Start Menu not opening

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by RocketSledder77, Apr 18, 2015.

  1. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    I awoke my computer from sleep this morning all day long, even after complete restarts and shutdowns I cannot get my start menu to open. Does any one have any ideas how to fix it?
     
  2. gap-computer

    gap-computer MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2015
    19
    3
    0
    can you try this (from M$)
    You may be able to correct this by re-registering the package. Run a Powershell script using the following steps:
    1. Press Ctrl+Alt+Del. Select Task Manager.
    2. From the File menu, select Run new task.
    3. Type powershell, put a check mark next to Create this task with administrative privileges and tap or click OK.
    Paste or type the following at the Powershell prompt, and hit Enter:

    Get-appxpackage -all *shellexperience* -packagetype bundle |% {add-appxpackage -register -disabledevelopmentmode ($_.installlocation + “\appxmetadata\appxbundlemanifest.xml”)}
     
  3. beta-hunter

    beta-hunter MDL Member

    Dec 14, 2008
    119
    10
    10
    what do you do if you get this message? thanks powershell.jpg
     
  4. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    #4 RocketSledder77, Apr 18, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2015
    (OP)
    That did not seem to do anything, not even after a restart. It just says: Command 'Get-appxpackage' cannot be found.
     
  5. gap-computer

    gap-computer MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2015
    19
    3
    0
    @ RockeSledder77 worked for me on build 10041, sorry, maybe i should asked before if you where running build 10041 or any other version.
    @ beta-hunter usually i do my own research on internet, if i can't find a solution by myself, then i probably will be doing what you're doing now, take a screenshot and ask
     
  6. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    I am running 10056. Windows was downloading 10061 when I went to sleep. Maybe when my notebook went to sleep while it attempted to install 10061?
     
  7. gap-computer

    gap-computer MDL Novice

    Apr 10, 2015
    19
    3
    0
    i though that one only was available for M$ employees [h=4][/h]
     
  8. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    Anymore ideas?
     
  9. Hadron-Curious

    Hadron-Curious MDL Guru

    Jul 4, 2014
    3,377
    459
    120
    When did you start experiencing that? Do you have a restore point on your system?
     
  10. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    Yes I did a system restore as far back as I can go, it did not work. I also did a fresh, upgrade, (not sure what it is called anymore) install. It also did not work. Is there a setting or registry thing that just turns it off? Maybe I can turn it back on.
     
  11. mariog60187

    mariog60187 MDL Novice

    Oct 8, 2012
    15
    3
    0
    Did You try creating a new local account?
     
  12. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    Yes, I attempted to make through User Accounts in Control Panel. It would not let me.
     
  13. dummekuehe

    dummekuehe MDL Senior Member

    Jan 11, 2009
    460
    99
    10
    install build 9926 and use a proper non XAML start menu
    stick with that build and wait for a windows 10 build that actually works
    and because that won't happen install windows 7

    i've always downloaded and used the latest builds of new windows versions
    but for now i won't go beyond 9926 because their new XAML start menu is an insult
    i can't even start to count the machines i've installed windows on
    if they choose to stay on that path i'm done with MS
     
  14. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    I had enough and just did a clean install. Of course it worked. :)

    Thank you everyone for your help.
     
  15. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    Never mind, it happened again on clean install. It happened after windows installed some updates. I removed them all but it had no effect. I then did a system restore to just before I installed them and still did not work. No one else is having this problem?
     
  16. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,029
    60
    Have you tried turning it off and on again.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. RocketSledder77

    RocketSledder77 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2012
    77
    2
    0
    I am not sure how to do that, but I did try the registry trick to bring back the old start menu. It did not work.
     
  18. myabc

    myabc MDL Member

    Apr 19, 2014
    120
    2
    10
    for some days!!! good luck
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,638
    1,921
    210
    May you should do an clean new installation?! On the end of the day that seems to be to save a lot of time, beside to have an clean system running!!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. maddog0266

    maddog0266 MDL Expert

    Apr 26, 2011
    1,066
    115
    60
    My start does not work any more on build 10056.
    Is there a fix for it.
    Tried rebooting but still not working.