Start learning programming from under scratch using C#

Discussion in 'Mixed Languages' started by tempdisposable, Mar 22, 2021.

1. tempdisposable

tempdisposable MDL Novice

Mar 22, 2021
    Hi,
    I used to use this forum with no account to get windows and office stuffs.
    I am learning programming.
    I know nothing about programming.
    I will use C#.
    May you just give me some text books that start from under scratch so I can follow up in my own.
    I do not want direct tutorials but I need to have a solid foundation that I can build on it in order to be a software engineer.
    I want to have a logic and be able to build software that scale correctly over time.
    Thanks

2. nosirrahx

nosirrahx MDL Expert

Nov 7, 2017
    Big mistake, its totally worth getting the basics from the various tutorials on youtube.

I started coding in C# about a year ago and with nothing more than online tutorials have already progressed far enough to code basic games without any need for assistance.

I coded Tetris, a wolves and rabbits predator/prey simulator, asteroids, basic 3D maze and currently I am working on Pac-Man.

If you change your mind I can show you some of the vids I followed along with.

3. tempdisposable

Mar 22, 2021
    Thanks for your valuable time replying my thread.

I will follow your advice, please show me. But note that I know nothing at all as I am just a very basic and regular windows user, know nothing about mac and nothing about Linux.

Note: If I want to have that solid foundation that computer science engineers graduates have, what shall I do or what does it takes?

Honestly I was about to explore the undergraduate and post graduate curriculums and download its associated text books from the internet and study them all in my own, is it a bad idea to do so?

4. nosirrahx

nosirrahx MDL Expert

Nov 7, 2017
    I started from absolutely nothing but I did have a technical background so the math part comes pretty naturally to me.