Tiworker.exe CPU usage and disk

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by CalinTM, Jul 28, 2014.

  1. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    Sorry for the new thread, but i have another issue.

    I noticed when i let my PC on idle, afer 3-4 minutes a TiWorker.exe starts to use my CPU and disk usage, very bad, like 100%, and it stops only when i touch and move my mouse.

    I have 2 SSD's, and they both have been formated, and cleaned, with secure erase, so there is no viruses.

    Or could be ? Could be some virus related to my internet connection ?
     
  2. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    476
    235
    10
    #2 Wazoo, Jul 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    So what this basically does when the PC is on idle ? I really dont remember having this in the past, must be with some stupid windows 8.1 update...
     
  4. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    476
    235
    10
    Never seen it myself but there may be others here in the forum who have encountered it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,779
    1,088
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    So it has to do with some windows update...
     
  7. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,779
    1,088
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    Opened task manager and resource monitor, and watched when the PC goes to idle.

    The TiWorker.exe started, after 3 mins, then after 10 mins he stopped, and now it seems it stopped for good when the PC is idleing...

    how strange...
     
  9. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    Ok people i have found the issue of TiWorker. exe !!

    First i used that CMD line, and it worked, i never had CPU usage on idle, then i wanted to reinstall again the OS.

    I reinstalled it today, installed drivers, up to date, installed windows updates.

    Then waited in idle with task manager and resource monitor on the screen until the TiWorker.exe starts to use my CPU usage. As usual, after 5- minutes TiWorker.exe started to use my CPU usage.

    So then i realized was not a virus issue, or anything else, as u know the iso's here are untouched and very clean, so its not the OS.

    Then i got into Task Scheduler, and i found a schedule for Idle Maintenance, was set to Ready, and the last time was used, was exactly the time when TiWorker.exe started to suck my CPU usage in idle. Then i set to Disabled that Idle Maintenance. And looked in idle once again for TiWorker.exe

    And it never appeared. So this was the issue, Windows 8.1 + updates makes some kind of Maintenance, everytime the OS is in idle for 5 minutes, and that Maintenance, never stops, it goes non-stop, and using my CPU as if i play some games.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1111.jpg
      1111.jpg
      File size:
      232.9 KB
      Views:
      46
  10. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    476
    235
    10
    #10 Wazoo, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,976
    19,922
    340
    Noticed it running on my up-to-date Pro WMC from time to time, but it closes after short time :g:.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    I have the Core x64 version from Paul's magnetic thread, + my legit windows 8.0 key.

    And all updated installed + drivers, all fresh. Nothing more, nothing less.

    @s1ave77: I think Task Scheduler lets me config, when that Idle Maintenance starts, and how long it lasts. But i dont care, i Disable it for good now.

    Also i think i had this in the past, but i didnt noticed because usually when my PC is let on idle, im out in town...


    PS: Also i tested it, i enabled it again, and within about 5-7 minutes those TiWorker.exe stars to bump in and suck the CPU usage. And when i disable it + reboot, it can stay in idle, with 1% CPU usage.
     
  13. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    Which core x64 version comes out of the box? I only uploaded pro/core but no single core stuff. Please advise
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0

    This one i downloaded:

    from- Core/Pro X64 with update all languages
    and -
    en-gb_windows_8.1_with_update_x64_dvd_4048142.iso
    Languages: English
    SHA1: 1F18420D65956DFE56E2359DA71AB6C363146570

    And ive put a core generic key to pass the key requirement on installation, then my legit core key on activation. So that makes a entire Core editon.
     
  15. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    7,008
    7,165
    240
    #15 PaulDesmond, Jul 29, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2014
    ok, if you installed this edition with a generic key, you should be able to activate with any legit core key without any nag screens or whatsoever since my files all originate from MS directly. Check any additional software like AV crap if any
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    476
    235
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    Ok i will disable that too.
    EDIT: I can't i dont have the rights, and your link doesnt work...

    Paul again, thanks for your iso's, too bad MS dont let win8.0 customers to download a free copy of windows 8.1
    They are really jerks, not allowing to pass the installation of win8.1 with a 8.0 key, but allowing to activate with a 8.0 key :))
     
  18. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
  19. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    476
    235
    10
    #19 Wazoo, Jul 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2014
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. CalinTM

    CalinTM MDL Junior Member

    Aug 6, 2012
    68
    3
    0
    I've disabled all of those with PsExec, as i said above...