Simplix Pack to update Live Win7 System/ Integrate hotfixes into Win7 distribution

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Enthousiast, May 13, 2013.

  1. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    Thank you Panchop. Your feedback will be sent to Simplix to see if it can be improved.
     
  2. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    According to Simplix, that is a Microsoft bug, and nothing can be done.
     
  3. panchop

    panchop MDL Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    138
    77
    10
    It's strange, considering that the x64 version display the number well
     
  4. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    This is probably a stupid question but if I use this to integrate all updates and ie10 into windows 7 ultimate but I choose to install professional, it will also have all the updates and ie10 right?
     
  5. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    It is not stupid :D
    If you choose to integrate in Ultimate you must put key /index=5 (for x86) or /index=4 (for x64). Professional will remain untouched.
    example: UpdatePack7Live.exe /WimFile=C:\install.wim /Index=5 (or =4)


    But if you want to integrate in all indexes in wim file (home, premium, professional and Ultimate etc.) at the same time than use key /index=*
    example:
    UpdatePack7Live.exe /WimFile=C:\install.wim /Index=*

    Useful command to see indexes in wim file is:
    Dism /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:c:\w7\sources\install.wim
    where "w7" is folder with extracted Windows 7 ISO.
     
  6. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    Thanks for answering :)
    If I integrate it in all indexes files using *, will the wim file be the same size as only ultimate or will it become even larger ?
     
  7. Maurioski

    Maurioski MDL Novice

    Sep 4, 2013
    7
    8
    0
    or use in command line

    dism.exe /Get-WimInfo /WimFile:"link ur install file"

    and get all info and index from ur file
     
  8. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    I already made a windows 7 sp1 64bit with ie10 and all updates using index=4
    What I want to know is if I remove the ei.cfg file ( so that I can choose which version to install ), will the other install ( f.i. professional ) also have all the updates and ie10? Apparently I have to use index=* so that it updates all versions but will it add all those updates for every version thus making the wim a lot bigger ?
     
  9. CEW

    CEW MDL Senior Member

    Jan 21, 2011
    273
    144
    10
    You will need to update all the images.

    That will not make the wim bigger than just updating one image. It will take a long while to do though.
     
  10. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    I want to use it for both professional and ultimate.So I'm doing it with * now.I guess 3 and 4 would have been enough for 64 bit.
     
  11. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    Yes better to use /index=*
     
  12. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    In case anyone is interested, my install file is now 1GB bigger than the original. When I only did Ultimate, it was around 700MB.
     
  13. CEW

    CEW MDL Senior Member

    Jan 21, 2011
    273
    144
    10
    Did you use max compression?

    If not, rebuild the wim using imagex and max compression.
     
  14. Nixeus

    Nixeus MDL Member

    Aug 14, 2009
    224
    18
    10
    Hello,

    Thanks a lot for this thread !
    I updated my Windows 7 sp1 with all the updates !
    Install ok.

    Just a question, i run the KUC W7 UpdateChecker in order to verifiy updates missing or bad and...it appear i have a lot of bad (+450) updates....

    Any informations about this please ?

    A bug ?

    Thanks a lot,

    Best regards,

    Nixeus
     
  15. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    I don't know how KUC checker is functioning.
    I know that Simplix UpgateLivePack consists of regular Microsoft hotfixes.
    You can use any that fits your needs.
     
  16. Daimao

    Daimao MDL Junior Member

    May 8, 2012
    53
    25
    0
    Nope, guess I'll give it a try.
    Can I use it on my extracted iso folder or do I actually need to install it on a ( virtual ) machine first to use imagex?


    Is that on a 64bit virtual machine? I think I read somewhere that it's a bug.
     
  17. Nixeus

    Nixeus MDL Member

    Aug 14, 2009
    224
    18
    10
    Hello,

    No, it's on a x86 EEEPC.
    I think there is missing updates and bad updates in the pack :(
     
  18. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    If Microsoft has bad updates than the Pack also have them!o_O
     
  19. gamazet

    gamazet MDL Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    279
    954
    10
    After finishing integrating updates and unmount, to compress Install.wim,
    Open Microsoft WAIK - Deployment tools Command Prompt
    and run subsequently these commands: