SmartVersion | Tools + Scripts

Discussion in 'Application Software' started by LostED, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    #121 Sajjo, Oct 20, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2019
    Yes, i too use x86 by default on Windows. No issues. This thing here with linux is new..........

    More testing
    I tried to create a patch using Windows 10 iso┬┤s:
    Linux smv x86 3.7 skipping < -compressratio> :thumbdown:
    Linux smv x86 3.6 skipping < -compressratio> :good3:

    Final size ~1 million bytes smaller than < -compressratio 119> :D

    I don't have a Linux x64 atm so cant say much, however, encoding and decoding seems a lot faster in a Linux environment compared to Windows.:wheelchair:
    Samplesize is small so this is just how I feel it.
     
  2. jim_p

    jim_p MDL Senior Member

    Dec 11, 2013
    253
    79
    10
    This all sums up that the 32bit linux version of smv 3.7 is problematic under most situations.
    The faster encoding and decoding on linux can be attributed to the better filesystem that it uses (ext4).
     
  3. 3zero3

    3zero3 MDL Senior Member

    Apr 26, 2012
    346
    459
    10
    I think, recompressing is faster? :thinking:
     
  4. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    Possible, give it a try:)
    Never tried recompressing from < -compressratio 192> to < -compressratio 119> and if that would make a difference to the issue with smv 3.7 x86 Linux version...
    Do you want me to try or do you have a Linux x86 runnin`?
     
  5. 3zero3

    3zero3 MDL Senior Member

    Apr 26, 2012
    346
    459
    10
    I do not have linux now. Sometimes i have linux inside VM, just to try something sometimes.

    I think, try to use the same nbhashbits parameter and see.

    Windows and Linux.
     
  6. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    Oki-dok, I can give it a try and post the result.
    :good3:
     
  7. 3zero3

    3zero3 MDL Senior Member

    Apr 26, 2012
    346
    459
    10
    It will be interesting to see 3.7 under Linux.

    If 3.7 cannot decode under Linux, is it even possible to recompress under Linux? (192 -> 119)

    If it is possible, then try 3.6 and 3.7, for recompressed (119) SVF.
     
  8. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    Already under control.
     
  9. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    #129 Sajjo, Oct 22, 2019
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
    @3zero3
    That actually works :good3:
    <smv m "old_svf_file" "new_svf_file" -recompress -nbhashbits 24 -compressratio 119 -sha1 -sha256>
    (add ./ in front of smv in Linux)
    Took ~10 s (smv.exe x64) on i7-4720 @ 2.60GHz with 8 GB ram using the same Windows 10 svf patch as previously

    Linux smv 3.6 x86 all good, smv 3.7 x86 no dice

    Edit:
    Original file - recompressed on Windows 7 x64 with smv.exe x86 3.7
    241170944 bytes | [el-gr]_el_windows_10_consumer_editions_version_1909_x86_dvd_30e49323.svf

    Time recompress | new size in bytes | switches

    23,0 s | 364374112 bytes | -recompress
    14,5 s | 364423240 bytes | -recompress -nbhashbits 24 -sha1 -sha256
    13,5 s | 365920864 bytes | -recompress -nbhashbits 24 -compressratio 119 -sha1 -sha256
    05,0 s | 376105172 bytes | -recompress -nbhashbits 24 -compressratio 160

    ~10 s faster with -nbhashbits 24
    ~18 s faster with -nbhashbits 24 and -compressratio 160

    All files are tested
     
  10. 3zero3

    3zero3 MDL Senior Member

    Apr 26, 2012
    346
    459
    10
    So, 3.7 can recompress from 192 to 119, but still cannot decode, even 119 SVF.
     
  11. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    smv 3.7 x86 Linux is nogo!
    It will work on smaller patches, like XP etc but with Windows 7 and 10 :nono2:
    It seems to be related to size somewhere.......
     
  12. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    @3zero3
    I did a re-test, didn't try recompress with x86 3.7 in Linux
    That works, but I still cant decode this recompressed svf file with 3.7, 3.6 is the rescue.
     
  13. Sajjo

    Sajjo MDL Expert

    Feb 6, 2018
    1,516
    2,040
    60
    Done some thinkering:
    A script to rename svf file to, say "svf file 192", then recompress using original svf name and then decode with 3.6 would be a solution.......
     
  14. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    6,354
    17,014
    210
    maybe @gvollant need to take a look
     
  15. 3zero3

    3zero3 MDL Senior Member

    Apr 26, 2012
    346
    459
    10
    Maybe I am wrong, but we cannot find out which compression was used.

    We can only recompress, even 192 to 192 or 160 to 160.
     
  16. BAU

    BAU MDL Addicted

    Feb 10, 2009
    859
    1,726
    30
  17. GezoeSloog

    GezoeSloog knows a guy, who knows another guy.

    Feb 10, 2012
    797
    5,839
    30
    Yeah, that's dangerous s**t :oops:
    My old i5 allowed me to enter Win+R: taskkill /im svfx.exe /t /f and survived.

    Switch to .dll would be nice, but w/o API description (and lack of experience), I think I can't overpower it.
    Also regularly updated ISOs discourages any desire to do anything else o_O

    Thanks for report :hangloose:
     
  18. jim_p

    jim_p MDL Senior Member

    Dec 11, 2013
    253
    79
    10
  19. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    6,354
    17,014
    210
    @jim_p

    svf file with zstd or lzham are not compatible with smartversion 3.6 and older

     
  20. jim_p

    jim_p MDL Senior Member

    Dec 11, 2013
    253
    79
    10
    Oh! At least 3.7 worked for once!