question installing windows in uefi mode using usb stick

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by mreyna16, May 5, 2013.

1. mreyna16

mreyna16 MDL Novice

May 3, 2013
    i have installed a fresh copy of windows 8 enterprise x64 on my samsung series 5 ultra notebook

my question to you guys is, i want to install in uefi mode (i dont know if im making sense as im new to this) but am limited to only use usb as installation because my laptop does not have a disk drive and i would not want to buy an external one (unless it is my last option because i dont really use disks anymore and buying an external drive will be a waste of money). well, how can i do this? if i create a bootable usb using rufus can i install windows the way i want? i dont know if this is enough information to give me an answer, if you need me to specify what bios version i have, what exact model number i have, etc then let me know, thanks!

2. Tito

Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

Nov 30, 2009
    Latest version of Rufus supports making UEFI compatible Windows installer USBs.

:)

3. EFA11

EFA11 Avatar Guru

Oct 7, 2010
    #3 EFA11, May 5, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. mreyna16

mreyna16 MDL Novice

May 3, 2013
    Ok ill try the rufus first so it can be easier... question: just to be on the safe side as I am a noob with these new bios and computers, how can I double check if I can install an uefi installation? I'm not near my comp to check and post for sure but I beleive I have the option for uefi, both os' and just the other

5. murphy78

murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

Nov 18, 2012
    #5 murphy78, May 6, 2013
    I did a uefi install from usb flash drive using bios options and diskpart prepping.

open admin command prompt.
    run diskpart
    Code:
    list disk
    select disk X (where x is your flash drive with appropriate size)
    clean
    convert gpt
    create partition primary
    select partition 1
    active
    format fs=fat32 quick
    assign