Tool to Insert/Replace SLIC in Phoenix / Insyde / Dell / EFI BIOSes

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by andyp, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. MaKCuMyC

    MaKCuMyC MDL Novice

    Jul 31, 2009
    14
    3
    0
    #1101 MaKCuMyC, Oct 12, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  2. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    Hi andy, I just wanna ask something, I'm tryin' to make sure what I do is right, I mods Toshiba Satellite L645, it had marker 2.1 on it (TOSQCI-TOSQCI00) but the OEM ID identified as Insyde Calpella, then I remember my previous bios mods that failed, I began to experiment with ur tools, here's the details :

    1. Manufactured : I choose other
    2. Slics file : I choose Toshiba[TOSQCI-TOSQCI00-LTP]2.1.BIN (same as the slics file from the original bios file)
    3. Method : Dynamic
    4. Advanced : I choose only copy SLIC header from OEM/Table ID

    Bios slics generated succesfully, then I test n it work succesfully, the lappy had the slics visible.

    The question is, do I use the right steps for this? It sounds dumb becuz I've had test n it work but recently there's someone who request the bios mods for this lappy type n I've post it but I dont want to brick their lappy, the original post is here [post]330796[/post]

    Thx in advance!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    #1103 ar_seven_am, Oct 15, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. andyp

    andyp SLIC Tools Author

    Aug 8, 2008
    1,673
    2,570
    60
    Interesting. I can't see the RW report. Is there any SLIC there at all, as there is a 2.1 SLIC in the BIOS.
    I think there is a lock and could make an experimental version to test.
    Are you saying the one you did works??

    Andy

     
  5. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    Yes & no andy, yes it work for me, tested three times, n no it doesn't work for the requester, I've make his notebook BSOD (but still can boot, normal post screen, windows complain bios is not acpi compatible) but the worst things when he try to reflash his bios to the original, he turn off the notebook before the bios flashing procedure end, now the notebook totally dead, oh my ... :hummer:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. andyp

    andyp SLIC Tools Author

    Aug 8, 2008
    1,673
    2,570
    60
    Do you have a RW report from your notebook and his notebook before the mod??

    Andy

     
  7. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    No, the notebook belong to my friend n it sold yesterday, as to the requester he had send to the retailer but becuz it only 4 days n the warranty service card give new one, as they run out of stock so they exchanged into dell vostro 3500, but I'll give some if there's some consument buy new lappy n they want toshiba l645.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. andyp

    andyp SLIC Tools Author

    Aug 8, 2008
    1,673
    2,570
    60
    #1110 andyp, Oct 17, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    I also wonder if there is a lock that can be patched, as the BIOS contains a complete SLIC. If you are happy to test I would be inclined to patch the following:

    Code:
    .text:0000000000400953                 mov     rax, cs:qword_402478
    .text:000000000040095A                 lea     r9, [rsp+3F8h+var_358]
    .text:0000000000400962                 lea     rdx, [rsp+3F8h+var_3A0]
    .text:0000000000400967                 lea     rcx, aSlp2      ; "SLP2"
    .text:000000000040096E                 mov     [rsp+3F8h+var_358], 200h
    .text:000000000040097A                 mov     [rsp+3F8h+var_3D8], r13
    .text:000000000040097F                 call    qword ptr [rax+48h]
    .text:0000000000400982                 test    r15, rax
    .text:0000000000400985                 jnz     loc_400B3B - ** NOP JNZ **
    .text:000000000040098B                 mov     eax, cs:dword_40221C
    .text:0000000000400991                 mov     cs:dword_402410, eax
    .text:0000000000400997                 movzx   eax, cs:word_402220
    .text:000000000040099E                 mov     cs:word_402414, ax
    .text:00000000004009A5                 mov     rax, cs:qword_402222
    .text:00000000004009AC
    .text:00000000004009AC loc_4009AC:                             ; CODE XREF: sub_40058C+3C5j
    .text:00000000004009AC                 lea     rbp, dword_402090
    .text:00000000004009B3                 xor     r8d, r8d
    .text:00000000004009B6                 mov     edx, 176h
    .text:00000000004009BB                 mov     rcx, rbp
    .text:00000000004009BE                 mov     cs:qword_402080, rax
    .text:00000000004009C5                 call    sub_4019B5
    .text:00000000004009CA                 lea     rcx, unk_40209A
    .text:00000000004009D1                 mov     r8d, 6
    .text:00000000004009D7                 mov     dl, 20h
    .text:00000000004009D9                 mov     cs:dword_402090, 'CILS'
    .text:00000000004009E3                 mov     cs:dword_402094, 176h
    .text:00000000004009ED                 mov     cs:byte_402098, 1
    .text:00000000004009F4                 mov     cs:byte_402099, bl
    .text:00000000004009FA                 call    sub_401A0C
    
