Logging into Financial Sites with VPN

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by lostpassword, Mar 10, 2017.

1. lostpassword

lostpassword MDL Member

Nov 21, 2009
    As you can see I ask quite a lot of questions on this forum. I am not an expert like many of you, and sometimes find the answers hard to understand.

All I want to know this time is :

I seem to have difficulty on some sites using a VPN. Either I cannot even get the login site, or worse a transaction will fail halfway through. I was trying to make a bank payment which involves entering a four digit code received by a telephone call. The code has to be entered within a few seconds. If correct the automated ladies voice says entered correctly, all OK and call ends.This part was OK,but the bank website just hangs and screen says waiting for authorisation, and the payment does not go through. The bank IT service suggested a new ADSL filter (not joking) but account was not blocked.

After a few more failed attempts I suddenly thought to disconnect from the VPN. All worked perfectly first time. Amazon and EBAY are OK with VPN. Doing a search it seems a very common problem. Do any of you have similar problems?

Is there anything I can do? I am using PRIVATE INTERNET ACCESS with default settings.
    Many thanks.

2. Flipp3r

Flipp3r MDL Expert

Feb 11, 2009
    I'm using a VPN & I've noticed torrents/magnets don't work. I normally don't use them so haven't bothered researching the issue.
    With VPN off, they work...

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lostpassword

lostpassword MDL Member

Nov 21, 2009