Simplix Pack to update Live Win7 System/ Integrate hotfixes into Win7 distribution

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Enthousiast, May 13, 2013.

  1. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    #261 f33nix, Mar 29, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    I probably have to do this for all the indexes in my aio right?
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,556
    15,642
    270
    Yes you have to
     
  4. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    #264 Daimao, Mar 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Should I just add the commands for each index before the compressing command and add the other indexes tot he compressing command?

    Code:
    @Echo off
    REM Create Mount folder for your WIM
    MD %~dp0MOUNT
    
    REM Mount index 1 to the Mount Folder created
    Dism.exe /Mount-Wim /WimFile:%~dp0boot.wim /index:1 /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT
    
    REM add all the drivers from x86-Drivers folder (recursive)
    Dism.exe /image:%~dp0MOUNT /Add-Driver /Driver:"%~dp0x86-Drivers" /Recurse
    
    REM Unmount the WIM and commit changes
    Dism.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT /commit
    
    REM Delete the Mounted folder (just in case it is left behind)
    RD Mount
    
    
    REM Mount index 2 to the Mount Folder created
    Dism.exe /Mount-Wim /WimFile:%~dp0boot.wim /index:2 /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT
    
    REM add all the drivers from x86-Drivers folder (recursive)
    Dism.exe /image:%~dp0MOUNT /Add-Driver /Driver:"%~dp0x86-Drivers" /Recurse
    
    REM Unmount the WIM and commit changes
    Dism.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT /commit
    
    REM Delete the Mounted folder (just in case it is left behind)
    RD Mount
    
    REM Mount index 3 to the Mount Folder created
    Dism.exe /Mount-Wim /WimFile:%~dp0boot.wim /index:3 /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT
    
    REM add all the drivers from x86-Drivers folder (recursive)
    Dism.exe /image:%~dp0MOUNT /Add-Driver /Driver:"%~dp0x86-Drivers" /Recurse
    
    REM Unmount the WIM and commit changes
    Dism.exe /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:%~dp0MOUNT /commit
    
    REM Delete the Mounted folder (just in case it is left behind)
    RD Mount
    
    
    REM Though you do not need this step I prefer to rename the boot.wim to source.wim
    REN boot.Wim source.wim
    
    REM Compress the indexes to file boot.wim with max compression
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:source.wim /SourceIndex:1 /DestinationImageFile:boot.wim /Compress:Max
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:source.wim /SourceIndex:2 /DestinationImageFile:boot.wim /Compress:Max
    dism /Export-Image /SourceImageFile:source.wim /SourceIndex:3 /DestinationImageFile:boot.wim /Compress:Max
    
    Pause
    Like this?
     
  5. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    AFAIK, you only add the drivers to BOOT.WIM Index: 2!!! You do not add the drivers to the Index 1 of BOOT.WIM

    The Windows Updates are integrated into INSTALL.WIM, where you normally choose to add to all 4/5 indexes.

    I do have the commands if you wanted to integrate the updates "by hand" but the Simplix Pack updates your Install.Wim much easier for you, hence why I only use this method now.
     
  6. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,556
    15,642
    270
    Agreed. Besides if you want to add USB 3.0 drivers, AFAIK they must be integrated to boot.wim index 2 ONLY and install.wim every single index you need, i.e. if you need an AIO you need to add them to all indexes, one by one.
     
  7. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    I had not drunk my coffee by this point, so yes Mass storage is usually Boot.wim index:2
    Then you should if you need other drivers for your all-in-one to integrate to the install.wim indexes one at a time.

    Like the Simplix tool needs to update each index in install.wim, so the drivers will need to be integrated 4/5 times depending on architecture.
     
  8. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    I'm a bit confused now.
    After applying simplix pack with index=* , how would I go about this?
     
  9. EaglePC

    EaglePC MDL Expert

    Feb 13, 2012
    1,254
    524
    60
    UpdatePack7Live.exe /ie11 /WimFile=D:\w7\sources\install.wim /Index=5

    what am I do wrong?

    View attachment 27864
     
  10. apologized

    apologized MDL Addicted

    Nov 29, 2012
    874
    507
    30
    x64 windows have 4 index
    x86 windows have 5 index

    Check & verify
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    966
    10
    #272 gamazet, Mar 30, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You are going from drive c: to D:
    Cannot do that, because Simplix Pack is using DISM/WAIK that is installed on system drive c:/
    Commands should be:
    Code:
    C:\users\Dan>cd/ (and press enter) (command cd/ is used to come to command prompt c:)
    than,
    C:\>UpdatePack7Live.exe /ie11 /WimFile=C:\w7\sources\install.wim /Index=5 (press enter)
    (UpdatePack7Live.exe should be placed on drive c:/)
     
  12. Nimbus2000

    Nimbus2000 MDL Senior Member

    May 5, 2010
    267
    186
    10
    I have been successfully using UpdatePack7Live on my D: drive for months. I guess nobody told my computer it must be on C: :biggrin:
     
  13. EaglePC

    EaglePC MDL Expert

    Feb 13, 2012
    1,254
    524
    60
    x64

    thanks da me yes it works even on D:

    UpdatePack7Live.exe /ie11 /WimFile=D:\w7\sources\install.wim /Index=4

    View attachment 27867
     
  14. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,556
    15,642
    270
    Yes I agree, but take into account, well everybody should, the workspace is always on C: drive. You don't notice this as the program does work silently on C.
     
  15. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    966
    10
    @EaglePC
    run the commands as from C: and tell us what happened :biggrin:

    Also, as apologized is saying, check the wim if it is 64 or 32bit. For Windows 7 Ultimate x64, image index is 4 (there is no index 5). And for Windows 7 Ultimate x86, image index is 5.

    @Nimbus2000,
    Windows 7 system is by default always installed on C:\ drive. As MisterX mentioned, when working with apps, games, and everything else Windows is using his system resources from C drive no matter if app or game or whatever is placed on other drive.

    I don't know what EaglePC has on his D drive, that's why I am cautious that there is something on that drive that maybe isn't friendly with WAIK/DISM used by SimplixPack.
    If error continues even on C drive, than I would recommend something else. Re-installing WAIK would be the last advice if nothing else helps.
     
  16. wachu13

    wachu13 MDL Novice

    Mar 11, 2014
    6
    3
    0
    Hello everyone

    I have a problem integrate updates to 64 bit windows 7 ISO (X17-59465.iso).
    My laptop running on Win7 x64, I'm using UpdatePack7R2-14.3.15.
    It's going well until get to KB2761217 then I'm getting - The return code is 4350
    after that every KB get - The return code is 0x800F0830
    I did windows 7 32bit ISO (X17-59463.iso) without any problems, but can't 64 bit.
    I did re-install WAIK, have enough space on HD still nothing.
    Today I tried do this on different laptop with fresh installed windows 7 32bit still the same errors.
    I have to re-install Windows 7 x64 on two family members laptops and doing it without all updates integrated will take my forever.
    Any ideas?
     
  17. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,556
    15,642
    270
    That being said, leave at least 10GB of free space on your C: drive/partition. Thus you won't get any issue with simplix's pack.
     
  18. Dovahkiin

    Dovahkiin MDL Novice

    Jan 4, 2013
    16
    0
    0
    Sup guys. I already have a Windows 7 iso file previously updated by Simplix Pack. Is there any problem to update it again? Do I need to rebuild the entire image or if I replace the wim file inside the iso it'll work just fine? Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    8,556
    15,642
    270
    Yes, problems could arise, grab an untouched iso file and start over again :)