Telemetry in Windows 10 Enterprise TH2?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by intelarmamd, Nov 15, 2015.

  1. intelarmamd

    intelarmamd MDL Junior Member

    Dec 21, 2012
    82
    37
    0
  2. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,392
    23,026
    240
    They call msft a liar regarding telemetry and spying, then they take its word regarding turning it off :D

    btw, the option is there since th1
     
  3. 90

    90 MDL Member

    Aug 21, 2015
    105
    10
    10
    What do you mean the option is there since th1? The option was there since the beginning, only setting telemetry to 0 does not really stop it, it is an illusion.
    I do not think this has changed in TH2.
     
  4. Bluescreen

    Bluescreen MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2009
    274
    30
    10
    Does Enterprise edition activated via KMS will send HWID to MS servers ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Blueingreen

    Blueingreen MDL Junior Member

    Mar 18, 2015
    66
    39
    10
    Despite all the announcements about MS giving enterprise users the option to switch off telemetry completely on new 10586 build (although it doesn't recommend it...), a tiny thing has changed, and not for the better.
    The core setting is well known: Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Data Collection and Preview Builds > Allow Telemetry.

    On 10240:

    0. Off [Enterprise Only]
    1- Basic
    2. Enhanced
    3. Full


    A value of 0 indicates that no telemetry data from OS components is sent to Microsoft. Setting a value of 0 is applicable to enterprise and server devices only. Setting a value of 0 for other devices is equivalent to choosing a value of 1.

    On 10586:

    0. Security
    1. Basic
    2. Enhanced
    3. Full


    A value of 0 will send minimal data to Microsoft. This data includes Malicious Software Removal Tool (MSRT) & Windows Defender data, if enabled, and telemetry client settings.
    This level is available only on Windows 10 Enterprise and Windows 10 Education, and IoT Core.

    From zero data to minimal data: well, not quite a step ahead in privacy policy.
     
  6. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,886
    2,926
    90
    #6 Nucleus, Nov 16, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2015
    KMS Telemetry can be disabled via Group Policy Editor. As I'm not running Enterprise at the moment I can't recall the name of the setting. Will look around the forum and post a link if found.

    Edit: Disable KMS Telemetry
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Bluescreen

    Bluescreen MDL Senior Member

    Jul 16, 2009
    274
    30
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. 90

    90 MDL Member

    Aug 21, 2015
    105
    10
    10
    Changing telemetry to 0 does not stop data being sent. Sniff your traffic and you will see.
    Removing packages does not stop all upload to microsoft either.
     
  9. Alberto_C

    Alberto_C MDL Junior Member

    Oct 21, 2015
    61
    11
    0
    Hi shewolf,

    And please, how to mount "install.wim" ?
     
  10. dvbman

    dvbman MDL Junior Member

    Apr 23, 2015
    67
    29
    0
    Unpack target iso then manage it with dism (located into Windows Assessment and Deployment Kit).
     
  11. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    7,392
    23,026
    240
    So they just "clarified" the option :D
    because in 10240, even if you set it Off, it won't stop it completely
     
  12. Alberto_C

    Alberto_C MDL Junior Member

    Oct 21, 2015
    61
    11
    0
    Grazie molte signor Shewolf, at last I find DISM GUI 4.0 and I'll go to do the job at home, this evening.