Slimdown10 – turn Windows 10 22H2 or LTSC 2021 into classic/legacy Windows

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Deleted member 190847, Feb 15, 2023.

  1. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice MDL Guru

    Aug 5, 2015
    3,320
    13,907
    120
  2. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    It’s strange why this is happening to you, nothing was removed from me, everything is still there.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. SunLion

    SunLion MDL Addicted

    May 11, 2011
    661
    1,626
    30
    Strange, because there is nothing in the script to remove the DVD folder.

    Maybe you removed the folder without realizing it. Using the mouse sometimes confuses us.
     
  4. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice MDL Guru

    Aug 5, 2015
    3,320
    13,907
    120
    I think you're right, ran now as expected & working. Tested in a VM, wmp is all good.

    Now what do I need to do to retain the generic windows Notepad app?
     
  5. SunLion

    SunLion MDL Addicted

    May 11, 2011
    661
    1,626
    30
    #1905 SunLion, Dec 9, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2024
    There is no need to edit the script.

    In fact, Notepad is already preserved and available.

    See the attached images.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice MDL Guru

    Aug 5, 2015
    3,320
    13,907
    120
    Thanks SunLion
    I found the error in my way I edited too much in the script! Redone this now & all is working as expected. I will keep testing this & soon
    may well switch over to Win 11 as my main OS.
    One other thing is it possible to enable "Microsoft-Windows-Subsystem-Linux "?
     
  7. letmeindude

    letmeindude MDL Novice

    Jul 29, 2011
    24
    31
    0
    #1907 letmeindude, Dec 9, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2024
    By default Slimdown10 will install .NET Framework 3.5 (EnableNetFx3=1).

    If you are like me and you don't want to install .NET 3.5, but you still want to use (most) apps which require .NET 2.0, 3.0, 3.5, there is a way.

    If your app name is BlaBla.exe than just create a file BlaBla.exe.config with this content:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <configuration>
       <startup>
          <supportedRuntime version="v4.0"/>
       </startup>
    </configuration>
    That's it, it should work with most .NET apps.

    EDIT: Wrong thread again. You should really open new Slimdown11 thread.
     
  8. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    #1908 sainfo, Dec 10, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2024
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. haber123

    haber123 MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    93
    43
    0
    I ran the "24H2_Integrator6.2_WMP" with 26100.1.240331-1435.ge_release_CLIENT_ENTERPRISES_OEM_x64FRE_en-us as my iso. It completed correctly, log showed no errors, and that the DVD folder had the expanded iso files.

    Wim info:
    Index : 1
    Name : Windows 11 Enterprise LTSC
    Description : Windows 11 Enterprise LTSC
    Size : 18,090,528,617 bytes

    Was it suppose to create a new iso file? I created the iso using ocdimg, I look forward to installing it.


    Little thing, going through the log, I copied start time and scrolled down to the end and pasted along side finish time just to compare. I thought wouldn't that be cool if the script put along side the finish time was the: "Total run time xx hrs, xx min, xx sec". Then I spent a half hour looking for how it could be done and gave up.
     
  10. Mavericks Choice

    Mavericks Choice MDL Guru

    Aug 5, 2015
    3,320
    13,907
    120
    It gives the expanded DVD files, you can easily make an ISO file by using this code:
    Code:
    LS
    @echo off
    TITLE Creating ISO Image of Miscrosoft Windows Eleven
    ECHO.
    ECHO Your image is now being created. Make sure oscdimg.exe is present.
    ECHO.
    ECHO Creating your ISO...
    oscdimg -bC:\Win11\boot\etfsboot.com -u1 -d -m -h -leleven_EN_DVD C:\Win11\ C:\Win11.iso
    ECHO.
    PAUSE
    EXIT
    Just adjust your paths to suit.
     
  11. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    #1911 sainfo, Dec 11, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2024
    Hi Sergey, please look where there is an error in my code - the script packs the image into the DVD folder, but does not create the Mount folder and does not mount the image:
    Code:
    ECHO.
    ECHO ============================================================
    ECHO Mounting installation image %maxindex%
    ECHO ============================================================
    If Exist "%Mount%" rd /q /s "%Mount%"
    If not Exist "%Mount%" mkdir "%Mount%"
    If not Exist "%~dp0Mount" mkdir "%~dp0Mount"
    "%DISM11%" /english /Mount-Wim /WimFile:"%WIM%" /index:%%i /MountDir:"%~dp0Mount%"
    
    And in this place too please:
    
    ECHO.
    ECHO ============================================================
    ECHO Setting environment path for the Windows setup
    ECHO ============================================================
    Set "Mount=%~dp0Mount"
    Set "%~dp0Mount=%Mount%\Install"
    Set "WIM=%~dp0DVD\sources\install.wim"
    Set "WimTemp=%~dp0DVD\sources\install_temp.wim"
    
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. sergey130270

    sergey130270 MDL Senior Member

    May 15, 2014
    272
    288
    10
    ok
     
  13. SunLion

    SunLion MDL Addicted

    May 11, 2011
    661
    1,626
    30
    Here is the all.txt file, updated to version 26100.2605.

    Copy it to the UUP folder, replacing the existing file there.

    That's it.

    Enjoy
     

    Attached Files:

    • all.txt
      File size:
      1.2 KB
      Views:
      20
  14. sergey130270

    sergey130270 MDL Senior Member

    May 15, 2014
    272
    288
    10
    Hi Sainfo. I'm checking now. I'll send you the script today.
     
  15. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    Thank you very much for your support!
    :shake:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. sergey130270

    sergey130270 MDL Senior Member

    May 15, 2014
    272
    288
    10
  17. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    This is a little different from what I asked you about, but still thank you very much for the work done - we will test it!
    :tankyou:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. sainfo

    sainfo MDL Member

    Dec 6, 2021
    167
    237
    10
    #1918 sainfo, Dec 13, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2024
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Dude Guyman

    Dude Guyman MDL Senior Member

    Jun 20, 2017
    329
    326
    10
    #1919 Dude Guyman, Dec 18, 2024
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2024
    I've got a question about an "ERROR: Access is denied." in the original v2.02 (and 202-64 continued). Using a WIN10 Enterprise 22H2 19045.5247 from UUP Dump (as usual).

    Maybe one of you have already sorted this or can tell me if I should just ignore it or what. It may have been doing this all along with all the other times I've made working ISOs and I just didn't happen to look at the moment this error flew by. I looked through the script from the fairly long section between "Applying Settings" to "Disabling trackers/loggers..." and could not find anything that jumped out at me as odd. The script continues to run normally and produces an ISO that seems good, but I have not tried to install from it yet. Waiting/preparing for an incoming, new graphics card.

    Code:
    =====================================
    Mounting registry
    =====================================
    
    ========================================
    Applying settings...
    ========================================
    
    ERROR: Access is denied.
    
    ========================================
    Disabling trackers/loggers...
    ========================================
    
    Disabling tracker Circular Kernel Context Logger
    Disabling tracker DiagLog
    ...script continues
    
     
  20. sergey130270

    sergey130270 MDL Senior Member

    May 15, 2014
    272
    288
    10