Please excuse me...

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by mrfantasy, Sep 17, 2013.

1. mrfantasy

mrfantasy MDL Junior Member

Sep 17, 2013
    I'm new at discussing the OS of Windows and the like; so please be kind. Now, I did upgrade from 8 to 8.1. All things being the same, I want to go back to 8. I've been coursing in this forum and found different ideas I can utilize. I know about win.old; nevertheless I cannot find it anywhere in my files or folders. Where did it go??? o_O I checked in This PC but for naught... If someone could help me, it would be appreciated. Thank you and God bless you.

2. Smorgan

Smorgan Glitcher

Mar 25, 2010
    Usually the windows.old Folder is located on the root drive of the operating system. In this case I would kindly suggest looking in This PC --> C:\. It will also be displayed as Local Disk.

Now about you wanting to downgrade back to Windows 8. There are two options downgrade by upgrading to Windows 8 or do a clean install back to Windows 8.

3. FaiKee

FaiKee Misinformation spreader

Jul 24, 2009
    If you install win8.1 over(i.e. replace) win8, you'll have windows.old, but since you said you did a upgrade, there won't be a windows.old.

I've heard something like "reset windows" then you'll end up with win8, haven't tried it myself. :p

4. Lich King

Lich King MDL Addicted

Sep 24, 2009
    Reset won't help.. i tried it on my lappy, it didn't worked..

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. intel_outside

intel_outside MDL Novice

Sep 8, 2013
    Or you could try System Restore if the upgradation keeps the Restore Point. However I highly doubt that if Reset can't do it whether System Restore can.

6. wasisdn

wasisdn MDL Novice

Sep 16, 2013
    just make a backup from win8 install partition before upgrading to win8.1.
    I was happy to go back easily to my previous win 8.0 installation after win 8.1 wasn't satisfying.

7. nitins60

nitins60 MDL Junior Member

Apr 9, 2010