Macrium Question...

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by ThomasMann, Jul 12, 2019.

  1. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    That is exactly what Acronis will do if you use the Acronis Survival Kit you already said you copied data files to other hard drive.
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    6,411
    14,135
    210
    But but, @ThomasMann wants to use Macrium, doesn't he?
     
  3. SciPhy

    SciPhy MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2018
    39
    8
    0
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    @Mr.X What you wan't and what you get is another question. :)
     
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
  7. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
  8. LittlePro

    LittlePro MDL Member

    Jan 19, 2017
    120
    18
    10
  9. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    Perhaps but don't get confused the only one available to you at the moment is Acronis unless you want to buy one of the others.
    I Was hoping for reply saying you had managed to do it:) but still thinking about it o_O
     
  10. SciPhy

    SciPhy MDL Novice

    Mar 13, 2018
    39
    8
    0
    To be honest, I'm a big fan of foss so ryt now I'm only using aomei backupper and macrium. The only confusion is that aomei doesn't backup a '16mb partition' when creating a bootable system image whereas macrium do backup that. Aomei says that it's not required as it doesn't appear in the selections for creating a bootable system image but macrium includes it nonetheless. Do you have any thoughts to share on this?
     
  11. vigipirate

    vigipirate MDL Member

    Feb 24, 2011
    135
    36
    10
    Hello
    yes microsoft recreat this partition of 16 MB sy she is not windows will recreat automatically
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,962
    3,276
    300
    recreate automatically is that after it thinks mbr is not correct and it tries to repair it ?
     
  13. vigipirate

    vigipirate MDL Member

    Feb 24, 2011
    135
    36
    10
    no
    the partition 16 Mb ses for UEFI not bios MBR if you save in bios startup on a partition gpt the restoration will not be the same with aomei backup of the system only two partition its recreat is functional
     
  14. EXO56

    EXO56 MDL Junior Member

    Mar 22, 2013
    70
    73
    0
    The 16MB partition is a Microsoft Reserved Partition (MSR) automatically created on hdd if configured in GPT and used as a scratch space for partitioning operations.

    Default partition layout for UEFI systems:
    - EFI system partition
    - MSR partition
    - Windows partition
    - Recovery tools partition (WinRE)