Ryzen second gen chips

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Joe C, Jun 1, 2018.

  1. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,470
    1,338
    90
    As some of you know, I have been able to activate Windows 10 on newer pc's using gatherosstate.exe but after some discussion on another thread about installing Windows 7 on newer chips, and I found out that installing 7 on the second gen AMD chips (2400G and 2200G) that is not going to happen, unless some genius can get a work around on that one. But I did find out that installing any Windows 10 version after 1511 will accept a windows 7 or 8 key to activate, I got the parts yesterday for my AMD Ryzen 3 2200G and installed Windows 10, used an old Windows 8 Pro (not 8.1) key to activate and no issues. I am just posting to let others know from a different thread that this build went very well for me using 10 and an older key.
    I'd like to wish a thank you to Enthusiasts for that bit of info that made my life much easier
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    The Raven Ridge 2400G and 2200G apus are technically Ryzen 1.5 not Ryzen 2(2000 series). Their Vega graphics cores do not have working w7 drivers but the 300 and 400 series chipsets do have chipset drivers and Bristol Ridge was supported on windows 7.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    133
    35
    10
    The only thing I can come up with is to install W7 on a Summit Ridge (or other) computer and then move the disk to the newer Ryzen computer. Sometimes this works then it's not possible to install Windows properly..
    I doubt that it will work in this situation though.
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,405
    18,388
    340
    Afaik the OP is talking about installing win 7 only to establish a HWID, he used an old valid win 7 key to get it.

    You also could establish the whole HWID in a VM (win 7 or 8.1 > 10) and link it to a MSA and transfer it to the real windows 10 install using the activation troubleshooter.
     
  5. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    Both motherboards will be am4 using a 300 or 400 series chipset and both use the same drivers(?). I would check the bios legacy settings for usb.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    The only other thing i can think of its installation is being blocked by a windows update possibly and to try the zeffy patch.

    Gigabyte is showing support for Summit Ridge and Pinnacle Ridge.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    133
    35
    10
    It's just a trick to get the installation going. AFAIK, no settings are set for the individual system up until the first reboot, so it doesn't have to be similar HW.
    It might help in this case if you finish the installation on the older system first tho..
     
  8. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    You mean shutdown and remove hdd/ssd at 1st shutdown/restart in the setup? I have swapped hdds to another pc that had the same chipset without much fuss.

    I have heard that you can use the w10 bootwim instead of the w7 bootwim, i never tried it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,405
    18,388
    340
    Using the boot.wim from 10 will only help circumventing the usb3.x boot problem, it won't let windows 7 run without CSM enabled when using uefi or Legacy BIOS booting.
     
  10. SL2

    SL2 MDL Member

    Jan 18, 2012
    133
    35
    10
    Yeah, there are two ways to do it. Either swap at the first reboot, or just swap when finished (possibly with sysprep or similar). The former seems to be a more streamlined solution, while the latter might need som extra time or effort sometimes.
    I'd try both in the OP's situation, although the former is a nobrainer given that you don't neet at least two different Ryzen CPU's at hand.
     
  11. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    I wonder if anyone has gone straight from Bristol to a Raven or 2xxx cpu :dunno:

    Dont forget amd were sending out bootkits with a low end Bristol Ridge chip.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,470
    1,338
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    I would rather use windows 7 when i upgrade but i dont know if that will be this year or next(Ryzen 3000). If i cannot get w7 to work then i will just go to w10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. El_Heffe

    El_Heffe MDL Member

    Jul 16, 2007
    131
    49
    10
    Is this a problem with all Ryzen CPUs or just the 2200G and 2400G?
     
  15. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,470
    1,338
    90
    I dunno, because I am only working with a Ryzen 2200G currently, but it would be nice if you googled that and told us
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. lewcass

    lewcass MDL Senior Member

    Mar 10, 2018
    430
    229
    10
    #16 lewcass, Jun 2, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2018
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,470
    1,338
    90
    The article you linked is dated from last year, before AMD came out with the Ryzen APU. Today it's more than just USB drivers
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...