Need help clean installing vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by vistadude, Oct 7, 2008.

  1. vistadude

    vistadude MDL Member

    Oct 7, 2008
    122
    1
    10
    I bought an HP desktop that came with vista home premium 32-bit. I would like to do a clean install of vista, but not using the factory restore discs, but rather using a normal vista disc. Awhile back I downloaded the retail discs from here and burned both a 32-bit and 64-bit dvd.

    http://www.mydigitallife.net/2007/05/08/windows-vista-free-direct-download-link/ (note the download links don't work anymore)


    Can i simply do a clean install with the 32-bit dvd and use the OEM key? Alternatively, could I use the COA sticker key? Finally, would either of these keys allow me to installed the 64-bit edition? I have all the drivers necessary.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. petar

    petar MDL Expert

    Apr 5, 2008
    1,188
    86
    60
    #2 petar, Oct 7, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Since your computer came with Vista preinstalled, it means that it the bios has a SLIC table.
    So all you need to activate is HP cert and one of this keys for the version of vista you intend to install.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vistadude

    vistadude MDL Member

    Oct 7, 2008
    122
    1
    10
    #3 vistadude, Oct 7, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
  4. petar

    petar MDL Expert

    Apr 5, 2008
    1,188
    86
    60
    #4 petar, Oct 7, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,714
    3,077
    300
    #5 urie, Oct 7, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Or you can Look here:
    Code:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/2389
    and here:
    Code:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/sho...t=make+oem+dvd
    on how to make your own OEM DVD
     
  6. vistadude

    vistadude MDL Member

    Oct 7, 2008
    122
    1
    10
    #6 vistadude, Oct 8, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    (OP)
  7. petar

    petar MDL Expert

    Apr 5, 2008
    1,188
    86
    60
    You can use keyboard shorcuts to backup your data without rightclicking...:)
    I asume you already know this, but never the less here is how it goes...:eek:

    Ctrl+C = Copy
    Ctrl+X = Cut
    Ctrl+V = Paste
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. vistadude

    vistadude MDL Member

    Oct 7, 2008
    122
    1
    10
    Why is windows so painful. Here's what I learned.

    For files, I can drag and drop them without much problem. This only moves files, not copies them.

    I can right click most data files and choose copy. If i'm fast enough, I can paste without causing an explorer crash. Keyboard shortcuts immediately cause an explorer crash.

    Shortcuts cannot be right clicked, or copied using keyboard shortcuts - hopefully I don't need to backup any of these.

    All exe files cannot be copied with shortcuts - drag and drop *may* work.

    This is going to be a joy to send to an external racing against time :p
     
  9. petar

    petar MDL Expert

    Apr 5, 2008
    1,188
    86
    60
    Hold down Ctrl while "drag and drop", it will copy not move the file..:rolleyes:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. vistadude

    vistadude MDL Member

    Oct 7, 2008
    122
    1
    10
    Hi Petar,

    Thanks for the awesome tip and for all your help! It works!

    Now, for the vista dvd, it burned correctly, but didn't verify. One or more files didn't copy when compared to the iso for some reason. I think I'll take the iso to another pc and try to burn it again.

    Arg,, I also realized that HP supplies most, but not all the drivers for 64 bit. The tv tuner driver is not available, I suppose the manufacturer of the card has a 64 bit one, hopefully it's not bloated. Also I won't have my cool Roxio burning software or lightscribe software. I'm sure there are some decent free ones but this version that came with my hp was simple and didn't have tons of useless editors and video makers.

    I also won't have Canon Photostitch, but I have it installed on an old xp machine already, or Digital Image 2006, but I supposed I can try windows photogallery or media center. Argg, and I heard my scanner's drivers for vista 64 bit are buggy :D