     
  9. andyp

    andyp SLIC Tools Author

    Aug 8, 2008
    1,673
    2,570
    60
    #1111 andyp, Oct 17, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Just for future reference I wonder if this is the lock

    Code:
    text:000000018000053C
    .text:000000018000053C loc_18000053C:                          ; CODE XREF: sub_1800002A0+FEj
    .text:000000018000053C                 mov     cl, 0BFh
    .text:000000018000053E                 call    sub_1800014E0
    .text:0000000180000543                 cmp     al, 4Dh
    .text:0000000180000545                 jnz     short loc_180000552 ; ?? patch to JMP
    .text:0000000180000547                 mov     cl, 0BEh
    .text:0000000180000549                 call    sub_1800014E0
    .text:000000018000054E                 cmp     al, 53h
    .text:0000000180000550                 jz      short loc_18000055D
    .text:0000000180000552
    .text:0000000180000552 loc_180000552:                          ; CODE XREF: sub_1800002A0+2A5j
    .text:0000000180000552                 mov     rcx, [rsi]
    .text:0000000180000555                 mov     rdx, rbp
    .text:0000000180000558                 call    sub_1800007A8   ; ? process SLIC
    .text:000000018000055D
    .text:000000018000055D loc_18000055D:                          ; CODE XREF: sub_1800002A0+12Bj
    
     
  10. tiduskg

    tiduskg MDL Novice

    Oct 3, 2010
    6
    0
    0
    I already try this, but OEM/TableID still "_ASUS__ASUS_" and SLIC toolkit report that "invalidated" and W7 not active. I don't know why? Pl, help me!!!!!!!!
    When I load unmodded BIOS to Pheonix, the program report that in BIOS have pubkey(x2), marker(x1) and SLIC table, but it not visible in RW report. I think that table has locked. I will try any solution that can unlock that module.
     
  11. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    #1114 ar_seven_am, Oct 18, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    I should know that, I should choose SSV2 method for that, right? Most of notebook/mobo bios now already had slics 2.1 but it's locked! My mistake, I should take a look at the RW file!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. SubZeroX

    SubZeroX MDL Novice

    Oct 23, 2010
    1
    0
    0
    Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2 BIOS Decompile

    Perhaps someone can help me. I am trying to get a DSDT.aml file from my BIOS in order to run Darwin Linux on a Dell Inspiron XPS Gen 2. The following hardware is installed:

    Intel Pentium M ~2128 MHz
    2 GB (2x1gb) RAM
    BIOS Version/Date: Dell Inc. A05, 9/28/2005
    nVidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX 256 MB PCI-Express x16 (not on MB, plug-in module)
    SigmaTel C-Major Audio

    I used the Dell installer package IXPS2A05.exe from Dell's website, as it's the same BIOS I flashed my laptop with years ago to make the 7800 GTX work properly. I used a command line parameter to get two files from it, a ROM file and a HDR file, both of which I can supply. I am having trouble finding a working de-compiler for the BIOS file and the ACPI Patcher program I have that can pull a DSDT file out of the BIOS can't recognize the code since it was designed for AWARD or AMI BIOS files. Can I safely assume that my DELL BIOS is Phoenix-based? Or can anyone give me pointers so I can get my project moving again?

    Thanks.
     
  13. kizwan

    kizwan MDL Member

    Mar 6, 2010
    189
    31
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. fisherman

    fisherman MDL Novice

    May 5, 2008
    32
    0
    0
    Would like to use the new MDL logo in a Dell BIOS

    Post removed wrong thread?
    jj
     
  15. ar_seven_am

    ar_seven_am MDL Senior Member

    Mar 7, 2010
    398
    129
    10
    Andy, most of latest notebook bios had same case as Acer now, have complete slics but incomplete marker (zeroes marker), it will reported not complete in rw report if u try to mods with phoenix tools earlier version n it will detect as bad slics with Daz windows loader. I think SSV2 would be the best option for this, right? Some of manufactured (like Acer or HP) can be solved with advanced option, no slics but what about the others?

    UPDATE

    IF U HAVE TOSHIBA NOTEBOOK WITH LATEST BUILD, BEFORE TRYIN' TO MODS THE BIOS U MUST FLASH WITH THE ORIGINAL BIOS FIRST, AN EXAMPLE IF U HAVE F17 BIOS VERSION AND WANT TO MODS THE BIOS WITH F20, U HAVE TO FLASH WITH THE ORIGINAL F20 VERSION THEN AFTER THAT IT'S UP TO U TO MODS THE BIOS, THIS IS IMPORTANT FOR INCREASE SUCCESFULL RATE IN BIOS RECOVERY INCASE UR BIOS MODS FAILED.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...