Some Tray Icons Missing

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Paft, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. Paft

    Paft MDL Junior Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    98
    3
    0
    #1 Paft, Dec 2, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    Sometimes the odd tray icon doesn't show up, yet that certain app it is actually running (visible in Task Manager).

    It fixes if I end its process and re-run the app or after a reboot.

    Anyone else experienced this?
     
  2. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Some more info ? which app icon(s) don't show up ?
    Is it right after starting the app, or some time after ?
     
  3. Paft

    Paft MDL Junior Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    98
    3
    0
    #3 Paft, Dec 2, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    (OP)
    Yes, when the app starts from bootup.

    Thunderbird and Miranda IM haven't shown this bootup. It has happened with Miranda a couple of times.

    I'll have to make a note of how many times this happens and which don't show. I don't always notice and easily forget.

    EDIT:I notice since I got the email notification of this thread Thunderbird is now showing.
     
  4. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    Could it be that those icons are set to only show notifications ?
    Try clicking the downward arrow on the left of the tray. Check those apps in the list and see if they are configured to only show notifications.
    You can set every icon in that list.

    Gen555
     
  5. KotaXor

    KotaXor MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    259
    6
    10
    Yap....I do have Eset icon missing at times though it is still running in Task Manager.
    And yes, it is set to show icon and notification.
    And EAV is also the latest version.
    But its ok...as long as AV is still running.:D
    Other than this, the rest is normal.:cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Paft

    Paft MDL Junior Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    98
    3
    0
    #6 Paft, Dec 2, 2009
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2009
    (OP)
    Gen, It doesn't make a difference. Also I don't want them to show on that taskbar. It's nice that they are out of the way hidden in that box area thingy.

    KotaXor, good to hear it isn't a problem unique to me.

    EDIT: I have noticed more not showing.
    Microsoft Security Essentials..
    Peerblock
     
  7. christantoan

    christantoan MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    54
    4
    0
    me
    sometimes IDM
     
  8. NoGoodNick

    NoGoodNick MDL Novice

    Aug 24, 2009
    19
    0
    0
    I've noticed it as well but, like you, haven't really paid enough attention to it to notice What programs are affected. Just seems that suddenly one or two live icons are missing (I've also noticed this with Firefox, where I'll click the little tool bar icon and see 3 displays, when there are Actually 4!

    So it's not just you. Seems like a possible but of some sort.
     
  9. genuine555

    genuine555 MDL Expert

    Oct 3, 2009
    1,639
    56
    60
    I'll assume you mean "bug" :D
     
  10. KotaXor

    KotaXor MDL Senior Member

    Aug 3, 2009
    259
    6
    10
    I guess it is a bug but not life threatening though.:D

    Sometime I do also have problems with icon showing when I had specifically customize it not to.
    It happen to IDM and utorrent's icon.:p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. DeathStalker77

    DeathStalker77 MDL Senior Member

    Nov 8, 2009
    332
    20
    10
    LOL, I just added a new thread on this issue - should've thought to search first. At least it's nice to know that I'm not the only one with this issue.