No boot, blank screen and blinking cursor

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by saulob, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saulob

    saulob MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    28
    0
    0
  2. Stool

    Stool MDL Junior Member

    Aug 14, 2009
    71
    0
    0
    To fix your mbr, boot from your windows 7 dvd, choose your language, time and keyboard input.
    Click "repair computer"
    Choose "command prompt"
    Type: "bootsect /nt60 ALL" (without quotes )

    Reboot

    Edit: hit "del" to enter your bios to set your dvd as primary boot
     
  3. secr9tos

    secr9tos MDL Addicted

    Jul 28, 2009
    999
    133
    30
    agree this is the es easiest way, or just use search function next time...
     
  4. Calistoga

    Calistoga MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    420
    198
    10
    I believe he tried it. Otherwise, I would second this.

     
  5. RCOO

    RCOO MDL Senior Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    480
    8
    10
    Maybe it's because of upgrading instead of doing clean install?
    Maybe some vista config/files is left behind and prevents Windows from being activated via boot load.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. nfshp253

    nfshp253 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 13, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    Your MBR is corrupted, or some other important file
     
  7. Stool

    Stool MDL Junior Member

    Aug 14, 2009
    71
    0
    0
    You can also try removing ram. Maybe one of your sticks is bad.
     
  8. shortstp

    shortstp MDL Novice

    Jul 31, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    check ram

    Not a bad idea to confirm ram is good by booting to M$ memory diagnostic tool. Then if that passes boot to the Win 7 dvd and repair mbr as noted. I always do a full system backup before doing any major change. You can always restore the backup image. Good luck
     
  9. namchik

    namchik MDL Novice

    Nov 28, 2007
    32
    0
    0
    #9 namchik, Aug 18, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    i think this is not MBR, but smth worse: saulob wrote
    So his computer doen't boot from DVD either. That looks pretty much like my situation here:
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8356
    :(
     
  10. Lenmaer

    Lenmaer MDL Addicted

    Jul 3, 2009
    579
    3
    30
    If Seven DVD won't help, maybe Vista one will.
     
  11. shortstp

    shortstp MDL Novice

    Jul 31, 2009
    23
    0
    0
    #11 shortstp, Aug 18, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
    No Boot

    Make sure you have your boot device order set to CD/DVD first boot device in your bios. Put in your Vista Bootable DVD in Drive boot and repair mbr.

    Also, I had that problem once. I finally figured out the disk was dynamic after deleting the volume and remaking as primary disk basic it worked.
     
  12. Lenmaer

    Lenmaer MDL Addicted

    Jul 3, 2009
    579
    3
    30
    I think it's better now to wait that the thread maker gives us feedback rather than speculating.
     
  13. gary5709

    gary5709 MDL Novice

    Aug 13, 2009
    6
    0
    0
    cant see your ram going bad all of a sudden think it was working before so best stick to things youve changed and work through them first
     
  14. saulob

    saulob MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    28
    0
    0
    Thank you very much guys.

    Unfortunately I gave my computer to a friend and will only get it tomorrow morning, so I need to wait until tomorrow to try all the tips you all gave me.

    I remember that I tried using the DVD drive as primary boot option without success, gonna try again. I burned the Windows 7 on another DVD on 1x speed and created a repair disc too. I will try to fix the MBR from the repair console.

    Tomorrow I will tell you all what happened.
     
  15. HSChronic

    HSChronic MDL Expert

    Aug 25, 2007
    1,213
    56
    60
    Boot into windows PE or BartsPE or some PE. Remove the loader, reboot everything will be fixed.


    The blinking cursor only happens when your comp won't take the SLIC emulation in the grub boot code.
     
  16. robertz

    robertz MDL Novice

    Aug 4, 2009
    21
    0
    0
    Agree!
    The loader takes effect before Windows booting, so you see the black screen.
     
  17. saulob

    saulob MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    28
    0
    0
    Gonna do that. Fixing the MBR will not work, right?
    So, how can I remove the loader with BarsPE?

    And, if this loader didn't work I can't use any other loader?

    Thanks.
     
  18. Zaphire

    Zaphire MDL Novice

    Apr 14, 2009
    35
    0
    0
    #18 Zaphire, Aug 18, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2009
    Quote: No boot, blank screen and blinking cursor

    I had this happen a week ago after using the first Hazar loader on my HP dv7-1104tx notebook.
    I could boot from my DVD so went to a cmd prompt and used these two commands:

    BootRec.exe /fixmbr

    BootRec.exe /FixBoot

    I re-booted and back came my BCD menu.

    I then tried the Hazar-Orbit30 loader and Win 7 activated and all was well.

    saloub, I'd try and fiddle your BIOS to boot from your DVD or even see if you could boot from a bootable USB key and try those commands.
     
  19. saulob

    saulob MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    28
    0
    0
    Thanks Zaphire.

    But, where can I find that BootRec.exe file?
     
  20. Eleeter

    Eleeter MDL Novice

    Jul 3, 2007
    5
    0
    0