Please help me clarify a simple Win10 build number question.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Alex Sisk, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Alex Sisk

Alex Sisk MDL Novice

Dec 11, 2018
    First time poster. Apologies if this is TMI,I'm a newbie as far as the Windows Insider program.

On a computer that is not my primary daily user, I'm currently running Windows 10 Pro build 1803. (I can afford to brick the hard drive without losing anything important, basically.)

I've followed the absurd saga surrounding 1809, and I've just not bothered with it for a couple of months. I was even willing to give 1809 a try directly, but no matter how many times I clicked on Check for Updates, nothing happened.

Today, [again since this computer is inconsequential], I decided to try the Windows Insider Program, and right now, Windows 10 Insider Preview 18298.1000 (rs_prerelease) is installing.

Are these preview releases simply the continuation work toward the perfection of 1809, or are these previews aiming for a release beyond 1809?

Your answer will probably clarify this, but is there any relation whatsoever between 1809 and 18298.1000?

I'm looking forward to hearing from someone, and thank you in advance.

Alex

2. orca99

orca99 MDL Junior Member

Nov 30, 2012
    You're mixing up version number with build number. 1809 is a version number based on a build 17763.xxx. 18298.1000 is a build number for version 1903, the next major upgrade version of Windows 10.

3. redxii

redxii MDL Junior Member

Aug 7, 2016
    18298.1000 is beyond the 1809/Oct 2018 release, any bug fixes/changes to the 1809/Oct 2018 release is 17763.xxx.

18298.1000 is testing for a public release slated for around March 2019, 19H1.

Windows 10 will never be perfected, they keep breaking everything including hardware support for s**ts and giggles on every insider build and wonder why people are angry, or going other routes to get around being forced to update every 6 months.

4. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human