internet explorer 9

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by xpvista7ubuntu, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    hello mdl people!!!

    please help me sort this out!!!

    in internet explorer 9 the default search engine is bing but somehow it gets replaced by google c search!!!
    this happens in all versions of windows 7...home premium...professional & ultimate!!!
    i have a 32 bit machine!!!

    once i reset internet explorer 9 to default settings...bing is back!!!

    i have even tried changing my anti-virus...have tried norton antivirus...trend micro titanium antivirus & microsoft security essentials!!!

    why is this happening???
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    thanks roirra for your help...but it does not solve my problem!!!

    in my case in the list of search providers bing gets replaced by google!!!

    only when i reset internet explorer9 does bing re-appear again!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    So you definitely already have the checkbox checked "Prevent programs from suggesting changes to my default search provider?" If so and you changed back to Bing and it still gets changed back to Google, go to your Control Panel/Programs and Features (or Programs/Uninstall a Program if you view your Control Panel by Category), then click either once or twice on "Installed On" to have the programs sorted by when they were installed, last programs installed being listed first. Look through all the programs and if you don't recognize something or doesn't make sense to you, uninstall it. Especially toolbars. Do you have any toolbars installed in IE or any other browser?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    yes roirra...the box you mention is checked!!! i dont have a single toolbar installed nor do i have any unfamiliar program installed in my desktop!!!
    i had reset my internet explorer 2 days back but the problem i mentioned has not yet occured...the minute it happens again i will take a screen shot for you to see!!!
    thank you very much for your help...time & concern!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    Okay, good idea with the screen shot. You're welcome, hopefully it's easy to fix.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    roirra,

    can you help me with this 1 too??? or maybe you know some guru here on mdl who can???

    please have a look at my post in forum > gadget life > hardware > 3g modems

    i cant post a direct link cause i dont have 20 posts yet!!!

    its been 3 days since i posted & no1 has replied to my post!!!

    thank you roirra & please dont mind me pestering you!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    >>>>>So you definitely already have the checkbox checked "Prevent programs from suggesting changes to my default search provider?"<<<<


    hey roirra,
    i think checking the box you mentioned above prevents bing search from getting replaced by any other search provider...thank you very much!!!:bye1:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    You're welcome. It's confusing because I thought you said that didn't help with your problem? The box definitely prevents whatever you have set for your search to be replaced.

    Glad it worked! :) Cheers!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    google custom search 01.jpg

    google custom search 02.jpg

    search providers.jpg

    toolbars & extensions.jpg

    accelerators.jpg

    @roirra,

    as you can see what has happened!!!:confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    @:aglerks:samual,

    i DONT want 6006le...i WANT bing to not get replaced by 6006le!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    #13 roirraW "edor" ehT, Jul 29, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2012
    You must have a trojan, root-kit or some kind of malicious program installed which is doing this.

    Maybe you should upload some screenshots of the list of programs you have installed (Control Panel/Programs). Make sure and get them all (take a screenshot, scroll down, take another, etc. until end of list) and preferably go ahead and sort them by Installed On as I mentioned in http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/35076-internet-explorer-9 first. I can't make any promises other than I'll take a look and give you my opinion if anything jumps out at me.

    You could also try System Restore (built into Windows). Load it up and look to see when the oldest Restore Point is from. If the oldest point is from before you started having this problem, then you're in luck although I won't be surprised if it's not.

    Otherwise: the most likely definite but no absolute guarantee still solution is to temporarily "quarantine" all of your Windows and data partition(s). VERY IMPORTANT: now insert a Windows 7 installation DVD into your DVD drive, TURN OFF off your PC and let it off for 10-30 seconds, then turn it back on and reinstall Windows with MSE for anti-virus and get Windows 7 all up to date by Microsoft Update (just get MSE through Microsoft Update, that's what I do), then unquarantine only what you absolutely must. Run Windows for a while without installing third-party software, confirm for long enough that it's behaving correctly, then one by one install your favorite programs, each time using Windows again for long enough to see if the program comes back. When the problem starts happening, you know that most likely it was the last program you installed.

    The turn off and turn back on is so that there shouldn't be anything left in memory such as a malicious program.

