Please help me. Something is critically wrong with my system and I am aimless.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Sandor Clegane, Mar 16, 2017.

  1. Sandor Clegane

    Sandor Clegane MDL Novice

    Mar 16, 2017
    3
    0
    0
    Hi all,
    I am running a Windows 10 Home laptop and since about a day ago I have been having strange problems. I am running into something that inhibits me from successfully running a system file check, successfully running system restore, and from unpacking the .exe from a .ZIP file. I can post the screenshots I have and will answer questions/comply with your instructions as to how to proceed. I am truly lost and spent my whole night and morning navigating through dense forums with many different answers.

    Chkdsk /r runs for a few hours and completes, with no messages coming up when I sign in.

    My sfc /scannow stops at 25% and tells me: 'Windows Resource Protection could not perform the requested operation.' Tried in Safe mode and normal.

    My attempts at System Restore similarly failed, running for half an hour and when I log on, I get the image that I attached. Tried in Safe mode and normal.
    restore.GIF

    Lastly, when attempting to unpack the Microsft Toolkit.exe from inside WinRAR/7zip, I get some strange error messages that don't allow it to run at all. Safe mode works, normal does not. I suspect something happened to my registry keys from CCleaner.
    whatthehell.GIF WHAT..GIF

    I am at a loss and do not know how to proceed. I have run CCleaner, Malwarebytes, Kasperky's VirusRemovalTool, and Avast full scans. I am scared the registry cleaner on CCleaner screwed something up (I already merged the backup registry file CCleaner creates to try and undo this mess).
    Thank you!
     
  2. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    If you did not save a copy of what ccleaner deleted you may have to do in place upgrade, google how to, we have whole new OS coming in about 3 weeks so............ :p


    Let that be lesson about registry cleaners, use REVCO uninstaller
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    #4 lobo11, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. PhaseDoubt

    PhaseDoubt MDL Expert

    Dec 24, 2011
    1,448
    278
    60
    #5 PhaseDoubt, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
    I don't suppose you created a System Image did you? If not, and Windows 10 came pre-installed on the laptop, you may can restore your system from the restoration partition. Of course that will overwrite all your personal data so you'd need to backup that to a secure location first. A USB HDD or flash drive for instance. Or, if you can hold out for a couple of weeks or so for a big update that's coming, that may fix all your woes.

    If this Windows 10 is a digital entitlement upgrade from 7 or 8.1 you could use the restore partition to get back to 7 or 8.1, then do the Windows 10 free upgrade again (it was still working as of last week) and start all over.

    Just take the time to backup, backup, backup.

    I realize this is an unpopular method, but if I were you having your problems, I'd secure my data, wipe the disk and reinstall Windows. It's just not that big a deal to me.
     
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,056
    20,261
    340
    When i read this it reminds me that my patch day routine (which is to always image the system with Acronis prior to checking/downloading/installing the MSU packs) isn't too over-cautious :cool2:. It's still a Windows... so never rely on its own restore abilities.

    Fortunately i couldn't notice any flaws here so far ... *keeping fingers crossed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    I think after this on Patch Tuesday I will wait a couple of days until I install patches, wait until I hear all clear, yikes :kick::sofa:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    340
    185
    10
    i ALWAYS get updates only after 4 to 8 weeks, any bogies will have been identified and removed/fixed. :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    #9 lobo11, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
    Yea, I might wait longer too, this is crazy :confused:

    I'm just going to put backup on (Acronis) I am not waiting till it won't let me do that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,432
    18,457
    340
    I don't have any problems with updates over here :):clap:

    And at wazzock, what assures you the update you install after 4-8 weeks has no problems?
     
  10. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    slave77, think I should put backup image on ?:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,056
    20,261
    340
    Why should you ...:g:?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami MDL Addicted

    Mar 15, 2014
    667
    520
    30
    #13 TairikuOkami, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Most issues related to updates are caused either by the security software or by the lack of a proper maintenance.
    You could try running Wise Disk Cleanup and advanced Windows Disk Cleanup, check health and file system as well.

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /CheckHealth

    if corrupted, run:

    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth

    Code:
    fsutil usn deletejournal /d /n c:
    chkdsk /scan
    winmgmt /salvagerepository
    del "%temp%\*" /s /f /q
    del "%systemroot%\temp\*" /s /f /q
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /StartComponentCleanup /ResetBase
    cleanmgr /sageset:65535 & cleanmgr /sagerun:65535
    
     
  13. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,472
    4,582
    210
    #14 lobo11, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Sandor Clegane

    Sandor Clegane MDL Novice

    Mar 16, 2017
    3
    0
    0
    #15 Sandor Clegane, Mar 17, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Bit of an update to give. A couple days ago, I couldn't run the things I mentioned or Dism Checkhealth / Dism restorehealth. I did a repair install of Windows 10 and, from what I can tell, things are up and running again. I also discovered that the .exe I was trying to unpack must have been bad, because I was able to unpack a different .exe (from WinRAR).

    I ran the two DISM commands last night and they worked perfectly, no errors found.
    I am going to try to run /sfc scannow again for good measure and will post back if it fails.
     
  15. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,507
    505
    120
    This should be a last resort, while looking at the error message, by taking to applying a system reset when all other option fails. I doubt it will work in this case. However, somebody suggested in-place upgrade and it quite makes a lot of sense rather than reinstalling all your apps or programs all over again.
     
  16. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    340
    185
    10
    because my dear little dutch hdd serial killer any bad or problematical updates will have been found/identified/replaced so seeing as ive only got pubic hairs left to pull out id rather leave the old man in the jungle than a deserted beach :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    340
    185
    10
    yes it is crazy so that is why i wait :cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,432
    18,457
    340
    But if you install an update that is published after those 4-8 weeks can also be a problematic one, or do you install the update that came out 4-8 weeks before?
     
  19. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    340
    185
    10
    when i am gathering a list of updates, once every 4 months, lets say a few days after patch tuesday, i will only get updates released up to the previous months patch day(as a minimum). i manually install them on a test paritition, restarting after each 1 if its needed. once that batch of updates have been test installed and checked for stability, then they go into my storage drive. 3125574 for 7(and prerequisites) go into updates/w7/sp2. the next batch will go into /sp3 and so on for each new batch. wazzock by choice, not by nature :cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...