Modifying BIOS for Dell Optiplex 755 / overclocking with RW Everything

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by MarkConstantine, Apr 7, 2015.

1. MarkConstantine

MarkConstantine MDL Novice

Apr 7, 2015
    #1 MarkConstantine, Apr 7, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2015
    Hi everyone. I hope this is the correct place for this thread. If not my sincere apologies.

In brief

-Manufacturer: Dell
    -Machine: Dell Optiplex 755
    -Motherboard Model:
    -Bios revision: A22 (full filename O755-A22.exe)
    -Bios Type: Dell Phoenix BIOS
    -Bios Download Link: h t t p : / / d o w nloads .dell .com/FOLDER01133147M/1/O755-A22.exe
    -RW Everything Report Download Link: h t t p s : / / www . mediafire . com / ?sws38tp821abyos

Longer version

I've spent most of today browsing this and other sites learning about how to customise a BIOS, and I'm a bit stuck now. I hope someone would be kind enough to help me.

What I'm trying to do

I'm a hardware engineer working for a small charity. We collect, process and reuse or recycle IT equipment from various places, and then supply this equipment at low cost to other charities and non-profits around London. At the moment we have about 300 Dell Optiplex 755s with Pentium Dual-Core E2160 CPUs. We are refurbishing them to run Windows 7 for our clients, but even with 6GB RAM they are still much slower than I would like.

These CPUs handle overclocking very well, and the machine hardware is designed for faster, hotter CPUs. If the overclocking can be done, it shouldn't cause much trouble with heat or stability. The problem is that it is very difficult to overclock any Dell machine. I would like to make a customised BIOS which overclocks the CPU, and modifies other variables for the necessary stability.