Leak: WINDOWS 8.1 RT RTM

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by filbi, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. filbi

    filbi MDL Novice

    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    35
    0
  2. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,595
    2,107
    90
    Is there any ARM emulator for Windows which is able to run this?

    Is anywhere link to W8-0 b9200 RT too?
     
  3. arseny92

    arseny92 MDL Secret Weapon

    Sep 22, 2009
    570
    1,253
    30
    moderate, this cannot be ran in x86-64 even inside virtualization. ARM is RISC architecture, and is a very limited x86. So it cannot be run in V86 mode, because x86 CPU is not intended for this. Now to those users who will come here to say that hey we can VMWare x64 OSes under x86 using hardware VT-x: Sorry to disappoint you, but this is possible just because the x64/amd64 architecture is an extension to classic x86. With other architectures like ARM and IA-64 only that architecture CPUs can be used.
     
  4. eydee

    eydee Guest

    It should be possible using full emulation. You can even run PS2 or Wii games using it. However, performance would suffer terribly of course. The question is, is there any emulator that can do ARM or not?
     
  5. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,704
    180
    Im wondering if it could be ported to other ARM devices, I have an Android tablet I wouldn't mind seeing RT running on
     
  6. BAV0

    BAV0 MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2011
    1,028
    1,314
    60
    I guess you can, but you would need to integrate all the firmware/drivers, these simply don't exist for RT, you would need to create custom drivers
    So, it is theoretically possible, but it will take a lot of work and if you do get it to run, it will be extremely unstable!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,702
    3,704
    180
    Yea that's what I was thinking too, plus there are not many developer sites that would allow any ports of Windows RT to be created for legal reasons

    Guess I`ll have to save for a Surface :)
     
  8. moderate

    moderate MDL Guru

    Aug 31, 2009
    2,595
    2,107
    90
    Well, I just finished Final Fantasy X game under PS2 emulator... Also I run frequently Amiga (RISC too) emulators etc. so it could be possible. Also I think that six-core twelve-threads i7 is powerful enough to handle emulating some simple pocket ARM device. But of course more likely the emulator for ARM doesn't exist yet. :/
     
  9. sevenacids

    sevenacids MDL Addicted

    Aug 17, 2012
    620
    182
    30
    Even if there is an ARM emulator out there somewhere, you still wouldn't get it to run because there aren't any drivers for the hardware it emulates, nor a HAL (ARM really needs a specialized HAL because the hardware implementations are, unlike x86/x64, very vendor-specific).

    The only way I guess it would work is if you had an ARM emulator that emulates a specific ARM device, like the Surface RT, for example. That wouldn't make much sense to have except for development/simulation purposes - why should one run and use an ARM operating system emulated on x86/x64 hardware?
     
  10. ashoktvm

    ashoktvm MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    441
    38
    10
    magnet not connecting and downloading. any help please?
     
  11. derausgewanderte

    derausgewanderte MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    330
    86
    10
    did you remove the spaces? they are all working here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. P40L0

    P40L0 MDL Member

    Jul 14, 2009
    123
    34
    10
    #12 P40L0, Sep 9, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2013
    Can someone just upload an updated proper working ISO for Surface RT ONLY?
     
  13. derausgewanderte

    derausgewanderte MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    330
    86
    10
    better even, wait until somebody has a fully working 8.1 RT and makes a recovery disk that can be shared. Has been done for 8.0.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. jhoff80

    jhoff80 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 27, 2013
    62
    14
    0
    To be honest, I'm not quite sure why WZOR didn't just create a recovery drive for the Surface RT and then upload that, unless installing this way doesn't overwrite the recovery partition like the Store upgrade did for the preview.
     
  15. ashoktvm

    ashoktvm MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    441
    38
    10
    Yes. I manually added trackers and now it's working now
     
  16. P40L0

    P40L0 MDL Member

    Jul 14, 2009
    123
    34
    10
    #16 P40L0, Sep 9, 2013
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2013
    Maybe because people want to fully Upgrade from their 8.0 installation, and not Refresh/Restore. Don't know. A new proper ISO already patched and ready for Surface RT ONLY would be the best thing for everyone, I'm really disappointed WZOR messed this so badly. o_O
     
  17. derausgewanderte

    derausgewanderte MDL Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2009
    330
    86
    10
    MS-7 wrote that it's because of security reasons. I trust him and it seems that this would give away some information of the source that created the recovery image I assume (hardware id or similar).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. P40L0

    P40L0 MDL Member

    Jul 14, 2009
    123
    34
    10
  19. Myrrh

    Myrrh MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2008
    1,387
    491
    60
    iPhones and iPads are some type of ARM processor, I believe. Would be interesting to see Windows on one of those.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. LightningXCE

    LightningXCE MDL Novice

    Sep 29, 2012
    9
    3
    0
    Attempting a complete clean install now on my Surface. Using the original ISO copied to USB, and then inserting the drivers into the WIM files using the original driver zip posted with the ISO. Booted straight to the USB and deleted ALL of the partitions on the device before proceeding, it's at 70% right now, and I will report back later with progress.

    Has anyone done a total clean install like this before? I'm probably being a little reckless, but whatever. #YOLO #SWAG