    The best way of "quarantining" old Windows and data is to remove the hard drive(s) and temporarily use an old/alternate hard drive which wasn't recently used with the affected PC. I know this isn't always monetarily possible or realistic, so the next best method I think is to use partitioning software to actually hide all the existing partitions, although you'll have to resize partitions and possibly (confirm, someone?) move the "System Reserved" (100 MB) partition at the beginning of the hard drive to somewhere else on the hard drive at least temporarily in order to still have space for a reinstallation without deleting your old stuff completely yet, and allow Windows to create the proper bootable partition(s) again. Specifically, I would at the same time (less time involved) have the partitioning software resize and move the main Windows partition, reducing it's size by at least 30-40GB minimum, but as much as you want just leave at least a few gigs empty space on your old Windows partition, and move both that reduced sized old Windows partition and the System Reserved one to the far end of the hard drive, leaving all the now available space at the front of the hard drive.

    You *could* even delete the System Reserved partition and quasi re-create it later with a Startup repair from the Windows 7 installation DVD, but I wouldn't do that unless you must.

    This is a reasonable approximation of the "Scientific Method". Controlled environments, etc.

    Around 2002-2004, I remember my wife's and my PCs (home built by me) both started having really weird unstable software symptoms. At first I reinstalled both with Windows XP again and followed my normal install procedures but always the same problems would crop up again and again. Back then I was still using Norton Internet Security. I even followed the above method I described, but my problems lasted weeks or a month until all of the sudden there was a antivirus definition update for Norton Internet Security which recognized a previously unrecognized virus. I hope that's not what's occuring for you, but it's possible, and at least if it is, you *might* get your answer following these procedures.

    In the meantime, though, upload the screenshots of your installed programs list and hopefully we spot something.

    FYI: I've been horribly busy lately so if I can't get back to you quickly it's not my fault, but I'll try my best.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    @:aglerks:phasedoubt,

    :aglerks:homepage:aglerks: >>>>little knowledge is dangerous<<<< from it's my life by dr. alban

    @roirra,

    absolutely no issues with the waiting!!!

    am gonna do a clean install of 7 tomorrow & then install 1 software at a time & see what makes the problem occur...will keep you updated!!!

    thank you very much!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    I look forward to hearing your hopefully happy results. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    i have done a clean install of windows 7 home premium 32 bit!!!

    here are screenshots of installed programs...internet explorer 9 manage add-ons section & windows update history!!!

    i have not yet installed service pack 1 nor have i activated windows with daz's loader!!!

    windows update is turned off as of now!!!

    waiting & watching...will post a screenshot the minute i find any change!!!

    add or remove programs.jpg

    search providers.jpg

    toolbars & extensions.jpg

    windows update history.jpg

    i so like internet explorer but this has got me so harrowed:(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    after 2 hours of surfing i got 3 additions in manage add-ons>>>toolbars & extensions section!!!

    here is the screenshot...they showed up on their own :confused:

    toolbars & extensions 2.jpg
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. PhaseDoubt

    PhaseDoubt MDL Expert

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,448
    278
    60
    They look like Microsoft add-ons that run without requiring permission. Here's a partial list:

    HtmlDlgSafeHelper Class - mshtmled.dll
    InformationCardSigninH - icardie.dll
    Microsoft Shell UI Helper - ieframe.dll
    Scripting.Dictionary - scrrun.dll
    Tabular Data Control - tdc.ocx
    3 for Windows Live Messenger - MSGSC8~DLL
    Windows Live Messenger - msnmsgr.exe
    Windows Live Sign-inC - WindowsLiveLogin.dll
    XML Data Source Object - msxmls.dll
    XML Data Source Object 3.0 - msxml3.dll
    XML Data Source Object 4.0 (not verified) - msxml4.dll
    XML DOM Document - msxml3.dll
    XML DOM Document 4.0 (not verified) - msxml3.dll
    XML DOM Document 4.0 (not verified) - msxml4.dll
    XML HTTP 3.0 - msxml3.dll
    XML HTTP 4.0 (not verified) - msxml4.dll
    XML Schema Cache - msxml3.dll
    XML Schema Cache 3.0 - msxml3.dll
    XML Schema Cache 4.0 (not verified) - msxml4.dll
    XSL Template - msxml3.dll
    XSL Template 3.0 - msxml3.dll
    XSL Template 4.0 (not verified) - msxml4.dll

    I suspect the later versions of http are merely updates. You can disable any you don't want active but Microsoft understandably advises against that.
     
  18. xpvista7ubuntu

    xpvista7ubuntu MDL Junior Member

    Jul 14, 2012
    60
    3
    0
    @phasedoubt,

    no i will not disable them...the fact that the publisher of those add-ons is microsoft makes them trustworthy!!!

    strangely even in your list of microsoft's own add-ons some are >>>>(not verified)<<<<

    anyways...thank you very much for the list!!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    @ xpvista7ubuntu, are you on a limited bandwidth or slow internet why don't you download Windows SP1 media refresh version save you having to download tones of updates.