TUTORIAL: Use the C2R installer to ONLY install the Office 2016 APPS YOU WANT.

Discussion in 'Microsoft Office' started by Stannieman, Sep 23, 2015.

  1. antonio8909

    antonio8909 MDL Guru

    Feb 16, 2014
    2,782
    1,343
    90
    Please, dont spam. We already read it. Just wait. That tool was released 1 day ago.
     
  2. kozukumi

    kozukumi MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2015
    9
    1
    0
    Just did this with my Pro Plus download from MSDN. EN-US, 64-bit. Just mounted the iso and pointed the config.xml file to the drive and job done. A nice touch is the installer shows your the applications being installed so if you exclude Access you won't see the icon in the installer.
     
  3. kozukumi

    kozukumi MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2015
    9
    1
    0
    Anyone got more info on this? Does it mean installing with SourcePath="E:" in the xml file will stop it from getting updates from Windows Update for example?
     
  4. jackmonter5

    jackmonter5 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 27, 2009
    417
    143
    10
    #45 jackmonter5, Sep 24, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
     
  5. kuroda

    kuroda MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2012
    418
    30
    10
    Please,someone has Office 2016 Install v3.3,THANKS!:worthy:
     
  6. CyPhErLoUs

    CyPhErLoUs MDL Novice

    Oct 26, 2012
    9
    1
    0
    #47 CyPhErLoUs, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Is there a list of IDs where I can see what to exclude, like the one in OP's post? I only just want to install Word, PowerPoint, and Excel and nothing else as I have no use for them.

    EDIT: I assume this is all needed if I just want the 3 mentioned above installed?

    Code:
    <Configuration>
    
      <Add SourcePath="E:\" OfficeClientEdition="64" >
        <Product ID="ProPlusRetail">
          <Language ID="en-us" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Access" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Groove" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="InfoPath" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Lync" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="OneNote" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Outlook" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Project" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Publisher" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="SharePointDesigner" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Visio" />
        </Product>
      </Add>
      
    </Configuration>
    EDIT 2: Got it to work.
     
  7. Lucas Rey

    Lucas Rey MDL Member

    Feb 16, 2010
    111
    22
    10
    #51 Lucas Rey, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  8. djstx

    djstx MDL Member

    Apr 29, 2007
    105
    10
    10
    #52 djstx, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  9. ankydu

    ankydu MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2009
    35
    4
    0
    Can anyone tell me how do I download the OFFICE 365 Pro Plus Click to run or Full Offline setup through the O2016RTool ???
     
  10. kozukumi

    kozukumi MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2015
    9
    1
    0
    Download the Deployment Tool and create a configuration.xml file with your desired setup. Be sure to set a SourcePath to where you want the downloaded Office to saved. Then from a command prompt run setup.exe /download configuration.xml and it will download to your SourcePath.
     
  11. ankydu

    ankydu MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2009
    35
    4
    0
    #55 ankydu, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2015
    is there a noobe friendly guide available for this ??

    EDIT: Figured it out, Thanks.
     
  12. alien2xx

    alien2xx MDL Senior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    387
    190
    10
    #56 alien2xx, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017

    OK, do this..

    1.- Create a folder on your desktop (e.g. office), plain and simple.
    2.- Download the Deployment kit and run to set it up (in reality it only extracts 2 files, there is no 'real' setup), it will extract 'setup.ex' and 'configuration.xml'. When you run the Deployment tool it will ask you where you want to install it (extract it) just select the folder you created on your desktop (office).
    3.- I'm sure you have you office iso file somewhere.. in running Windows 7 or 8 just right click on the .iso image and select 'mount'. you will have a drive letter after mounting it... lets say is it drive "E".
    4.-
    inside the 'office' folder on your desktop create a file on notepad and place this inside, change to your needs:
    Code:
    <Configuration>
      <Add SourcePath="E:" OfficeClientEdition="32" >
        <Product ID="ProPlusRetail">
          <Language ID="en-us" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Access" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Groove" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="InfoPath" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Lync" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="OneDrive" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="OneNote" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Outlook" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="PowerPoint" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Publisher" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="Skype" />
          <ExcludeApp ID="SharePointDesigner" />
        </Product>
       </Add>
    </Configuration>
    
    NOTE:
    a) note the line "<Add SourcePath="E:" OfficeClientEdition="32" >" you will see the drive letter "E" there where your .iso file is mounted and also a "32" meaning installing the 'x86' version of office, if you want the x64 version then change it to '64'
    b) From the above list, the installation will NOT install any of the ones listed, this means it will only install 'Word' and 'Excel' - because they are not listed. just change it you whatever you need.
    c) rename the file anything you want, e.g. "remove.xml"

    Create another file in the same folder 'office' using notepad again and place this inside"
    Code:
    setup /configure remove.xml
    
    Rename it anything you want, e.g. 'remove.cmd'

    Double click on 'remove.cmd' and you should see the installation to begin..

    easy...
     

    Attached Files:

  13. ankydu

    ankydu MDL Novice

    Aug 8, 2009
    35
    4
    0
    #57 ankydu, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Thanks for the tutorial. One more thing, will this version be able to update to future builds from Microsoft Servers or I will need to every time manually download the updated files and rerun the setup?
     
  14. alien2xx

    alien2xx MDL Senior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    387
    190
    10
    It should since you have the office updates enabled by default when you install office... you can check it by going to File > Account when you open, let say 'word'.... you can disable this there if you don't want it.
     
  15. ultimate_live

    ultimate_live MDL Addicted

    Mar 15, 2011
    780
    628
    30
    Used Office 2016 Setup v3.3. Easy and installed whatever I needed. Worked like a charm.

    Is there a way to add all LP to Office 2016?
     
  16. djstx

    djstx MDL Member

    Apr 29, 2007
    105
    10
    10
    #60 djstx, Sep 25, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017