moving from XP Pro to 2008 Server on new hardware+hard drives while keeping settings?

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by Jimmy_Smith, Jun 24, 2015.

1. Jimmy_Smith

Jimmy_Smith MDL Novice

Jun 24, 2015
    #1 Jimmy_Smith, Jun 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
    Hi, total noob but what is best process to do this while keeping networking settings and data etc?

2. Threat

Threat Lord of the Files

Feb 23, 2014
    Migrating settings and data is more common on clients.

For servers, I suggest you just setup new server along side and copy the data over manually.

You don't say much about the 2003 server .... is it a domain controller? If so then added the 2008 server as a domain controller and the Active Directory stuff will replicate over, you can demote the old server and decommission it. Make sure you transfer the FSMO roles over in this situation.

3. smeghead!

smeghead! MDL Novice

Aug 22, 2010
    I've used Jeff Middletons stuff at SBSMigration (ITProExperts) a few times with success tho mainly on SBS migrations. Given your doing just Windows things should be a lot simpler.

Without knowing what's on the server a simple process of: build W2008, join domain, robocopy data across network, migrate share setup & perms inc printers (MS have a util for this), test, dcpromo (decommision) old server, promote domain to native 2008. As you joined the domain all the Group Policy, users, login scripts, etc were copied automatically.

Lotsa stuff to tweak the W2008 way but this is essentially it.

HTH

4. Jimmy_Smith

Jimmy_Smith MDL Novice

Jun 24, 2015
    #6 Jimmy_Smith, Jun 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2015
    (OP)