[Tutorial] How to avoid being forced to use online windows account on Win 11 Home (+SL)

Discussion in 'Windows 11' started by Enthousiast, Sep 11, 2021.

  1. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    4,919
    5,086
    150
    Yes, that's how I do this, too. The only SKU where this does not work is SE (aka Cloud).
     
  2. boyonthebus

    boyonthebus MDL Expert

    Sep 16, 2018
    1,002
    649
    60
    Isn't that true for all operating systems? Internet is considered a human right in some countries.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. BigReds

    BigReds MDL Novice

    Apr 24, 2015
    27
    15
    0
    For me keeping the network connected til you get to the sign-in page in setup, click create account and then disconnect network and going back to last page automatically brings up the local account sign-in.
    From there it doesn't matter if your connected or not to finish installation.
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    That's the reason i only mentioned the method at the OP, so you always can reconnect after setting up a local account.

    Didn't realize that so many still are installing home (sl) these days:)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. BigReds

    BigReds MDL Novice

    Apr 24, 2015
    27
    15
    0
    I have a 5year old HP Pavillion laptop that came with 8.1 Home on it, so it was the only way to go for 11.
     
  6. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    #26 Borgin, Nov 19, 2021
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2021
    What do you mean use Pro to avoid this?
    The isos on adgd are all home by default, aren't they?

    By "Pro" do you mean the business edition?
     
  7. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    All business and consumer ISOs are full AiO, containing these SKUs*.

    When your system is a brand OEM system and it came with 8/10 Core/Home pre-installed, it will most likely have a MSDM for Core/Home and then when using the consumer ISO it will auto-select Core/Home.

    To avoid that and enable to install any other SKU you can use an ei.cfg file** in "ISO:\Sources\" folder or use a business ISO.

    *
    Consumer:
    SKUs:
    Code:
    [01] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Home | Core
    [02] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Home N | CoreN
    [03] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Home Single Language | CoreSingleLanguage
    [04] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Education | Education
    [05] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Education N | EducationN
    [06] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro | Professional
    [07] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro N | ProfessionalN
    [08] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro Education | ProfessionalEducation
    [09] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro Education N | ProfessionalEducationN
    [10] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro for Workstations | ProfessionalWorkstation
    [11] 13/09/2021 en-US x64 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro N for Workstations | ProfessionalWorkstationN
    
    Business:
    SKUs:
    Code:
    [01] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Education | Education
    [02] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Education N | EducationN
    [03] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Enterprise | Enterprise
    [04] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Enterprise N | EnterpriseN
    [05] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro | Professional
    [06] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro N | ProfessionalN
    [07] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro Education | ProfessionalEducation
    [08] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro Education N | ProfessionalEducationN
    [09] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro for Workstations | ProfessionalWorkstation
    [10] 13/09/2021 en-US x86 10.0.19041.1237 Windows 10 Pro N for Workstations | ProfessionalWorkstationN
    **
    Code:
    [Channel]
    _Default
    [VL]
    0
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    So if I simply use:

    *en-us_windows_11_business_editions_updated_nov_2021_x64_dvd_0bf06ee2.iso
    adc51e461c76213b28fa4de670eeea9a0bcf2dbbb72122ace4a5c67899af8adf

    With Ventoy

    I can create a local account no problem?
     
  9. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    If consumer auto selects Core/Home
    What does business auto select? Pro?
     
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    Nothing, it contains the gVLK and VOLUME EI.cfg.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    Yes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    And there's no other weird stuff with the business iso, like having to enable bitlocker, or join a business domain? (Is that all optional)?
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    All is optional on all SKUs (except the topic of this thread).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    Just out of interest how do I check the Blake2sp?

    I downloaded blake2sum and blake3sum and they were not the hashes I was looking for.
    Apparently you can see it in Winrar somewhere?
     
  15. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    7zip crc-sha checker (installed by 7z).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    So the last thing I'm wondering, do the various HWID activators (permanent HWID digital license), will they work if I install a business edition iso? Or are they designed for the consumer versions only?

    I.e the ones that let you switch edition to Pro/Ent and then generate a HWID.

    The Readme says (only on Client operating systems)
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    Yep.
    That's just one slmgr -ipk command, but still yes.

    Probably meaning client as in not server (server only KMS(38) and slic or key).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    Looks like the AIO cmd has a built in feature to switch editions, so just switch edition and then activate.
     
  19. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    38,268
    66,504
    450
    Yeah, i know, never got why windows_addict put that in.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Borgin

    Borgin MDL Junior Member

    Apr 15, 2018
    84
    4
    0
    No it's the other new one, "Ez"