Je Jin's DISM Tool

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Mr Jinje, Sep 14, 2009.

?

Were you able to create a recovery DVD with this tool ?

  1. Yes

    86 vote(s)
    39.6%
  2. No

    68 vote(s)
    31.3%
  3. WTF is a Recovery DVD ?

    63 vote(s)
    29.0%
  1. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #81 Mr Jinje, Oct 9, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Unfortunately that is DISM error, it happens from command line too, not sure exactly what is cause (search indexer, stray explorer.exe process, svchost.exe) but if any handle is open during the DisMount procedure it can fails. That error is the main reason it has separate Commit and DisMount buttons.

    Simple fix is to first commit the wim, then dismount. If an error happens during dismount, you should delete/re-create the mount folder, then hit the Clean-Up WIM button to clear the stale mount information. You should not lose any data if you already committed the wim.

    There is an invisible button that I use to kill all explorer's before I run the DisMount but it has few caveats that are deal-breaker for the public version.

    1) It doesn't always work.
    2) Explorer must be in Single Process mode, and preferably in Aero Mode to guarantee detection of higher RAM usage.
    3) All other Explorer's must be opened from a manually created link (not the start menu or my computer links), so that they open in a second process anyways.
    4) script kills all explorer.exe except the one using the highest CPU.

    If it is not done that way, their is a chance to kill the main explorer process and lose the Start menu and taskbar, along with any registry/desktop changes from the current session. Here's the snip.

    Kill_Stray_Explorer.ps1

    Code:
    Get-Process explorer | Sort-Object -descending CPU | Select-Object -Skip 1 ID | ForEach-Object -Process {Stop-Process -Id $_.ID}
     
  2. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    #82 muiz, Oct 9, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
    When you use Dism, always close the mount folder, thats should normaly do the trick. !!
    But with you tool it doesnt unmount correctly.

    Its better to use ImageX to mount and unmount, much faster.
    And then you dont have that problem.
     
  3. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #83 Mr Jinje, Oct 9, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  4. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,356
    2,026
    210
    But imagex is NOT the prefered tool any more (even if it works OK)

    I hate when people start this & that is OK, but your tool is c**p.

    If it does not work for you then do not use it!

    Mr Jinje made the magic happen, when even MS did not bother to add GUI to DISM, so please stop complaining

    sebus
     
  5. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #85 Mr Jinje, Oct 10, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Maybe is verbal confusion, the Commit WIM button does not unmount the WIM, it only commit's changes. This is by design.

    Code:
    [System.Windows.Forms.SendKeys]::Send("c:{ENTER}CD \{ENTER}CLS{ENTER}DISM.exe /Commit-Wim /MountDir:$MNT{ENTER}") 
    This way can commit WIM during editing without dismounting, so that you don't have to dismount every time you want to save your changes.
     
  6. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    #86 muiz, Oct 10, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
    First off all im not complaining ,and who asked you anything???:mad:
    imageX works great for mount and unmount.
    I already have my own Vista-Tool , not 7 ready yet.
    I only want to help to make his tool better.
    Like i said ImageX is faster in mount/unmount then dism.
    Ofcourse for other stuff you still need dism.
    But dism is slow in mount/unmount.
    And in his tool something goes wrong.
    So im only try to help here.

    So sebus if you dont know what you talking about plz leave.
     
  7. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    It doesnt commit, after unmount commit it isnt unmounted.
     
  8. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    #88 Mr Jinje, Oct 11, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    You failed to provide a button name, so I really have no idea which button you think should be doing what. There is no UnMount Commit button. I did not make one, I made two separate buttons.

    1st buttons is designed to Commit WIM but not un-mount. The second is designed to Dis-Mount WIM only.

    Once again, here is the snip for the Commit WIM Button, as you can see I do not issue the /Unmount command.
    Code:
    DISM.exe /Commit-Wim /MountDir:$MNT
    Here is the syntax for the Dis-Mount WIM button, it is designed to be run after someone runs Commit WIM. This allows user the choice to not commit WIM if they did not like the changes they made.

    Code:
    DISM.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:$MNT /Discard
    Maybe could add a third button that does both Commit and Dis-Mount in a single command, but don't think is necessary, people can just hit Commit button first, then Dis-mount second (or use gimagex if it is biggest deal)

    This project is just a stop-gap until then NUHI or someone else posts a W7 version of vlite.
     
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    9,039
    3,388
    300
    #89 urie, Oct 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  10. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    Commit Wim button
     
  11. lunar21

    lunar21 MDL Addicted

    Dec 14, 2008
    753
    270
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. alucke

    alucke MDL Novice

    Mar 25, 2009
    14
    0
    0
    install_wim_tweak.exe

    how do you apply install_wim_tweak.exe using Je Jin's DISM Tool? I have tried every way i could think of to apply install_wim_tweak.exe and it doesn't work. any help would be appreciated
     
  13. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    OT
    Very soon to release as urie said we doing final debugs, lot of work with the RTM but running good
    xp = has to be same architecture as the Target vista/seven OS
    works with vista x86/64 SP2 and Se7en x86/64 RTM
     
  14. shahed26

    shahed26 MDL Novice

    Feb 9, 2008
    26
    0
    0
    This is one the best tools i used for Windows 7 / R2. I usually use this tool to integrate my custom created driver packs for Windows 7 / R2, and it works just great.

    Thank you
     
  15. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,770
    1,101
    60
    That's what I like to hear.

    Can't wait to check out the AutoUnattend.xml creator.

    I just opened an account with MSFN, so I will post to Liquidz or LiquidzGurl (not sure who the real writer is) and see if they can give me some insights - Until further notice, Install_WIM_Tweak.exe is not working.
     
  16. tomorrow

    tomorrow MDL Addicted

    Jul 3, 2008
    723
    263
    30
  17. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    sweet, nice list, think I'll just add all this to my app :D