Net Framework 3.5 Won't Install

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Rock Hunter, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    423
    113
    10
    This is the first problem I've run into after installing and starting to install my programs.
     
  2. geobot

    geobot Guest

    #3 geobot, Feb 5, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2014
    How to install .NET Framework v3.5 offline:

    1. Mount a Windows 8.1 Disc on your drive (ISO file will do).
    2. Press Windows key + X then select Command Prompt (Admin)
    3. Then enter this command:
    Dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /All /Source:
    X:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess
    4. Where "X" is your source drive,(the drive letter where you'd mount your Windows 8.1)
    Make sure you change it before you press enter in CMD
    5. Wait for a few minutes until it says that this operation is completed successfully.
    6. Done!



     
  3. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    423
    113
    10
    I intended to post my original post in the thread about the new 8.1.1. That's where I'm having the problem. And yes, I've tried the above suggestions. They didn't work. I got an error telling me that it didn't recognize the command enable-feature.
     
  4. bodmas

    bodmas MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2011
    252
    132
    10
    post your command line here you used as it is to check where you are wrong.
     
  5. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    7,389
    11,614
    240
    1) Did you replace the /source:X:\sources\sxs with the appropriate drive letter?
    2) Was that drive available when you ran the command?
     
  6. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,226
    84,922
    340
    #7 abbodi1406, Feb 5, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Mount 8.1.1 iso, then run this script as admin

    Copy and save as net35.cmd
    Code:
    @echo off
    %windir%\system32\reg.exe query "HKU\S-1-5-19" >nul 2>&1 || goto :eof
    for %%A in (D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X) do (if exist %%A:\sources\install.wim set DVD=%%A:)
    set dest=%SystemDrive%\net35
    if exist "%dest%" rmdir /s /q "%dest%"
    mkdir "%dest%"
    echo+
    echo Copying Source Files...
    xcopy "%DVD%\sources\sxs\*.*" "%dest%" /e >nul
    echo+
    DISM /Online /Enable-Feature /FeatureName:NetFx3 /All /LimitAccess /Source:"%dest%"
    rmdir /s /q "%dest%"
    echo+
    echo ____________________________________________________________________________
    echo+
    echo Press any Key to Exit.
    pause >nul
    exit
    
     
  7. lllFATAL1TY

    lllFATAL1TY MDL Member

    Dec 21, 2013
    104
    90
    10
    #8 lllFATAL1TY, Feb 5, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    nice script abbodi :D


    btw, what's the difference between these 2 commands:

    DISM /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /Source:X:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess

    DISM /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /All /Source:X:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess


    the "/All" turn on sub-features of .Net Fx3.5 while without "/All" not?


    its better to turn on all NetFx3.5 features or only the major one? what will change really?

    NetFx3.5.png
    (pt-br language in ss)



    Thanks :p
     
  8. Rock Hunter

    Rock Hunter MDL Senior Member

    Dec 6, 2011
    423
    113
    10
    I tried it again this morning and it worked OK. I must have had a typo yesterday. Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  9. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    16,226
    84,922
    340
    Thanks

    nothing really, All switch is to enable all parent features (if any), not child ones
    and NetFx3 doesn't have parent features (at least in Client editions, don't know about servers)