Overclocking Ati mobility radeon 5470 1gb

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by kaos420, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    #1 kaos420, Jun 19, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2010
    anyone know of a program for overclocking a Ati mobility radeon 5470 1gb i had one program for my desktop that does this for nividia. on windows 7 x64 bit ultimate. cant seem to fins a good program for this.
     
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,497
    15,285
    340
    Wrong thread, mods pls move it to Application thread.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    ya wasnt sure sorry....
     
  4. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Mobility = laptop.

    Overclocking a laptop card is a bad idea, most cards are actually underclocked so to work with the limited cooling ability that a laptop has.
     
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,497
    15,285
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,497
    15,285
    340
    That right.... overclocking is best for desktop cards.... though some gaming laptops come with factory-done overclocking...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
  8. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Gaming will test it out, the temps prolly wont change on normal use as most cards have 2d underclock for video playback, desktop and normal use.
    Then the higher 3d clocks kick in when you do the likes of CAD or gaming.
     
  9. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,232
    1,800
    90
    Safest way is to stress the gpu and see if it's not getting to hot, if it's cool enough at stress then it will always be.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    #10 kaos420, Jun 21, 2010
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2010
    (OP)
    ya so far so good. tried resident evil 5 and tom Clancy's hawx. no issues at all have everest installed monitoring it. everything's staying around 120.F max under normal use its at 114F so far so good.
     
  11. fdjc

    fdjc MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2010
    191
    21
    10
    Install CPUID's HWMonitor.

    It will record the current, the minimum and maximum temps as long as it is running, everest is real-time only to my knowledge.
    I would minimize a game to check temps and the GPU would drop like 10-15 degrees in a second (water cooled GPU btw) so I used HWMonitor to get min and max temps
     
  12. got2be

    got2be MDL Novice

    Jul 5, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Hi,

    what value did you put in your .cfg file for Rivatuner in order to oc this card ?

    I ever find 1002-68E0 for the ID...

    Thx
     
  13. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    #13 kaos420, Jul 5, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2010
    (OP)
    here you go bro I rared mine for ya. Replace yours with mine i made to unlock it for this specific board only. I myself & The site take no responsibly if you fry anything from going to much.mines been running fine. It does show max degrees for the board in blue in the settings slider.remember to press thanks..
     

    Attached Files:

  14. got2be

    got2be MDL Novice

    Jul 5, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Thank you for the file, ti works :)

    What are the maximum values you put in Rivatune for the GPU and the RAM ?

    ;-)
     
  15. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    like i said use the slide scale. what you can play with is the blue sector of the slider. i went about half just a mild boost.
     
  16. got2be

    got2be MDL Novice

    Jul 5, 2010
    3
    0
    0

    OK, personnally, i put the GPU frequency at 800/820 Mhz and the memory clock at 850/860 Mhz....

    I just wanted to know if it's possible to put them faster :)

    Thx
     
  17. mikemassi

    mikemassi MDL Novice

    Jul 14, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    Max stable overclock

    Hello all, im overclocking this card to 880\910 mhz in GPU and 980\1000 mhz in memory clock this has been tested when playing Crysis, with 910\1000 was crashed 2 times in 4 testing months, only keep cool your system
     
  18. gab8

    gab8 MDL Novice

    Jul 20, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    #18 gab8, Jul 20, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2010
    Whats a suitable temp for this card? i'm using the gputool stability test at 859 GPU / 839 RAM and it gets to 73 C°, whats a safe recommended temp?

    Also whats a suitable fan speed percentage? default is 30%
     
  19. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10