The Holy Grail: Get WMC on Server 2011, 2012 R2 and 2016 tp4

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by T-S, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. crash2009

    crash2009 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2015
    1,369
    198
    60
    #101 crash2009, Mar 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    Attached Files:

  2. snakeman

    snakeman MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2009
    35
    10
    0
    Crap not home anymore, driving :(


    snakeman
     
  3. crash2009

    crash2009 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2015
    1,369
    198
    60
    #103 crash2009, Mar 9, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  4. snakeman

    snakeman MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2009
    35
    10
    0
    But, the service still doesn't start!

    snakeman
     
  5. crash2009

    crash2009 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2015
    1,369
    198
    60
    #105 crash2009, Mar 10, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2017
    Post your code so someone can tell you where you may have went wrong.
     
  6. snakeman

    snakeman MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2009
    35
    10
    0
    Not sure what you mean by code, I just followed the procedure out line above can we use some logs located somewhere.

    Sorry if I'm little dense on this one trying to consolidate some of these servers.


    snakeman
     
  7. crash2009

    crash2009 MDL Expert

    Dec 8, 2015
    1,369
    198
    60
    to begin with I would like to know the results of...

    fsutil hardlink list C:\Windows\ehome\ehrecvr.exe
     
  8. snakeman

    snakeman MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2009
    35
    10
    0
    I will check when I get home,


    snakeman
     
  9. snakeman

    snakeman MDL Novice

    Mar 20, 2009
    35
    10
    0
    Sorry no time I had to put his off for while,

    I hope i get it going!

    snakeman
     
  10. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    I'm trying this out but I'm running into trouble already. I'll try to break it down into steps if anyone is willing to help out. Problem one for me taken from this list

    #1 Get the Abbodi's WMC package extractor here

    #2 Get your hands on a working W7 x64 WMC

    Problem 1 is that the link seems to be dead for Aboddi's package extractor. Problem 2 might be solved when I figure out problem 1 but what exactly is the best way to get ahold of a working copy of WMC?
     
  11. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,152
    1,927
    210
  12. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    #112 jachin99, Dec 28, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
    I should have been more specific. I will will be using this on WHS 2011 that has already been installed, and is currently running. Abbodis ready made package will work on that as well or not?
     
  13. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    6,152
    1,927
    210
    Do not know, never even seen interface of WMC, not something I needed for anything at all (Libreelec does all I need)
     
  14. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    Alrite. I read through the thread a few more times, then ran the script in a win 7 VM and chased error messages. Now I have two cabinet files ready for extraction to WHS 2011 HOPEFULLY. I want to use this with an app from the office avenue called WHS remote app. Supposedly this let's you run applications on a windows server machine from client machines as if they were running locally on said client machine. You can even deploy links to these remote apps to the dashboard and have multiple concurrent sessions going. So wish me luck
     
  15. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    I've reached step 5: replace the four files. I dont understand what to do here. Which files do I replace and what do I replace them with. Where are all of these files located. I have the ehome folder and all of that and it looks to me like everything is in place
     
  16. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    The link is down for those files on page one. Does anyone have a copy of them
     
  17. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    I used the policy editor to enable the Media Center SKU to a registry value of 1 and WMC starts up. I didn't have to use the "four patched files" I would still like to know what they are, and if I run into any more troubles (I wonder if WMC will even see my tuners) I'll post here. Would it be wrong to post a link to download the Extracted WMC cab files to make this a little easier. With those I can probably narrow this down to three or so steps, and they are just clicking through.
     
  18. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    I swapped out the Packages folder under Programdata/Ehome with a version that had Netflix enabled, and Ran epg123 setup. Afterwards I had to run the policy editor in order to get rid of an error message saying something like "some policy doesn't allow you to use this program" when I tried to start WMC.
     
  19. jachin99

    jachin99 MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2016
    64
    5
    0
    I got WMC completely setup in WHS 2011 except Live TV. I ran into an issue where WMC could not see my tuners, and then I realized the policy editor broke the dashboard so, i did bare metal restore to a point before WMC had been installed. I can now use my dashboard but what is strange is that WMC is still on the machine, and I'm getting the policy error from before. How can I be sure that my restore was successful vs. the policy edit I performed did not stick?
     
  20. zaide_chris

    zaide_chris MDL Novice

    Feb 5, 2016
    1
    0
    0
    This is the pack I built for installing and uninstalling WMC on WHS.
    I just tidied it up to share, hopefully it will help some people, especially with the dead link in the 1st post.
    But I make no I make no guarantees everything will work.

    https:// :mad: .datafilehost. :confused: /d/468115e9
    :mad: = www
    :confused: = com
    ^ Sorry I'm a long time lurker and don't have the 5 posts needed for links

    Running Install.cmd as an administrator gives you a menu for installing/uninstalling each of WMC it's self , the patches for WHS and the RDP patches.

    It has the 4 patched files ehrecvr.exe, ehsched.exe, ehtray.exe and ehuihlp.dll from the 1st post in the install folder. If you don't trust/want to use my script.

    Code:
      File: WMC7601x64-Installer-For-WHS.7z
    CRC-32: b2e2bb0b
       MD4: e319404e9249d56de4125e11894271e3
       MD5: 1f5931091ab42894a5c40795ceb7f220
     SHA-1: cd0b034bafdc45e420580a2a71bd697dcc9fe8bf