UpDown8 - Windows 7/8 Upgrade/Downgrade Helper

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by Tito, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. joand

    joand MDL Novice

    Aug 24, 2013
    9
    7
    0
    ok the downgrade definately doesnt work for me, but for those who want to downgrade to pro editions in order to have the free upgrade to windows 10, it's not necessary to downgrade. I could upgrade to windows 8.1 enterprise N to windows 10 pro simply with the command wuauclt.exe /updatenow. Microsoft says such an upgrade is not possible, but it actualy is.
     
  2. orsone

    orsone MDL Junior Member

    Jul 28, 2014
    66
    2
    0
    Hello guys, I've a legit x64 win7 home premium OEM key.
    Can I use that key for x32 win 7 Pro Daz loaded ?
    Many thanks and ...Would you let me show the process If I need?

    Do I need to use this tool kit too?
    Tia :)
     
  3. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    479
    19
    10
    Tito - Just ran this on a W8.1.1 Pro in a VM and chose Enterprise. When sources\setup is run it stops later and asked us to run the Setup from the Root. I am doing that as we speak.
    PS: Does the Source Media have to be an MSDN/ Windown release that equal or more updated than the source/ cannot be older?
     
  4. Snuffy

    Snuffy MDL Expert

    Jan 7, 2008
    1,202
    595
    60
    OEM key is the same for x64 or x86
     
  5. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    479
    19
    10
    Should this be run with/ or without an activator like MTK, KMSPico or Daz ... or inserted legit license?
     
  6. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    479
    19
    10
    JSMIII do share what you used?

    Vacaloca - Do share what you ended up doing and what worked for you? Older/ newer versions of Win 8.x ISO?

     
  7. bdove88

    bdove88 MDL Novice

    Oct 14, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    #307 bdove88, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
    I was hoping this would work, because I am constantly getting this "Upgrade was not successful" right at the end of the Transferring files step, and was hoping the updown 8 tool could do something, but I'm not sure what else I can do :( I'm trying to downgrade from Windows 7 Enterprise that I got from school years ago, to Windows 7 Pro in order to upgrade to Windows 10...

    Trying to attach the setuperr.log files I have but it's not working, and I don't want to post the contents here because my post will look like computer vomit.
     
  8. jehangir

    jehangir MDL Novice

    May 8, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Please!!!!! Send me updown8 v1.3

    As I want to try updown8 v1.3 and it was to be more interesting than the latest version so send me link of updow8 v1.3 please soon.......
     
  9. jehangir

    jehangir MDL Novice

    May 8, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Updown8 v1.3 seems to be more interesting than updown8 v1.5 and also I want to try updown v 1.3 so send me the link of updown8 v1.3 as soon as possible ........cheers to you
     
  10. LostED

    LostED SVF Patch Lover

    Jul 30, 2009
    4,889
    11,686
    150
    #310 LostED, Oct 18, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  11. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,696
    15,715
    340
    @LostED

    Its ok.

    :hug2:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. pcug

    pcug MDL Novice

    Oct 16, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Did not work 8.1 ENTERPRISE to 8.1 pro
    Ran setup from MSDN 8.1 PRO Media.
    Response was that this mode is not supported.
     
  13. Ehtrakiyushi

    Ehtrakiyushi Guest

    I use it once, should work...
    But why bother right now?
     
  14. cheezels

    cheezels MDL Junior Member

    Jan 17, 2015
    54
    4
    0
    Did anyone manage to do this?
     
  15. windows.seven

    windows.seven MDL Junior Member

    Sep 14, 2011
    86
    3
    0
    Can I downgrade my Win7Ultimate Daz Loaded to Win7Pro as I have a legal key for this?
     
  16. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,696
    15,715
    340
    @windows.seven

    Yes you can.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pcug

    pcug MDL Novice

    Oct 16, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    #317 pcug, Apr 13, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016
    Because I want to upgrade the 8.1 to 10 without losing my installed apps, or having to reinstall them, which I cannot do from Enterprise edition. :eek:
    Maybe I just need to do it manually. But Tito did say it worked for this configuration.
     
  18. Snuffy

    Snuffy MDL Expert

    Jan 7, 2008
    1,202
    595
    60
    You can also with the Enterprise edition. why go backwards to Pro.
     
  19. ZMOT7S

    ZMOT7S MDL Novice

    May 25, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    #319 ZMOT7S, May 7, 2016
    Last edited: May 8, 2016
    I'm looking to downgrade my Win 7 Enterprise edition to the Win 7 Home premium edition. I ran UpDown8 as admin and check the registry. It did change both fields to Windows Home edition. I am using Windows 7 Home Premium x64 (64-bit) (ISO) UNTOUCHED but when I try to upgrade Windows it tells me "Your current version of Windows is more recent than the version you are trying to upgrade to. Windows cannot complete the upgrade." I can't seem to figure out how to get around this. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  20. CaptainKirk1966

    CaptainKirk1966 Former MDL Guru

    Oct 31, 2009
    1,985
    946
    60
    Are the installed Enterprise and the Home Premium iso both at the same service pack (sp1) level?