in 2008 we had a situation when several undersea cables got damaged, leaving many parts of India without internet access for days.
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,490
    450
    #29 Enthousiast, Aug 20, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2021
    When not connected during OOBE, you won't get online account options offered, offline account only.
    Offline account is not a registered account, so whatever you enter during OOBE offline account will work.

    You can always switch to an online account afterwards or just sign in at the apps you want to connect to separately, to access all synced data.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    What if you haven't created an offline account at all - only used a Microsoft account - and now suddenly there's no internet?
     
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,490
    450
    As said, Offline accounts are not registered. you can enter whatever you want and it will create an offline account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    You're not getting me.
    Suppose I have installed Windows 11 Home using a Microsoft account. Everything is fine. I have created documents, installed apps, downloaded files. As long as there is internet access, I can login and use my laptop. Then my internet goes down, or I board a long flight which doesn't have infilght internet. What do I do then?
     
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,490
    450
    You only won't be able to access the cloud stuff when not connected to internet.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    But can I use my laptop without internet? How do I login when the only account set up on the laptop is a Microsoft account?
    Should I be telling everyone in my company who is using Windows Home to set up an offline account just in case they find themselves without internet access?
     
  14. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,490
    450
    Why not just disconnect and try?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    He, he. My own laptops have Pro. Never used Home since 12 years ago when I found that Vista Home wouldn't let me do stuff like create a bootable pen drive.
     
  16. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    4,919
    5,084
    150
    Pro with MS account should be exactly the same. I expect the account to be cached locally and accessible for a while without any internet. Of course, Sync and other online services requiring external server will not work that way.
     
  17. gamer765

    gamer765 MDL Novice

    Oct 24, 2009
    27
    5
    0
    Easy, any technician worth their salt knows how to enter audit mode, where they can bypass OOBE and login straight to the built in administrator account and install and make any changes they want. Also, i don't recall you needing to enter your credentials when installing office, i know you will need to do it when you run the software though, they even give you a grace period to use it unregistered if you don't register/login. I don't see why people are losing their s**t over this.
     
  18. eemuler

    eemuler MDL Senior Member

    Jul 31, 2015
    436
    160
    10
    The longest I've been without internet access has been 11 days. I'm going to disable the wifi on my Windows 11 test laptop and see if it keeps my credentials cached locally and lets me log in and use my laptop for, say, 2 weeks. If it lets me do that, I'm fine with it.
     
  19. crypticus

    crypticus MDL Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2015
    286
    94
    10
    what a stupid thing to ask/try. ofc you will be able to use your computer if there is no internet. we are living in a world that electric goes out some time to time so your laptop can run on battery without internet.