Trying to activate XP Home SP3

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by totallytech, Jul 10, 2013.

  1. totallytech

    totallytech MDL Novice

    Jul 10, 2013
    3
    0
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I've got an old Acer 3000 laptop with a windows xp home COA on the base. I've had to replace the hard drive and I used a new Windows XP Home SP3 install disk. It refused to use the COA on the base so I checked online and found a COA code that was accepted. My plan was to install it then change the licence to the genuine one on the base. I've completed the install etc and selected to activate windows but it fails and refuses to let me use the genuine code on the base.

    What should I do? I dont have a genuine Acer install disc and I dont really want to reinstall etc.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,720
    3,086
    300
    #2 urie, Jul 10, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    First thing you need to do is run oembios tool and post results so we can see what set of acer oembios files you need because there are two sets

    Code:
    ACER (OEMBIOS.CAT CRC32=717B6EF3)
    
    f000,e000,2000,AcerSystem
    f000,0000,e000,AcerSystem
    
    ACER TRAVELMATE (OEMBIOS.CAT CRC32=700A8481)
    
    f000,0000,fffe,Acer TravelMate
    f000,0000,fffe,TravelMate
    
     
  3. f33nix

    f33nix MDL Member

    Apr 4, 2012
    153
    84
    10
    9 times out of 10 the key on the bottom never works, you need to call up MS to register it.
    It should have tried to go online to activate, fail then offer you to call up MS. Done this before and never had a problem. You tell them you re-installed Windows and used the key on the bottom of the laptop.


    Otherwise you need to activate with the correct oembios set like urie suggests.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,720
    3,086
    300
    #4 urie, Jul 10, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    You also need correct version of xp home you need OEM not Retail. + OEM:SLP key. but this can be sorted by just editing the setupp.ini

    Code:
    [Pid]
    ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
    Pid=76477OEM
     
  5. WinDev

    WinDev MDL Expert

    Jul 6, 2013
    1,170
    1,009
    60
  6. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    :negative::negative::negative:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. mohamedkamel

    mohamedkamel MDL Addicted

    Jul 5, 2011
    542
    167
    30
    Just read and use this great tool by 911medic :) Read and try, if you need help, everyone will help. The target here is to learn not just use stupid hacking tools just like AntiWPA.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. mohamedkamel

    mohamedkamel MDL Addicted

    Jul 5, 2011
    542
    167
    30
    :nono: Read this.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Amanda_L

    Amanda_L MDL Junior Member

    Feb 9, 2013
    66
    4
    0
    I've wanted to install XP for ages! Will I be able to activate it with this tool after it's support life ends?
     
  10. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,645
    15,566
    340
    You mean using OEM:SLP method?? Why not??

    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Amanda_L

    Amanda_L MDL Junior Member

    Feb 9, 2013
    66
    4
    0
    Idk, I always thought that when it's support ends all of it's features (like updating, activating ect) would end too :)
     
  12. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,645
    15,566
    340
    #12 Tito, Aug 3, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2013
    OEM:SLP activation is offline. So when MS closes activation servers for XP, it doesn't affects OEM:SLP activation.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. chompi

    chompi MDL Member

    Nov 17, 2010
    116
    3
    10
    i think the blogger has the same problem i had. i download windows xp home here from the repository and my key ( valid) was not accepted, so i use this link from MS a tool from Microsoft to change the product key. and it solve my problem. my pc is no more asking for activation.my problem was that my key was OEM, and the download i made was not for OEM.
     
  14. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,720
    3,086
    300
    Yeah and what was the problem I even posted info on how to convert retail version to oem o_O
     
  15. Viggen66

    Viggen66 MDL Senior Member

    May 24, 2011
    271
    94
    10
    Even today I managed to activate a XP Home Edition fully updated until August 2013, I needed to convert the retail to OEM, see if my laptop bios was compatible with any table here, made the setupp.ini change and the respective Oembios files, burn it, and voila, now I have a fully pre activated XP Home Edition ready for Toshiba Laptops, way better than install a third party hack that fools the system that is activated.
     
  16. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,720
    3,086
    300
    Yeah simple conversion that works just editing the setupp.ini file :biggrin: