The Windows 7 SP1 USB Driver Bug (what it is and how to fix it)

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Enigma256, Feb 6, 2011.

  1. regal

    regal MDL Member

    Aug 26, 2009
    153
    6
    10
    So this bug only affects the installer not the full iso's? And we don't have a M$ installer hash, so there is a possibility that the official SP1 installer will have these issues fixed?
     
  2. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    301
    10
    Yes.

    We do have the official MSFT installer hash, and the one leaked via wzor is the "final and official" installer. And none of the hotfixes available via WU addresses this issue. So no, these issues have not yet been addressed in any official way.
     
  3. luckman212

    luckman212 MDL Novice

    Sep 25, 2008
    33
    3
    0
    Is there an easy way to see if you've been hit w/ this bug? I did an in-place upgrade over my existing Win7 retail installation, using the slipstreamed MSDN iso.
     
  4. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    301
    10
    #24 Enigma256, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Run this from the command prompt:
    Code:
    cd %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers
    dir usbehci.sys usbport.sys winusb.sys
    And if any of the files are dated July 2009 instead of November 2010, then you are affected.

    (Alternatively, you can press the Windows+R key combination and paste in cmd /k pushd %SystemRoot%\System32\drivers & dir usbehci.sys usbport.sys winusb.sys)
     
  5. jabberwocky

    jabberwocky MDL Member

    Aug 28, 2009
    202
    15
    10
    I used the standalone installer on 2 systems , both have those usb files dated 2010 and all usb devices ,usb2 and usb 3 performing perfectly .
     
  6. sunnybear

    sunnybear MDL Novice

    Jul 28, 2009
    26
    0
    0
    #26 sunnybear, Feb 17, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    i just did, and it shows
    Code:
     Directory of C:\Windows\System32\drivers
    
    11/20/2010  02:44 AM           343,040 usbhub.sys
    
     Directory of C:\Windows\System32\drivers
    
    07/14/2009  11:06 AM           324,608 usbport.sys
    
     Directory of C:\Windows\System32\drivers
    
    11/20/2010  02:43 AM            41,984 winusb.sys
    so only usbport.sys is affected, how should I only update this one file instead of all three of them?
    thanks
     
  7. Enigma256

    Enigma256 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 17, 2011
    354
    301
    10
    Oops. Sorry, I made a mistake in the post that I just made. usbhub.sys is not one of the affected files, but usbehci.sys. You should check usbehci.sys instead of usbhub.sys (I updated my post with the correction).

    If you run the batch file in the first post, it will replace all three files--usbehci, usbport, and winusb--with the 17514 version found in the driver repository. So in the case of winusb.sys, since you are already using the 17514 version, it will just be replacing the existing file with an identical file, and it doesn't matter.
     
  8. sE7c0d3

    sE7c0d3 MDL Novice

    Jan 21, 2011
    24
    5
    0
    @Enigma256

    thanks, it solved my problem.
    good work!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. buzz123

    buzz123 MDL Junior Member

    May 9, 2009
    55
    10
    0
    Well, SP1 was pushed on Windows update yesterday, and this bug in fact hit my system...

    Waiting to see if MS puts out a hotfix to correct it before I self-repair, though!
     
  10. Adidas

    Adidas MDL Novice

    Aug 26, 2009
    33
    7
    0
    Did any one else encountered this issue after isntalling SP1 using WU?
    ive had the USB bug on my other OS after upgrading to SP1 using the SP1 installer and the solution here didnt helped to fix the issue, had to reinstall WIN 7.
     
  11. sE7c0d3

    sE7c0d3 MDL Novice

    Jan 21, 2011
    24
    5
    0
    I have error after run this fix. More popup appear on my desktop.
    When plug-in usb drive for first use.

    error about dinotify.exe

    now I'm revert back to default.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Snoopy_garnet

    Snoopy_garnet MDL Novice

    Feb 9, 2011
    37
    5
    0
    I updated four Win 7 64 bit computers to SP1 today. Three I used the downloaded 903 MB file and one I let WU install it. The results were all the same; the 3 files in question were all dated 2009. I used Enigma256's fix and updated them all.
     
  13. fioskid

    fioskid MDL Novice

    Feb 22, 2011
    29
    109
    0
    everything ok here.
     
  14. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart MDL Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    150
    33
    10
    #34 Squall-Leonhart, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
    i have now got word of users of the official SP1 Win 7 + SP1 iso's having the "This device can perform faster" message. and the USB files are not signed.

    running the batch script corrected the issue for these users as well.

    also

    not totally correct, while its true 32bit apps cannot access system32 directly, windows provides the sysnative directory, which provides 32bit apps a method of interacting with the 64bit system32.
     
  15. TONPumper

    TONPumper MDL Member

    Jan 2, 2011
    135
    5
    10
    Question: If this is a big deal, won't Microsoft just release an update to fix it?
     
  16. Squall-Leonhart

    Squall-Leonhart MDL Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    150
    33
    10
    Bigger Question: Have you bothered notifying MS that this is an issue?
     
  17. TONPumper

    TONPumper MDL Member

    Jan 2, 2011
    135
    5
    10
    Mine updated fine
     
  18. aznkid25

    aznkid25 MDL Member

    Aug 20, 2009
    199
    25
    10
    After running the batch file, all three files now are the 2009 version. Before I ran the batch file, only one was 2009. Did I do something wrong? How can I fix it?
     
  19. waycrazy

    waycrazy MDL Novice

    Jan 25, 2011
    3
    0
    0
    #39 waycrazy, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
    Just installed SP1 through windows update today and had usbehci.sys and usbport.sys showing 2009. Ran the batch and now everything's up to date. Many thanks.
     
  20. Win7_User

    Win7_User MDL Novice

    Nov 22, 2010
    29
    7
    0
    Thanks a lot for this, it really helped with one of my systems.